Zero Tolerance for Alcohol Drinkers

Postby Habit7 » November 18th, 2014, 10:37 am

Clampdown on motorists
By Andre Bagoo Tuesday, November 18 2014

A ZERO-tolerance approach to alcohol in cars, mandatory seatbelts for all occupants of a vehicle, and a ban on unsupervised juvenile drivers during early morning hours were among some of the legislative proposals unveiled by Transport Minister Stephen Cadiz yesterday as part of a clampdown on dangerous driving on the nation’s road.

At a ministry function to launch a new road safety policy, the minister detailed provisions of the new Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Bill, 2014, which he is due to table in Parliament tomorrow.

“We will be clamping down, making sure the people on the road are, in fact, responsible,” Cadiz said at the event, held at the ministry’s offices at Tower D, International Waterfront Centre, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain. “There will be zero tolerance of alcohol or any consumption of alcohol.”

Cadiz said under the legislative proposals, which are expected to be debated in Parliament in coming weeks, no driver will be allowed to consume alcohol or to man a vehicle while having alcohol within their system. This will mark a drastic change from the current breathalyser law which permits some degree of alcohol within the system.

“There will be no level that will be accepted,” Cadiz said. “There must be no alcohol in your system, you will not be allowed to drive a vehicle with any alcohol in your system whatsoever. This is also for anyone who drives a vehicle for hire, whether maxi-taxis, limo drivers, bus drivers.” The minister also said the mere presence of alcohol in a car will raise penalties.

“There cannot be an acceptable culture of dangerous driving,” Cadiz said. “We need to be responsible. Sometimes, people will be driving along the road and drinking a beer. No man, it is time to stop that. The new Act will have open container laws in it where there will be no alcohol within the driving compartment. It has to be in the trunk or not at all.”

The Transport Minister said he hoped to see a tightening of current measures for repeat offenders, such as a ban on persons facing a second drunk driving charge.

“I hope that magistrates will deal with drunk driving,” Cadiz said. “I also hope that we can do the same thing to chronic speeders. If you are charged with speeding you cannot be allowed to continue to drive because you are risking people’s lives.” He continued, “I know there will be a points system dealing with it that way, but I really and truly hope that we can really come down on people who drive and are in constant violation of the rules and regulations; that we can actually take them off the road because I think that is the only way that people are going to understand. After a second drunk driving charge, get off the road. You have no right being on the road.”

He said the law pertaining to seatbelts in cars, currently explicitly mandatory for the driver and front-seat passenger, will be made to cover all seats.

“Everybody has to be belted,” Cadiz said. “There are no if’s, no’s or but’s about it. That is something that we are going to be bringing in.”

New drivers or young drivers will not be allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 5 am under proposals for regulations.

“We hope to be able to have new drivers restricted. And when I say new drivers, not just an 18-year-old, anybody who just got their driving permit will, between a certain time, for instance between 12 am and five am, not be allowed on the road without the presence of a sober adult,” Cadiz said.

These measures were announced in a month which has seen several instances of road carnage. Cadiz expressed relief that over the last weekend there were no reported road fatalities tied to reckless driving. He also said cyclists need their own lane, in light of recent incidents.

“They need to have a dedicated lane up until a certain time,” the minister said. Cadiz also said the State hopes to beef up the Crash Investigative Unit of the Police Service in an effort to better probe accidents.

“We need to determine what causes these accidents,” the minister said. “We need to know why in certain places there are accident/blank spots where there are always accidents.”

Of the new legislation he suggested the Government will exercise its discretion to pass the new law without reference to a committee.

“It looks as though we are actually going to be doing the debate on the floor so I ask all of you who are concerned with road safety to (go to) the ministry’s website, take a look at the Act and what is being presented. If there is any change needed we can actually do it on the floor of the Parliament,” Cadiz said. “I think it is a very good Act, I think it covers everything that we wanted to have covered, the amount of consultations that went into that Act. We spoke with all parties concerned. But there is always going to be a little tweaking here and there so please look at it and if there are any recommendations just send me a submission and we will see how it will work.”

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,203066.html

Cliffs:
No drivers are allowed to have any alcohol in their system
No open alcohol containers in vehicles
All occupants must wear seat belts
No new drivers driving unsupervised between 12am-5am

Re: Zero Tolerance for Alcohol Drinkers

Postby pete » November 18th, 2014, 10:41 am

When last has anyone gotten a speeding ticket?

Where are the radar guns?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 18th, 2014, 10:42 am

What!! Islamic State is here??!!

Postby 1UZFE » November 18th, 2014, 10:43 am

thread title is very misleading..

Postby Les Bain » November 18th, 2014, 10:45 am

It didn't have a child car seat thing a while back too?

It kinda sketchy since I see a lot of back seated young children leaning in the space between the front seats taking their parents' focus away from operating the vehicle.

Postby nervewrecker » November 18th, 2014, 10:51 am

soooo.....puleece gunna do their job then?

Postby DFC » November 18th, 2014, 11:00 am

Everyday rain is falling and roads are wet, yet there is always some accident.

People continue to drive recklessly even though they know it will end badly.

I think increased road blocks + very harsh fines will help.

For example Driving under influence should carry a $100,000 fine or 1 year jail.

Driving over speed limit should be $50,000 or 6 months jail.

etc.

Vehicles should have an identifying RFID chip or something, with sensors placed at different points of the highway+ cctv cameras to catch speeders.

Increased police presence on the road also.

Postby Habit7 » November 18th, 2014, 11:05 am

Since 2006 Brazil ban all drink driving too.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 18th, 2014, 11:08 am

all that could be put in place but what gonna happen if the police don't enforce?

NOTHING like always

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 18th, 2014, 11:12 am

Fines on d whole need to be bumped to current realistic values that will serve as punishment and deterrence it was intended to be.

Postby DFC » November 18th, 2014, 11:13 am

Imagine you with your family, driving safely down the road on the left on your way to chuck-e-cheese to celebrate your kid birthday, when a drunk driver loses control on the opposite lane and crosses the median and slams into your car killing everyone in your family except you. the drunk driver is unharmed and then tells you, eh hard luck dey fella.

#truestory

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 18th, 2014, 11:14 am

DFC wrote:Everyday rain is falling and roads are wet, yet there is always some accident.

People continue to drive recklessly even though they know it will end badly.

I think increased road blocks + very harsh fines will help.

For example Driving under influence should carry a $100,000 fine or 1 year jail.

Driving over speed limit should be $50,000 or 6 months jail.

etc.

Vehicles should have an identifying RFID chip or something, with sensors placed at different points of the highway+ cctv cameras to catch speeders.

Increased police presence on the road also.

RFID was proposed under jack warner......i'm sorry but i'll refuse to drive, or remove it myself, if they implement that.....that has a huge security risk attached to it. the usual cameras that detect plates should be enough.

Postby sliderz1 » November 18th, 2014, 11:14 am

okay.

Postby Habit7 » November 18th, 2014, 11:15 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:all that could be put in place but what gonna happen if the police don't enforce?

NOTHING like always

Some police officers do want to enforce, and it is easy to do it to a drooping trousers young man from the San Juan/Laventille area driving a B14.

But a police runs the risk of doing it to the wrong person and seeing spheres of influence swinging to clear away their only source of income.

cacasplat3 wrote:RFID was proposed under jack warner......i'm sorry but i'll refuse to drive, or remove it myself, if they implement that.....that has a huge security risk attached to it. the usual cameras that detect plates should be enough.

But you have it in your passport :|

Postby Rovin » November 18th, 2014, 11:24 am

some ppl gonna beatup but thats them

sounds reasonable to me ... :|

moving

Postby moving » November 18th, 2014, 11:36 am

Reasons for road fatalities in no special order

Driver faults:
Speeding and Reckless driving
No regard for traffic lights
Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs
Bald and/or cheap tires
Poor maintenance of cars

Government faults:
Poor road conditions
No crash barriers
Random potholes and objects on Highways
No shoulder lanes
High taxes on cars therefore more cheaper made cars on roads
Accident response times. Police, fire and ambulance

The problem lies both ways in our driving and the condition of our roads
The government should expect accidents with the amount of cars on the road.
of course some accidents are going to be worse than others but in order to prevent accidents a proactive approach needs to be taken.. the drivers are only half to blame
the inability to survive a crash on the highway is completely in my opinion the government's fault.
instead of crash barriers we are met with ditches, ravines and other crazy obstacles..

Example
a tire blow out .. driver going 120kmph.. runs off road hits a ditch then flips onto oncoming traffic.. kills 3 ppl including himself
the blow out might not be the fault of the driver.. he may of hit a nail. or some object on the road..
the inability to survive such a episode because of road hazards is definitely the governments fault.. the chance of surviving an accident is slim.. sometimes i think we may never have a chance of surviving if all the blame is always put on us

Postby S_2NR » November 18th, 2014, 11:43 am

*yawn*
all talk, no action...yet again

Postby TRAE » November 18th, 2014, 11:43 am

common sense of this government is not so common-

take away from a citizen the right of freedom- he will take your rights in return

Postby UML » November 18th, 2014, 11:50 am

some are good ideas some are not. lack of enforcement is the real problem. we can have all the laws and still have accidents and deaths.

basically lack of enforcement of speeding (radar gun) and drinking (brethalyzer) is all that need to be enforced!!

Postby pete » November 18th, 2014, 11:57 am

Time to bypass the police completely wrt enforcement for speeding and breaking lights. Speed cameras and traffic light cameras all over the place and you will see how many people stop breaking those laws..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 18th, 2014, 12:06 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:RFID was proposed under jack warner......i'm sorry but i'll refuse to drive, or remove it myself, if they implement that.....that has a huge security risk attached to it. the usual cameras that detect plates should be enough.

But you have it in your passport :|[/quote]
ummmm no. :roll:
at least, not in Trinidad.

Postby pioneer » November 18th, 2014, 12:14 pm

So eef I jink cough medicine and geh stop, I goin jail?

moti

Postby moti » November 18th, 2014, 12:16 pm

Your Government working for you!

Postby nervewrecker » November 18th, 2014, 12:19 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:all that could be put in place but what gonna happen if the police don't enforce?

NOTHING like always

hummuh puleece cars you zoom past this morning?

I pass two and they couldnt be bothered nothing moving less than 100km/h

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » November 18th, 2014, 12:22 pm

I thought this was gunna be about people with low alcohol tolerance .

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » November 18th, 2014, 12:31 pm

So cough syrup, mouthwash and a couple dashes of bitters in meh juice gonna cause me to get charge? WDA

Then again...they said they'd be hard on speeding yet no discernible increase in enforcement to date.

Postby 88sins » November 18th, 2014, 1:20 pm

until cadiz publicly admit he intentionally ride a dead man back for political leverage, I eh want nuttn to do wid nuttn dat flowin outta dat latrine under he nose.

DFC wrote:Vehicles should have an identifying RFID chip or something, with sensors placed at different points of the highway+ cctv cameras to catch speeders.

I have the right to let who I choose to know my comings & goings. No individual or agency could dictate that, for me or anyone else.
What is to stop some crooked individual from selling info on your preferred routes to kidnappers & murderers, or just telling them where you are?

And then you have to ask yourself, who is going to pay for these things to be installed, & who is going to pay for the monitoring & upkeep of this type of system? Guess what, it ain't gonna be kamla or keith, is John Public go hadda foot the bill, & the bill will be inflated. ppl hadda eat ah food outta all dat morney. So yuh DP renewal, vehicle registration, vehicle inspection, traffic violation fines, & vehicle transfer fees will all increase substantially & automatically to earn revenue for its upkeep

Postby pete » November 18th, 2014, 1:53 pm

Love that rationale man. Definitely automation will lead to higher running costs.. :|

axe

Postby axe » November 18th, 2014, 2:39 pm

saw that someone refered to radar guns but we are actually expecting lidar speed guns...tenders already went out
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LIDAR_speed_gun

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 18th, 2014, 3:11 pm

Until they bring in better legislation to curb speeding, this is all a waste of time.
#1 excuse you always hear for an accident is "driver lost control"
Majority of the time this is caused by excessive speeding on the highways.
There is a speed limit of 80km/hr for a reason.

We need those speed guns/radar guns/lidar guns really bad.

Cameras and rfid system suggested by jack warner is also not a bad idea.
Plus the use of cameras to catch law breakers, especially those that run the red lights.

We need the legislation passed ASAP!!!

I really don't see how wearing a seatbelt in the backseat would have helped that lady who died in the back seat in that accident near bhagwansingh hardware in chaguanas. What would have helped her was if that dumb sh!tbag didn't jump the median and land on the other carriageway. Stop the speeding! There are ways to do it within the law.