Any taxi owners/operators here? Advice needed...

hindian

Any taxi owners/operators here? Advice needed...

Postby hindian » November 24th, 2014, 6:21 pm

Good day all, I want to purchase a taxi, but i have very little idea about the business. The hope is that i can turn it into a small sideline business in the future with maybe 2or 3 other cars. I have a few questions before i take the plunge:

1. Do i have to join relevant association connected to whichever route i may choose to work? If so, what are the benefits?

2. The plan is to work the car part time until i find someone to do so fulltime. How do you all manage a driver wrt collection of monies, contract signing, if the driver keeps the vehicle etc.

I plan to as much as possible carry out the majority of basic repairs and tuneups myself to try and reduce maintainence costs.

Am i thinking in the right direction? Any help will be appreciated thanks.

Re: Any taxi owners/operators here? Advice needed...

Postby Ted_v2 » November 24th, 2014, 8:22 pm

Chartered bus and Chartered taxi makes the most money.

Realistically.
250$ plus

nivek

Postby nivek » November 24th, 2014, 11:06 pm

take my dotish advice...do not give anyone your car to work for you...especially if u gonna be maintaining it....better take a down payment of some kind...what a man aint work for in he whole life gonna destroy what u probably sweat ur blood out to make....no consideration for ppl property/investment....but good luck anyhow u see it fit to proceed

Postby nervewrecker » November 24th, 2014, 11:08 pm

Usually the "work to own" is an incentive for them to treat the vehicle good because its their own after

Postby black start » November 24th, 2014, 11:39 pm

Actually on my side, in the agreement, the "driver/future owner" maintains the vehicle and pays the owner a slightly lower amount. The amount is like $100 for gasoline vehicles and about $125-150 for a diesel vehicle.

Postby Mark! » November 24th, 2014, 11:41 pm

With people like natio out there u gonna make a killing. 8-)

hindian

Postby hindian » November 25th, 2014, 4:28 am

Hmm I see. The part i'm worried about is the part where someone might destroy the vehicle. Looks like i may just have to work it myself when time permits. Anyone else care to put their 2 cents as it were in this matter?

Postby sMASH » November 25th, 2014, 4:51 am

That $100 with the driver maintaining seems a good deal. Would that cover things like tyre change or engine fix/change?

Postby sMASH » November 25th, 2014, 4:56 am

But if the driver to maintain, how can u ensure that he changes oils on time, and uses acceptable products?
Would the owner have to babysit them while they change the oils and runners and what not?.

Questions like these is what make me work my car for myself.
We does treat we own ting good, not other people ting.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 25th, 2014, 6:18 am

Maintenance points are the ones to consider as sMASH said. I've heard many a horror story from vehicle owners giving their vehicles to people to work, poor maintenance, laziness and the infamous "road real hard, I eh make the amount nah boss" excuse

Postby nervewrecker » November 25th, 2014, 12:21 pm

How to make sure they not working the car with nexen tyres and forrin used brakes?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 25th, 2014, 12:57 pm

OP if u open to suggestions

rent, same or more $$$ with less wear & tear

Postby sMASH » November 26th, 2014, 7:48 pm

I used to do jobs. Most times was airport. Run used to be 2-3 hours and between $250-300 depending on the distance . And still pulling bull before or after.
If I wasn't working and had the time to run down men, I might have been tempted to put a couple cars on the road.
But at the time working for myself as a sideline was enough for me.

hindian

Postby hindian » November 27th, 2014, 7:27 am

^ thats kinda what i had in mind. I just need another source of income to compliment my main income (which aint much). And i'm not purchasing a brand new car either can't afford it. Thanks for the inputs fellas will keep updating as things progress.

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2014, 7:33 am

how much do drivers charge to drop ppl to airport from port of spain ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 16th, 2022, 12:49 pm

Resurrecting an old thread.

Is this still viable in 2022? Same questions posted by the OP still apply.

Not looking at WTO arrangements but rather employer/employee. All maintenance to be performed by me. Also looking at H vehicle rather than PH, does that make sense?

What is the expected daily return from those of you in the business?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 16th, 2022, 6:26 pm

My car is h. I have been off the road for two years. Schools closed. Business closed. Many drivers I know have died from covid working . Very high risk. Money is slow and not worth the risk for me to return. Some drivers have no choice though.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 16th, 2022, 7:42 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Resurrecting an old thread.

Is this still viable in 2022? Same questions posted by the OP still apply.

Not looking at WTO arrangements but rather employer/employee. All maintenance to be performed by me. Also looking at H vehicle rather than PH, does that make sense?

What is the expected daily return from those of you in the business?
Same prayers you hear with work to own is the same you will hear with a driver. Furthermore, is more licks with a driver because they can run down the vehicle because they dont have to worry about maintenance. Lots of people buying their own rides so the travelling population has significantly dropped. Maxi men bawling because of how hard its gotten so could only imagine for taxis.

Postby redmanjp » January 17th, 2022, 11:02 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:My car is h. I have been off the road for two years. Schools closed. Business closed. Many drivers I know have died from covid working . Very high risk. Money is slow and not worth the risk for me to return. Some drivers have no choice though.

damn. which is why i doh understand why most of them have their windows up - lack of ventilation is keeping the virus inside the cabin - windows should be opened :roll:

the money would be 75% of normal due to covid restrictions for a 4 passenger car but it have the bigger 6/7 passenger vehicles that i travel in that only seem to restrict 1 seat at the back.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 17th, 2022, 11:34 am

Is really a big chance they taking.