HELP! X-Trail spark plug change [SOLVED]

nismo007

HELP! X-Trail spark plug change [SOLVED]

Postby nismo007 » November 16th, 2014, 2:28 pm

Goodday folks,have with me is a 2007 Nissan X-trail MR20DE. To begin mission was to change spark plugs but encounter a problem after re-mounting everything back up.Unbolted the throttle body and intake manifold. Cleaned the electronic throttle body on car,didnt disconnect harness. Also clean the intake manifold and at the end of the runners was a sensor with a harness disconnected it to clean and in order to change the plugs.

NOW, reconnected and bolted up everything. Start now,i get a fluctuating idle from 1,000 RPM - 2,500 RPM...Also everytime when i'm driving let off the throttle and back on it,i get this jerky movement. Sometimes on mornings when i start,i get a rough idle and shutdown,try again and then it will start.

No check engine light on.

Please if anyone with an x-trail that went through this problem and can help me,it will be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

Problem solved as described above. Needed the electronic throttle re-calibrated due to I mistakenly moved the throttle flap while cleaning. Hope this helps anyone in this same scenario.
Last edited by nismo007 on November 17th, 2014, 6:53 pm, edited 4 times in total.

racedriverpro

Re: HELP! X-Trail spark plug change

Postby racedriverpro » November 16th, 2014, 2:33 pm

Recheck all connectors to throttle body. Seems like one is loose.

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » November 16th, 2014, 2:36 pm

didnt removed any harness besides the one at the end of the runners to the cylinder head. Also did a run over to check all connections.

m6

Postby m6 » November 16th, 2014, 2:37 pm

Call 681-0632

Postby skylinechild » November 16th, 2014, 3:13 pm

nismo007 wrote:Goodday folks,have with me is a 2007 Nissan X-trail MR20DE. To begin mission was to change spark plugs but encounter a problem after re-mounting everything back up.Unbolted the throttle body and intake manifold. Cleaned the electronic throttle body on car,didnt disconnect harness. Also clean the intake manifold and at the end of the runners was a sensor with a harness disconnected it to clean and in order to change the plugs.

NOW, reconnected and bolted up everything. Start now,i get a fluctuating idle from 1,000 RPM - 2,500 RPM...Also everytime when i'm driving let off the throttle and back on it,i get this jerky movement. Sometimes on mornings when i start,i get a rough idle and shutdown,try again and then it will start.

No check engine light on.

Please if anyone with an x-trail that went through this problem and can help me,it will be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

you may need to perform the re learn procedure - ie recalibration.
any good diagnostic shop with a tool can reset the idle for you or you can do it yourself provided you know what youre doing.
check ryan (ryotech performance) on the forums he will sort u out

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 16th, 2014, 3:17 pm

Check connectors, leave battery disconected overnight...this may help....re learn procedure need to be accurate

Postby SMc » November 16th, 2014, 3:43 pm

all that to replace plugs in an X-Trail, better you let them stay and cause a misfire

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 16th, 2014, 4:41 pm

skylinechild wrote:
you may need to perform the re learn procedure - ie recalibration.
any good diagnostic shop with a tool can reset the idle for you or you can do it yourself provided you know what youre doing.
check ryan (ryotech performance) on the forums he will sort u out

this guy is right...about the re-learn procedure.

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 16th, 2014, 5:18 pm

Yup, Idle Relearn

Damn you E-Throttle, Damn you !!!

Postby pioneer » November 16th, 2014, 6:15 pm

Happened to me years back, when you mess with an e-throttle that is what happens.

You need to recalibrate using a scan tool, I got mine done by Samara's Automotive in Charlieville (next to holiday foods). Cost about $600 back in 2009. But anyone with a scan tool who knows what they're doing can do it.

The manual re-learn procedure won't work.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 16th, 2014, 8:03 pm

wow! $600? outrageous! E-throttle on other vehicles dont have those issues though,just Nissans. If the cleaning procedure is done properly as well, the re-learn procedure can be avoided.

Postby pioneer » November 16th, 2014, 8:45 pm

At the time I didn't care, company kept it for half day and couldn't figure out the problem. They suggested buying a new ECU.

Someone overheard what they were telling me and told me about Samara's. Problem fixed, money was a minor matter.

Postby skylinechild » November 16th, 2014, 8:53 pm

ryan charges about $200 or so...check his thread and giv him a call..

Postby RBphoto » November 16th, 2014, 10:29 pm

Given that the nissan scan tool is about $50,000.00, don't blame anyone for charging accordingly to use it. Also if you move the butterfly valve, you will have to recalibrate. The correct way to clean it is to out the car to "ON" with out starting, then press the accelerator to open the throtle body.

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » November 17th, 2014, 1:14 am

Thanks to all for the quick response and really appreciate it...will let y'all know if its sorted out and great help for other guys with E-throttle on Nissans.

Postby sliderz1 » November 17th, 2014, 10:39 am

ECU reset. typical of E throttles

Postby pioneer » November 17th, 2014, 12:15 pm

The remap process takes about 2-3 hours.

It is not as simple as an "ECU reset".

Postby skylinechild » November 17th, 2014, 3:49 pm

pioneer wrote:The remap process takes about 2-3 hours.

It is not as simple as an "ECU reset".

:lol: :lol: who said anything about remap :lol:

Postby MG Man » November 17th, 2014, 4:40 pm

pioneer wrote:Happened to me years back, when you mess with an e-throttle that is what happens.

You need to recalibrate using a scan tool, I got mine done by Samara's Automotive in Charlieville (next to holiday foods). Cost about $600 back in 2009. But anyone with a scan tool who knows what they're doing can do it.

The manual re-learn procedure won't work.

correct
Samara relocated across the highway now btw

Postby sliderz1 » November 17th, 2014, 5:20 pm

i paid $250 for my almera in 2010 though.

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » November 17th, 2014, 6:39 pm

Okay guys problem have been solved, it was the E-Throttle that needed re-calibration,due to because I mistakenly pushed opened the throttle flap while cleaning. Everything works fine now,lesson learnt.

Thank you everyone once again for the quick response!

Re: HELP! X-Trail spark plug change [SOLVED]

Postby pioneer » November 17th, 2014, 7:00 pm

What the fix entailed?
Last edited by pioneer on November 17th, 2014, 7:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 1UZFE » November 17th, 2014, 7:13 pm

What was the cost? Who did the work?

Postby pioneer » November 17th, 2014, 7:21 pm

Way to inform those wanting to know OP

Postby 1UZFE » November 17th, 2014, 7:36 pm

pioneer wrote:Way to inform those wanting to know OP

Pios. Now i wondering if it makes sense to help out ppl now. Cauz man beg fuh help, get his problem fixed, and would not advise other tuners of remedy action.

Postby pioneer » November 17th, 2014, 8:04 pm

I notice that years on this forum, typical thirdworld people. Come asking for help, then bawl problem fixed and mumford the entire ched. Great source of info/solutions chuna is.

I expect a pm with a giant wall of text telling me if I/we want the solution we have to pay him ah $500.

Postby pioneer » November 17th, 2014, 8:06 pm

A typical chuna help ched:

Day 1 - "WTK OMG HELP PLZ URGENT I DEADIN WAAA"
Day 7 "PLZ DELETE "

Postby 1UZFE » November 17th, 2014, 8:12 pm

nismo007 wrote:

Problem solved as described above. Needed the electronic throttle re-calibrated due to I mistakenly moved the throttle flap while cleaning. Hope this helps anyone in this same scenario.
Last edited by 1UZFE on November 17th, 2014, 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » November 17th, 2014, 8:31 pm

My mind is so full of fucc after reading the post edit (1st post)

Above where exactly?

What process?

Where was it done?

Cost?

I dunno, maybe those items could be informative for someone with a similar ETB problem...

Gone are the days of good info on this site.

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » November 17th, 2014, 8:45 pm

What's all this confusion about???
Didn't I stated what my problem was and how it was solved?

Idle fluctuated after I cleaned the throttle body and moved the throttle flap,solved by doing a throttle re-calibration. Simply you know that a re-calibration is required if throttle flap is interfered with.

Re-calibrated at Courtesy Car Parts San Juan paid $100