DROP LOW SPRINGS ON A TIIDA - VIEWS/HELP NEEDED ASAP

mrCantStop

DROP LOW SPRINGS ON A TIIDA - VIEWS/HELP NEEDED ASAP

Postby mrCantStop » November 11th, 2014, 4:59 pm

looking to use some RS-R springs to drop my 08 tiida sedan, just looking for a lil advice before I do it...

if lowering springs would still give a smooth stock ride, or should I do it by a car centre?????

ANY VIEWS OR ADVICE WOULD BE APPRECIATED GREATLY

aidan

Re: DROP LOW SPRINGS ON A TIIDA - VIEWS/HELP NEEDED ASAP

Postby aidan » November 11th, 2014, 5:02 pm

keep it stock

mrCantStop

Postby mrCantStop » November 11th, 2014, 5:11 pm

just looking for a difference, hav it stock 6 months now

Postby ismithx » November 11th, 2014, 7:11 pm

ewww drop tiidas look ugly but then again that's just my opinion

mrCantStop

Postby mrCantStop » November 11th, 2014, 7:18 pm

not bubbling or rollin fenders, jus wana lower it

Postby Trini Hookah » November 11th, 2014, 7:25 pm

THAT REL FRESH DAWG

mrCantStop

Postby mrCantStop » November 11th, 2014, 7:39 pm

fresh meaning???

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 11th, 2014, 8:17 pm

You will most likely get a stiffer ride and if not cambered properly wear your tires faster

mrCantStop

Postby mrCantStop » November 11th, 2014, 9:30 pm

would only have to camber if it goes lower than 3inches... most springs give 1.75 - 2 inch lowering only

Postby skylinechild » November 11th, 2014, 9:44 pm

OP yuh hav 2 options....

mango tree method - various methods include but not limited to - heat spring - cut spring -install 1 inch buffer rubber - cut open and shorten shock and rethread it - fill with nitrogen-

this involves goin by a man called "bobo" who go do crap all the while sayin is a "bess wuk u gettin dey" bobo fees - about 4k

car care centre does the same crap job.

funny part is the cost to do it by these places you could buy new lowering spring AND shock for TWO cars :lol:

proper method - lowering spring and shock. just buy an install
dont buy used spring an shock..... depending on what you buy you can reuse your normal height shock with the lowering spring.

brands to look for
nismo ( very hard to get)
RSR - more than likely they will be used
tein - new
eibach- new.

cost about 2k
the drop they give is about 1.5 inches all around-
just be sure to realign after you swap out your springs and youre done.
any issues you can go back to your original height by installing your original springs.

mrCantStop

Postby mrCantStop » November 11th, 2014, 9:55 pm

WELL SAID!!!!!!

Tein is only rated in trini it seems loll

the Eibach had really good reviews tho...

I am getting the RS-R used. and I did plan on using my stock shocks with it... just really concerned about the ride afterwards tho.... and is 1.5 - 2 inches really gona make a difference where looks is concerned?????

youthman

Postby youthman » November 11th, 2014, 9:59 pm

So da wat suspect n quality doin?? Hmmmmm..drop spring n coilova is d better way to yes or take out ur shock n cary it n buy shorter ones foreign used complete.

Postby skylinechild » November 11th, 2014, 10:12 pm

mrCantStop wrote:WELL SAID!!!!!!

Tein is only rated in trini it seems loll

the Eibach had really good reviews tho...

I am getting the RS-R used. and I did plan on using my stock shocks with it... just really concerned about the ride afterwards tho.... and is 1.5 - 2 inches really gona make a difference where looks is concerned?????

tein is rated cause its JDM
and we love our JDM sport cars.. hell even my car has the JDM sport headlights... :lol:

eibach is also VERY good. so is H&R
they all give about the same 1.5 inch drop.
1.5 is alot to lower a car. anything lower and now you will need full coilovers - again TEIN or other brand.

keep in mind the spring is just one component of your suspension. you have bushings, shocks end links and such to deal with. the proper shock must be matched to the correct spring - go do some research

my $0.02c
buy lowering spring and shock- i'd recommend bilstein shocks (go research the brand)
get energy suspension bushings or other brand of polyurethane for all around the car.
install strut bar- front upper and front lower.

that right there will give you an excellent comfort (slight vibration due to the poly bushings- nothing to talk about - barely noticable)- and increased handling of the car.

thats the proper way to spend 4k or less to lower the car properly -
instead of visiting these other fine establishments.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 12th, 2014, 6:38 am

ah hope yuh go dong in every pothole and scrape on every hump after you drop it

Postby Les Bain » November 12th, 2014, 7:41 am

If that Tiida is your only car I'd recommend against dropping it.
Cause I real fed up of ulyuh drop men taking forever with your lowered econoboxes to go over a hump or drive along a typical trini bad road.

punjab706

Postby punjab706 » November 12th, 2014, 7:50 am

Les Bain wrote:If that Tiida is your only car I'd recommend against dropping it.
Cause I real fed up of ulyuh drop men taking forever with your lowered econoboxes to go over a hump or drive along a typical trini bad road.

Well said..x2

pluggie

Postby pluggie » November 12th, 2014, 7:55 am

Lowering kits are over rated and unecessary on Trinidad's roads , get a lifting kit instead and covert it to a Tida SUV ... set of offroad wheels and you in the game ma bruuhhh

Postby RBphoto » November 12th, 2014, 8:10 am

Please don't.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 12th, 2014, 8:22 am

spend yuh $$ and use an air ride system.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 12th, 2014, 8:50 am

OP you will be stopped more often than usual by the police.

Postby sliderz1 » November 12th, 2014, 11:11 am

1grinder

Seeker

Postby Seeker » November 12th, 2014, 11:14 am

besides, lowering is only reserved for the B14.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 12th, 2014, 11:26 am

not this sheit again?

Postby RBphoto » November 12th, 2014, 3:41 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:not this sheit again?

Doh toat hondafarian ... Nissan 4eva!!!!!!! 0X *Plax *plax

Postby SMc » November 12th, 2014, 3:43 pm

I should have stopped reading at mrCant...

DTAC

Postby DTAC » November 12th, 2014, 4:20 pm

I hope when you do that you spend money on a good security system. If you're going to like how it looks, bandits will also like how it looks. Car done thief magnet already.

Good luck.

Postby Mark! » November 12th, 2014, 6:40 pm

If you put them springs u will be considered as a thug and ghetto gunta with no priorities

Postby Ted_v2 » November 12th, 2014, 8:58 pm

coming from someone who repairs suspension daily, The tiida/y12/sylphy is total rubbish.

go below your vehicle and take a look at how flimsy everything is, how poorly designed the shock-head is . How small is the rear cradle bushings.

You going to drop this vehicle lower?

Postby skylinechild » November 12th, 2014, 9:45 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:coming from someone who repairs suspension daily, The tiida/y12/sylphy is total rubbish.

go below your vehicle and take a look at how flimsy everything is, how poorly designed the shock-head is . How small is the rear cradle bushings.

You going to drop this vehicle lower?

very true however these reputable companies like TEIN Bilstein eibach H&R also do research on the cars they designing the product for. do trial tests to know what works best for the application and what doesnt.

the manufacturer did the necessary testing and research to ensure the end consumer get the product and the item can work will the OEM parts - where necessary. if not they would put out upgraded shock mounts and bushings etc that will work with their products.

the testing is done to ensure the vehicles integrity and safety is not compromised as well as customer comfort and the manufactured product is made to correct specification

however with the local breed of suspension experts, what sort of testing / research you think is done there.?
how much customers u actually think know how a suspension is supposed to work?
how much of them know about linear / progressive spring and spring rates and deflection.??
how much customers actually have QUALIFIED mechanics who know what the hell they doing instead of sayin the mantra - "go buy a head a block" for ANY engine issue.? far less for suspension work.

Postby RBphoto » November 13th, 2014, 3:57 pm

One should not judge the effectiveness of a suspension system based on size of components. Better performance can be had from lighter, smaller and fewer components. I think I got good service life (5 years, 150,000km) out of my original shocks/ bushings etc and I only underwash when I pass through salt laden areas. Might have lasted longer if I did not mash up my entire suspension system in a pothole patch in Arima side (taking the north route) coming home from Mayaro late one night going too fast. My car bottomed out about four times and I felt like I was airborne twice.