Ebola - Elections?

professor

Ebola - Elections?

Postby professor » October 17th, 2014, 9:27 am

If Ebola continues to pose a direct threat to Trinidad & Tobago, and Carnival is cancelled, would Elections be postponed if the threat continues?
Now that's frightening!!

Re: Ebola - Elections?

Postby j.o.e » October 17th, 2014, 9:35 am

Let's not get ahead of ourselves

rabiesebola

Postby rabiesebola » October 17th, 2014, 9:38 am

why they will postpone elections? that makes no sense. elections will be affected if dotish pp dont do neting significant to curb the threat. dey will just further seal dey loss come may 2015.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 17th, 2014, 9:39 am

They won't cancel carnival. They will impose more travel bans if anything. PP would say cancelling carnival would cause too much chaos for them to deal with.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 17th, 2014, 9:42 am

Slartibartfast wrote:They won't cancel carnival. They will impose more travel bans if anything. PP would say cancelling carnival would cause too much chaos for them to deal with.

This.
Restrict the influx of outsiders. It won't significantly affect our bottom line GDP anyway as Tourism based revenue is a drop in the bucket.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2014, 10:06 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Restrict the influx of outsiders.
restrict it from where though?
if you stop people from America coming in then you might as well cancel carnival and shut down major trade

the US is grappling to contain it with the current threat of healthcare workers who were exposed - two of them already contracted the virus with one of them flying around the US while infected and contagious.

http://edition.cnn.com/2014/10/16/healt ... index.html
(CNN) -- A nurse with Ebola may have shown symptoms of the virus as many as four days before authorities once indicated, meaning that she might have been contagious while flying on not just one, but two commercial flights, officials said Thursday.

Frontier Airlines now says it is notifying up to 800 passengers total, a figure that includes those on last Friday's Dallas-to-Cleveland flight, the return flight four days later, plus five subsequent trips taken by the plane used in that last flight.

In Texas' Belton Independent School District, several schools shut down because two students were on the same Cleveland-to-Dallas flight as Vinson. Two schools in the Solon school district in suburban Cleveland also closed because a staffer "traveled home from Dallas on Frontier Airlines on Tuesday on a different flight, but perhaps the same aircraft" as Vinson, the school district said in a statement.

and more recently
http://edition.cnn.com/2014/10/17/health/us-ebola/
(CNN) -- A Texas hospital health worker who may have handled Thomas Eric Duncan's fluid samples has been quarantined on a cruise ship in Belize -- another reminder of the widespread fears of the deadly virus.

Postby sliderz1 » October 17th, 2014, 10:11 am

WOFT thread

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » October 17th, 2014, 10:12 am

Hmm time to get serious
uploadfromtaptalk1413555137049.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1413555137049.jpg (18.55 KiB) Viewed 2117 times

Postby Slartibartfast » October 17th, 2014, 10:48 am

Duane you looking at this the wrong way. It's not about mitigating the effects of Ebola, it's about looking as though they are mitigating the effects of Ebola.

So they may impose more travelers' restrictions but they will never impose one on the US because it suppose to be hard for us to get in their country, not the other way around. Our politicians can't deny americans access while still trying to kiss their @$$.

I see them imposing more restrictions on places that will not impact us. They will not impose any on the US and they will not cancel carnival. Remember, politics is a popularity contest (i.e. beauty contest for ugly people). They will not want to be remembered as the people that cancelled Carnival.

I know my reasons seem stupid but that is what I have come to expect :(

Postby desifemlove » October 17th, 2014, 11:12 am

er...lolwut? why? tourists from USA or UK or Germany or Brazil gonna come and vote in we election?

Postby desifemlove » October 17th, 2014, 11:15 am

Slartibartfast wrote:They won't cancel carnival. They will impose more travel bans if anything. PP would say cancelling carnival would cause too much chaos for them to deal with.

babies....both UNC and trinis...

Postby Chimera » October 17th, 2014, 11:59 am

anyone else actually reluctant to travel to the US or pass through any airport because of ebola?

i hadda admit, i am.

Postby UML » October 17th, 2014, 12:03 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Duane you looking at this the wrong way. It's not about mitigating the effects of Ebola, it's about looking as though they are mitigating the effects of Ebola.

So they may impose more travelers' restrictions but they will never impose one on the US because it suppose to be hard for us to get in their country, not the other way around. Our politicians can't deny americans access while still trying to kiss their @$$.

I see them imposing more restrictions on places that will not impact us. They will not impose any on the US and they will not cancel carnival. Remember, politics is a popularity contest (i.e. beauty contest for ugly people). They will not want to be remembered as the people that cancelled Carnival.

I know my reasons seem stupid but that is what I have come to expect :(

but cud it not be interpreted also as the govt that made a tough decision to benefit their country? #hero

:wink: 8-)

Postby Slartibartfast » October 17th, 2014, 1:32 pm

UML wrote:but cud it not be interpreted also as the govt that made a tough decision to benefit their country? #hero

:wink: 8-)
no

Postby sliderz1 » October 17th, 2014, 1:33 pm

all in all this is highly unlikely so me ent see why allyuh cyaking

Postby TRAE » October 17th, 2014, 1:43 pm

postponing things not making a difference- we need to close borders like yesterday

Postby Trini Hookah » October 17th, 2014, 3:29 pm

desifemlove wrote:er...lolwut? why? tourists from USA or UK or Germany or Brazil gonna come and vote in we election?

Lord put a hand.

Postby pioneer » October 17th, 2014, 3:32 pm

Elections can wait to June 2016 or so, too many important issues to address right now.