chikungunya spreading like crazy

Realtalk

chikungunya spreading like crazy

Postby Realtalk » October 6th, 2014, 6:32 pm

I'm from central an I honestly think this virus is spreading without getting bitten from a mosquito. I could be wrong but the way it's spreading I can only guess that it's transferring from human to human.

Can anyone shed some light on this?

jeevdude199

Re:

Postby jeevdude199 » October 6th, 2014, 6:37 pm

#isurvived

Re: chikungunya spreading like crazy

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2014, 6:47 pm

Realtalk wrote:I'm from central an I honestly think this virus is spreading without getting bitten from a mosquito. I could be wrong but the way it's spreading I can only guess that it's transferring from human to human.

Chikungunya (pronunciation: \chik-en-gun-ye) virus is transmitted to people by mosquitoes.

Chikungunya virus is transmitted to people through mosquito bites. Mosquitoes become infected when they feed on a person already infected with the virus. Infected mosquitoes can then spread the virus to other people through bites.

Chikungunya virus is most often spread to people by Aedes aegypti and Aedes albopictus mosquitoes. These are the same mosquitoes that transmit dengue virus. They bite mostly during the daytime.

It cannot be spread from person to person unless blood is exchanged from person to person. In theory, the virus could be spread through a blood transfusion. To date, there are no known reports of this happening.

http://www.cdc.gov/chikungunya/transmission/index.html

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » October 6th, 2014, 6:57 pm

There is a flu going around with symptoms that are identical to chik. Down to the rashes and wrist pain

Realtalk

Postby Realtalk » October 6th, 2014, 6:59 pm

Realtalk wrote:I'm from central an I honestly think this virus is spreading without getting bitten from a mosquito. I could be wrong but the way it's spreading I can only guess that it's transferring from human to human.

Chikungunya (pronunciation: \chik-en-gun-ye) virus is transmitted to people by mosquitoes.

Chikungunya virus is transmitted to people through mosquito bites. Mosquitoes become infected when they feed on a person already infected with the virus. Infected mosquitoes can then spread the virus to other people through bites.

Chikungunya virus is most often spread to people by Aedes aegypti and Aedes albopictus mosquitoes. These are the same mosquitoes that transmit dengue virus. They bite mostly during the daytime.

It cannot be spread from person to person unless blood is exchanged from person to person. In theory, the virus could be spread through a blood transfusion. To date, there are no known reports of this happening.

http://www.cdc.gov/chikungunya/transmission/index.html
this is some good info but I think the virus is more than that now

Postby shogun » October 6th, 2014, 7:39 pm

paparazzi wrote:There is a flu going around with symptoms that are identical to chik. Down to the rashes and wrist pain

Heard the same.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 6th, 2014, 8:04 pm

Simple way to find out....go private get tested

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 6th, 2014, 8:05 pm

paparazzi wrote:There is a flu going around with symptoms that are identical to chik. Down to the rashes and wrist pain

that's what they telling ppl to not cause panic. There are alot more cases than what the ministry is reporting

cyb3rphantom

Postby cyb3rphantom » October 6th, 2014, 8:11 pm

yea i know alot of ppl dat was infected with it...me included!!They saying there is a flu goin around i guess not to cause any panic,but it is spreading more than we think.

Realtalk

Postby Realtalk » October 6th, 2014, 8:50 pm

cyb3rphantom wrote:yea i know alot of ppl dat was infected with it...me included!!They saying there is a flu goin around i guess not to cause any panic,but it is spreading more than we think.
you are totally right. I think more than 10 people are infected daily.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 6th, 2014, 8:56 pm

1 in every 2 people I know get that...

I'm from POS thats prob why

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » October 6th, 2014, 9:03 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:

that's what they telling ppl to not cause panic. There are alot more cases than what the ministry is reporting

My wife, sons and housekeeper got it around the same time. My doc said the odds of the same mosquito biting all of them and infecting them are slim.

It's viral, not chik V.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2014, 9:12 pm

paparazzi wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

My wife, sons and housekeeper got it around the same time. My doc said the odds of the same mosquito biting all of them and infecting them are slim.

It's viral, not chik V.
good call!

HEALTH MINISTER: FLU STRAIN MIMICKING CHIKUNGUNYA

Last Updated on 06.10.2014
Published Date

Health Minister Dr. Fuad Khan has noted that there is an influenza virus that imitates the symptoms of the Chikungunya Virus and it is this flu that has affected many citizens.

Speaking on CTV's Good Morning Trinidad and Tobago on Monday, he said high fever, joint pain and diarrhea are common in both Chik-V and the flu and this has led many to believe that Chikungunya is prevalent in Trinidad and Tobago.

However, the difference is shown in the blood test.

"A lot of the blood that we are testing is showing that it is not Chik-V but the symptoms are almost mimicking the same disorder. The fever is not as high and the joint pain is not as sustained over like a two-day period. Chik-V joint pain is five days and onwards. It keeps going."

Dr. Khan said doctors can tell the difference between both strains and this is why some persons will be tested for Chikungunya.

He again called on citizens to clean their surroundings, especially drains and waterways to prevent breeding grounds for mosquitoes.

http://ctntworld.com/cnews2/index.php?o ... Itemid=707

Realtalk

Postby Realtalk » October 6th, 2014, 9:13 pm

paparazzi wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

It's viral, not chik V.
this is what I'm saying I think the virus is chik but now transferring from human to human, I could be talking BS but it's jus a hunch

Postby Rainman » October 6th, 2014, 9:47 pm

Realtalk wrote:I could be talking BS

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2014, 10:27 pm

Realtalk wrote:this is what I'm saying I think the virus is chik but now transferring from human to human, I could be talking BS but it's jus a hunch
it is not chikungunya. It is suspected to be a flu that has similar symptoms

Postby De Dragon » October 6th, 2014, 10:28 pm

I thought this was a thread about Edwin Ayoung contracting ChikV. I am disappoint.

cyb3rphantom

Postby cyb3rphantom » October 6th, 2014, 11:07 pm

my joint and back pains lasted nearly 2weeks....was not nice :evil: :fist:

Postby Trini Hookah » October 7th, 2014, 9:21 am

Is that real talk OP???

Bareback

Postby Bareback » October 7th, 2014, 9:26 am

This thread seems to have been bitten by the same mosquito.

Postby pugboy » October 7th, 2014, 4:28 pm

Khan is a joke, whatever it is, it is clearly very rampant amongst the population,
Saying it is not chik is simply putting head in sand and not helping the situation.

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2014, 4:29 pm

Word is chick V is from Debe.

Postby redmanjp » October 7th, 2014, 4:50 pm

could be normal dengue too

Postby pugboy » October 7th, 2014, 4:52 pm

exactly, denying it is chikv and doing nothing when it could be dengue and doing nothing
amounts to not doing their job

redmanjp wrote:could be normal dengue too

Postby Habit7 » October 26th, 2014, 7:29 pm

Whether it is a flu like virus or Chik V, this thing mashing me up :(

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 26th, 2014, 7:34 pm

U didnt go get tested?

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 26th, 2014, 7:44 pm

paparazzi wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

It's viral, not chik V.

Your doc need to go back to school

clone101

Postby clone101 » October 26th, 2014, 8:16 pm

got it and the joint pain ent nice and the itching

Postby Ted_v2 » October 26th, 2014, 8:32 pm

Gimme a run downs of the symptoms especially at startup

Postby supercharged turbo » October 26th, 2014, 8:34 pm

Fever,some people get a mild cold,hands and feet swelling and a rash(plenty fine red dots)