Oysters

pyromaniax

Oysters

Postby pyromaniax » November 14th, 2014, 10:35 am

I sitting here craving some oysters in that magical sauce that the Oyster guys make.

1) Somebody link me with a recipe on how to make that sauce please?

2)It is to my knowledge if oysters aren't properly cleaned it can make you very sick? So who and where are ya'll choices that seem the safest place to get some good oysters?

this crave right now too strong, was thinking about passing by the oyster guy in front UWI.

shotta 20

Re: Oysters

Postby shotta 20 » November 14th, 2014, 10:39 am

Branch in Caroni Savannah rd. Talk done

Postby janfar » November 14th, 2014, 10:46 am

Ketchup, Shawdow beni, garlic, pepper, Chive, pimento, pepper, lime juice, thyme, pepper.

Mix to taste.

Remove the small black stuff from the oyster and wash in lime mixed with water.

Add babwanday for the full effects.

Postby DFC » November 14th, 2014, 10:48 am

for the vegetarian beta phaggots out there, you can substitute the oysters with mushroom.

Tastes better and much safer.

Postby janfar » November 14th, 2014, 10:49 am

DFC wrote:for the vegetarian beta phaggots out there, you can substitute the oysters with mushroom.

Tastes better and much safer.

What??? substitute???

I dont even...

Postby MG Man » November 14th, 2014, 11:09 am

janfar wrote:Ketchup, chadon beni, garlic, pepper, Chive, pimento, pepper, lime juice, thyme, pepper.

Mix to taste.

Remove the small black stuff from the oyster and wash in lime mixed with water.

Add babwanday for the full effects.

Postby maj. tom » November 14th, 2014, 11:12 am

lol @ Vibrio cholerae.

Postby Spitfir3 » November 14th, 2014, 11:19 am

op yuh preggers oar? ive heard the oysters is cut by first and last bar in endevour

Postby 1UZFE » November 14th, 2014, 11:24 am

Felicity by d mango tree.
Dfc hymc. Im not beta.

twisted concepts

Postby twisted concepts » November 14th, 2014, 12:06 pm

The oyster man on caroni savannah rd jus before medford gas station does have ah real bess oyster...

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » November 14th, 2014, 12:08 pm

I usually buy from the most unhygienic looking ppl. Guaranteed besssssss. ...
Or palmiste Oyster conch etc.

Postby mero » November 14th, 2014, 12:22 pm

1UZFE wrote:Felicity by d mango tree.
Dfc hymc. Im not beta.

Said tuner #1beta

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 14th, 2014, 12:27 pm

There's a guy that also has shrimp and conch (lambie) on Aranguez main road. Yummmm

Postby toyolink » November 14th, 2014, 12:31 pm

In my early days, I always looked forward to my oyster Fridays in the ole Couva market.
Today,after becoming aware first hand about what is taking place in our lagoons on the west coast in terms of industrial waste etc.......Oysters have been removed from my consumption list.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 14th, 2014, 12:40 pm

Can be done, simple ingredients.
Ridiculously simple

Want about a ketchup bottle full?

Juice of two fresh large limes, two tbsp brown sugar, 2 tbsp Matouks (or die) ketchup, cracked garlic cloves (not minced), chopped chadon beni (not blended), slight dash of worcestershire sauce,salt and black pepper. Crack a couple whole hot peppers in the mix, depending on how much heat you want.

Add water to that.

When pouring, leave the garlic cloves and chopped chadon beni behind.

If you don't want oysters, you can thinly slice cucumbers and then chop em smaller; but I love me some freshly harvested oysters.

For those in Couva area, Nugget is back in business (California by the temple.) He has the best stuff ever, beating back most of the other popular spots.

Postby 1UZFE » November 14th, 2014, 12:47 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:There's a guy that also has shrimp and conch (lambie) on Aranguez main road. Yummmm

Around d savannah a guy sell the same thing. But d lambie n conch is steamed 1st .

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » November 14th, 2014, 2:16 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Can be done, simple ingredients.
Ridiculously simple

Juice of two fresh large limes, two tbsp brown sugar, 2 tbsp Matouks (or die) ketchup, cracked garlic cloves (not minced), chopped chadon beni (not blended), slight dash of worcestershire sauce,salt and black pepper. Crack a couple whole hot peppers in the mix, depending on how much heat you want.

Add water to that.

If you don't want oysters, you can thinly slice cucumbers and then chop em smaller; but I love me some freshly harvested oysters.

For those in Couva area, Nugget is back in business (California by the temple.) He has the best stuff ever, beating back most of the other popular spots.

Yessss, as I reach home I gonna attempt it :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

That mushroom substitution sounding good as well, but only if I have no oysters available home to make when the crave hit me again. Just reading those ingredients making me dribble all over the keyboard :oops:

Postby supercharged turbo » November 14th, 2014, 2:19 pm

Exchange road in mc bean by de bar

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » November 14th, 2014, 2:24 pm

Dfc hymc. Im not beta.

Here

firstgen7

Postby firstgen7 » November 14th, 2014, 4:39 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:
Dfc hymc. Im not beta.

Here

Yeah boy Rummy sauce does lash.....
Going there for years and he knows his trade . Think I will pass later.

Postby 1UZFE » November 14th, 2014, 4:41 pm

firstgen7 wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:
Dfc hymc. Im not beta.

Here

Yeah boy Rummy sauce does lash.....
Going there for years and he knows his trade . Think I will pass later.

Saw he raised his price to $10. I remembered when it used to be $6.

Postby pugboy » November 14th, 2014, 5:10 pm

heard a lot about the felicity chap

if you throw in some fish sauce in the mix it ramps up taste even more
so much so the oysters will be secondary

Ridiculously simple

Add water to that.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » November 14th, 2014, 6:41 pm

mushroom substitute sounds good :)

Postby X_Factor » November 14th, 2014, 6:54 pm

the way to have a little extra protection from getting food poisoning is to buy by the doz. in the shells
that way you can have a quick smell and if its off you know what to do

Postby 1UZFE » November 14th, 2014, 7:26 pm

^^^ i agree. But where u buyin can also have an impact. Cus Felicity is really close to d swamp so it supposed to be fresh. Also oysters in sunlight can be a disaster.

Postby black start » November 14th, 2014, 8:09 pm

the original "stop and get it" up by solid gold bar

zanemo

Postby zanemo » November 14th, 2014, 8:18 pm

Ridiculously simple

Add water to that.

NUGGET ...... besssssssssssssssss

Postby X_Factor » November 14th, 2014, 9:07 pm

actually, it doesnt really matter where you buy the oysters....since individual vendors dont really go harvest their own....
usually its one main group and all the others just buy from them and then resell

im sure everyone knows this but its really the sauce that makes an oyster man

i honestly like to buy from the guy " short man" and his father who sells on curepe junction
been buying there 17-18yrs now and when i go i mix my own sauce to suit...

urabus

Postby urabus » November 14th, 2014, 9:33 pm

Used to buy from the old man on caroni Savannah road, just opposite the grocery...but over the years his standard dropped...bad, his sauce real watered down now.

twisted concepts wrote:The oyster man on caroni savannah rd jus before medford gas station does have ah real bess oyster...
this guy is good and well I tried the one in felicity a few times too when caroni Savannah guy not opened.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » November 14th, 2014, 9:55 pm

urabus wrote:Used to buy from the old man on caroni Savannah road, just opposite the grocery...but over the years his standard dropped...bad, his sauce real watered down now.

twisted concepts wrote:The oyster man on caroni savannah rd jus before medford gas station does have ah real bess oyster...
this guy is good and well I tried the one in felicity a few times too when caroni Savannah guy not opened.

The guy opposite the grocery is 'heads', standards really dropped now. The other guy closer to Sherons is 'Branch', his does cut real best. Plus he has seafood mix, conch etc.