MikeyRTT

Re: Income Tax Refunds

Postby MikeyRTT » May 21st, 2021, 11:41 am

jsr wrote:Hi

How long is the cheque you receive valid for. If it has expired what is the procedure to still get the returns. Reason why I ask is that i am out of the country

Aren't GORTT checks valid for 6 months??

Correct, valid for 6 months from "Date" on cheque you receive from the mail.

I have the same problem that I am now looking at 2 small cheques that are stale dated because I changed my address. I just tried calling IRD at 868-800-TAXX (8299) but no one answering due to COVID lockdown and/or SOE, so I went to this website: http://www.ird.gov.tt/contact-us and left a message - not sure if they'll answer as I haven't seen a receipt email.
Anyone can share experience of same/similar situation?

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » May 22nd, 2021, 10:20 am

MikeyRTT wrote:
jsr wrote:Hi

How long is the cheque you receive valid for. If it has expired what is the procedure to still get the returns. Reason why I ask is that i am out of the country

Aren't GORTT checks valid for 6 months??

Correct, valid for 6 months from "Date" on cheque you receive from the mail.

I have the same problem that I am now looking at 2 small cheques that are stale dated because I changed my address. I just tried calling IRD at 868-800-TAXX (8299) but no one answering due to COVID lockdown and/or SOE, so I went to this website: http://www.ird.gov.tt/contact-us and left a message - not sure if they'll answer as I haven't seen a receipt email.
Anyone can share experience of same/similar situation?

When I did not get a refund that was issued I wrote and included a copy of the tax return and stated no payment was received. BIR reissued a cheque to me. In your case write and enclose the cheques plus if your use the etax system, update your addy if needed. BIR has a drop box so use it and they will organize you. Keep copies of everything submitted.

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » May 22nd, 2021, 10:29 am

On another note, I did by IITR on 6 Apr. 2021. Still waiting on my refund cheque which is small this year (less than $500)

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » June 2nd, 2021, 6:48 am

I submitted Apr 12th, now:
Under Refund status seeing: "Your refund has been approved"
Under PERIODS LIST seeing "Refund Processing".
When a cheque is issued via TT POST, does the statuses above change?

Postby goalpost » June 2nd, 2021, 8:09 am

sekhar_777 wrote:I submitted Apr 12th, now:

"Refund Issued"

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » June 2nd, 2021, 8:19 am

goalpost wrote:
sekhar_777 wrote:I submitted Apr 12th, now:

"Refund Issued"

Thanks goalpost.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 2nd, 2021, 8:50 am

Yh i submitted my tax return around that same time and I still waiting on my refund. Not the first time the government take their sweet time to pay me back monies owed. But if i do that they wanna throw me in jail. smh

Postby Dizzy28 » June 2nd, 2021, 9:58 am

Bruh there are some of us here waited 3 years for our tax reimbursement.
Thank god Covid made them fast track last year or we would still be waiting.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 2nd, 2021, 10:15 am

years before i always got through quickly. Only one time they stick when they owed me over 10k cause I only worked for 3 months in that year but they still taxed me for a full year. That i didn't get till they fast track tax refunds last year. This year strange as this is a regular refund from them. I feel they blocking all refunds and say next month or so that fast tracking refunds will be an initiative by the government to help ease the economic burden of COVID-19. Steupse.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 2nd, 2021, 10:26 am

On the online system they haven't even put the link as yet to complete my 2020 return.
There is only the option to request a TD1 which I have already done.

Capture.JPG

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 2nd, 2021, 10:33 am

Dizzy28 wrote:On the online system they haven't even put the link as yet to complete my 2020 return.
There is only the option to request a TD1 which I have already done.

Capture.JPG

I submitted my return the same weekend I got my TD4. speaking of which lemme see if they send my refund

Postby Dizzy28 » June 2nd, 2021, 10:39 am

^ Probably should have started with an update on TD4 first.
Haven't even gotten that from work as yet as they have indicated that BIR is to blame with their new online system for preparation of TD4s.

Postby Kenjo » June 2nd, 2021, 6:48 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^ Probably should have started with an update on TD4 first.
Haven't even gotten that from work as yet as they have indicated that BIR is to blame with their new online system for preparation of TD4s.

Lol this sounds shady AF. It’s probably your work side

zando

Postby zando » July 2nd, 2021, 11:37 pm

Anyone got a cheque? Mine on ' refund processing ' since April they nailed the receipt but no cheque.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 3rd, 2021, 7:10 am

zando wrote:Anyone got a cheque? Mine on ' refund processing ' since April they nailed the receipt but no cheque.

i still waitin for 2019 needless to say 2020, ah wonder if meh name was a PNM minister ah woulda get it immediately since BIR has no problems and are very speedy in processing exemptions and getting the money to the least needy in society.

demented

Postby demented » July 4th, 2021, 6:22 pm

zando wrote:Anyone got a cheque? Mine on ' refund processing ' since April they nailed the receipt but no cheque.

Same with me, I got the receipt letter but no cheque and I also filed in April. All previous years I never had to wait more than 6 weeks for my cheque. Even last year I got it quick.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 4th, 2021, 7:10 pm

I got the receipt letter as well. No refund yet. As i said in another thread i feel refunds suspended atm.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 4th, 2021, 9:34 pm

for the last 3-4 years I got the cheque within a month.
Not this time. Still waiting, submitted since april or may I think

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 5th, 2021, 6:40 pm

I was going to ask if anyone recieved their cheque as yet or just the receipt? But never mind I'm in the same boat as alyuh. Got all excited when I saw the envelope, open it and is the receipt, got me so cross. Patiently waiting.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 16th, 2021, 12:41 pm

Anyone received their cheque as yet or still salt? Currently still waiting on mine.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 16th, 2021, 1:05 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:Anyone received their cheque as yet or still salt? Currently still waiting on mine.

Salt

Postby bluefete » July 16th, 2021, 2:48 pm

For years, I have filed in October and gotten my cheques.

This year, chupid me say, let me file in April for once, like everybody else.

"Refund processing" for the longest while and I am not talking about any big set of money eh. 1/4 tank gas money for Imbert Mustang or Prado or whatever he have.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 16th, 2021, 3:02 pm

^ Alluh ent even start to wait yet. I had to wait 2 years for my 2017 and 2018 refunds which were both filed in 2018 and refunded in April 2020 (thanks to Covid)

Postby bluefete » July 16th, 2021, 3:08 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^ Alluh ent even start to wait yet. I had to wait 2 years for my 2017 and 2018 refunds which were both filed in 2018 and refunded in April 2020 (thanks to Covid)

Nah. I filed for 2019 in October 2020 and got my refund by December 2020.

The best joke is that I filed for 2020 in April 2021 and by May I got a letter from IR stating that my filing for 2020 was $0 all the way through.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 16th, 2021, 3:11 pm

nope. I feel they not doing any refunds for this year.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 16th, 2021, 3:18 pm

is no scene they could send the two chq next year same time.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 17th, 2021, 12:33 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:Anyone received their cheque as yet or still salt? Currently still waiting on mine.

Salt

Cha, like government spend all the money on vaccines ,money would come in handy if i have to buy school uniforms for September.

Postby Kenjo » July 17th, 2021, 12:51 pm

The refunds have been pretty much within a 3 months of sending in for the last 4-5 years but government probably just broke . Feel for my td1 I should’ve start sending in from next year so work doesn’t take out the taxes for my annuities

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » September 3rd, 2021, 9:35 am

Well, I finally got my refund chq. in the mail today.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » September 3rd, 2021, 1:12 pm

SLVR1 wrote:Well, I finally got my refund chq. in the mail today.

sweet , then there is hope.