T&T 3rd Richest Country in the Western Hemisphere

neilsingh100

T&T 3rd Richest Country in the Western Hemisphere

Postby neilsingh100 » November 9th, 2014, 10:49 am

T&T according to IMF & World Bank is the third richest country in the western hemisphere behind the United States and Canada
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(PPP)_per_capita

Re: T&T 3rd Richest Country in the Western Hemisphere

Postby sliderz1 » November 9th, 2014, 11:17 am

checks spotters thread for new supercar

Postby desifemlove » November 9th, 2014, 11:31 am

3rd highest?

meh....i does tink GDP per capita is not a good measure..

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » November 9th, 2014, 11:38 am

If you use luxury cars per capita we might be #1

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 9th, 2014, 11:45 am

neilsingh100 wrote:T&T according to IMF & World Bank is the third richest country in the western hemisphere behind the United States and Canada

well done People's Partnership

Postby zoom rader » November 9th, 2014, 11:56 am

Awaits for the Habit7 to blame it on deficit spending .

Postby 1UZFE » November 9th, 2014, 12:02 pm

desifemlove wrote:3rd highest?

Yeah its only economists and accts with chitload of experience uses this measure. Who is dem??

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2014, 1:17 pm

desifemlove wrote:GDP per capita is not a good measure..
what? why?

Postby j.o.e » November 9th, 2014, 1:33 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:T&T according to IMF & World Bank is the third richest country in the western hemisphere behind the United States and Canada

yup 2012 GDP is based on the PP intervention....Kams made a miracle in <2 yrs. Sheep so entertaning.

Postby desifemlove » November 9th, 2014, 2:51 pm

1UZFE wrote:
desifemlove wrote:3rd highest?

Yeah its only economists and accts with chitload of experience uses this measure. Who is dem??

And "only economists and accts with chitload of experience" say as such....

read an econ textbook and get back nah...

Postby 1UZFE » November 9th, 2014, 3:01 pm

No need to edify myself. Its jus u...

Postby black start » November 9th, 2014, 3:08 pm

my bank account says otherwise....

orangefox

Postby orangefox » November 9th, 2014, 3:12 pm

j.o.e wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:

yup 2012 GDP is based on the PP intervention....Kams made a miracle in <2 yrs. Sheep so entertaning.

Yep Kam need another 10 years .. :D

The Plan working real good so far .. :D

Postby desifemlove » November 9th, 2014, 4:29 pm

1UZFE wrote:No need to edify myself. Its jus u...

eh? i jus made a point..meh, do what yuh want i doh care...

orangefox

Postby orangefox » November 9th, 2014, 5:37 pm

desifemlove wrote:

Attitude ! :roll:

Typical .. Ba ! Hahahaha

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 9th, 2014, 8:00 pm

nice nice...

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » November 9th, 2014, 11:42 pm

We need to up our juice exports to reach #1 8-)

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » November 10th, 2014, 2:39 am

This interesting and all but op did you edit that wiki page?

Lance

Postby Lance » November 10th, 2014, 4:39 am

what? why?

GDP per capita has serious limitations, especially for our context.

Firstly, it gives no consideration to income distribution or equality.

Also, in our context it becomes a little more tricky given the extractive nature of the economy (50% of GDP attributed by petrochemicals?).

It is further complicated by the high concentration of MNE activity in said industry as GDP measures the value of goods and services produced within the country. It does not account for rent appropriation.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 10th, 2014, 7:29 am

supposedly about 2 -1/2% of the population living large-mostly due to corrupt govt connections and contracts!

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » November 10th, 2014, 7:44 am

if it were another gubberment we would have been number one instead of number three.

Postby sliderz1 » November 10th, 2014, 9:09 am

lost to all wrote:if it were another gubberment we would have been number one instead of number three.

gil gil gil gil

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 10th, 2014, 10:01 am

what? why?

I have an issue with some per capita measurements. Maybe not in this instance but say in terms of emissions per capita Trinidad and Tobago is in the top 10 worldwide. Doesn't mean volume wise we are anywhere near the top ten for example but the per capita measurement is thrown around to suggest we need to prioritize certain things like how it is for other countries when realistically it isn't that serious.

Postby desifemlove » November 10th, 2014, 12:21 pm

orangefox wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

Attitude ! :roll:

Typical .. Ba ! Hahahaha

lolol....he's angry, or probably not well-educated....not my issue on both counts...

Postby desifemlove » November 10th, 2014, 12:25 pm

what? why?

cos it's just a crude average....for living standards, you have to take into account education, healthcare. we'd still be high up in the Americas but NOT third, Bajans and Bahamas in CARICOM alone would be higher on both education/healthcare.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » November 10th, 2014, 12:27 pm

hmmm... paycheck does not reflect the same... neither does my grocery bill...

Postby desifemlove » November 10th, 2014, 12:31 pm

Lance wrote:
what? why?

GDP per capita has serious limitations, especially for our context.

Firstly, it gives no consideration to income distribution or equality.

Also, in our context it becomes a little more tricky given the extractive nature of the economy (50% of GDP attributed by petrochemicals?).

It is further complicated by the high concentration of MNE activity in said industry as GDP measures the value of goods and services produced within the country. It does not account for rent appropriation.

And trini had high GDP per capita under PNM...UNC can't take credit!!

Lance

Postby Lance » November 10th, 2014, 12:56 pm

Trinidad could be run by monkeys and the GDP will still be astronomically high. This is purely based on the extractive industry.

Equatorial Guinea has a GDP/Capita of over 25,000. We should all move there.

When our GDP is driven by industries outside oil and gas then I would be truly impressed.

Postby zoom rader » November 10th, 2014, 1:15 pm

Lance wrote:Trinidad could be run by monkeys and the GDP will still be astronomically high. This is purely based on the extractive industry.

When our GDP is driven by industries outside oil and gas then I would be truly impressed.

Equatorial Guinea is also driven by oil and gas and has one of the worst human rights abuse so what's your point .

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 10th, 2014, 1:33 pm

Lance wrote:Trinidad could be run by monkeys and the GDP will still be astronomically high. This is purely based on the extractive industry.

Equatorial Guinea is also driven by oil and gas and has one of the worst human rights abuse so what's your point .

That was his point. GDP per capita doesn't mean much when taken out of context.