Recommend a good health insurance policy

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 16th, 2014, 9:01 pm

Tried a search but did not see the topic.Looking at some options,let's hear what you all have...thanks in advance.
Feel free to post benefits of any particular plan you may currently be involved in.

Re: Recommend a good health insurance policy

Postby nervewrecker » September 16th, 2014, 9:07 pm

inside for this.

Postby skylinechild » September 16th, 2014, 9:17 pm

i have some sort of ad med card from maritime.
i dont exactly know what is /isnt covered...all i know is my payments always up to date.
had it for 2-3 yrs now..

will edit this response soon when i re read the ad med thingy they give me and see what exactly it is.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 16th, 2014, 9:20 pm

check j.o.e on the forums...he's the man to explain this kinda thing

Postby brams112 » September 16th, 2014, 9:21 pm

Got myself a life evolution rejuvenator increasing benefit option from guardian life.Dont have the policy in front of me now but it is supposed to cover most illness,at the time of inception,will pay most of the medical bills.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 16th, 2014, 9:23 pm

keep the info coming

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 16th, 2014, 9:29 pm

brams112 wrote:Got myself a life evolution rejuvenator increasing benefit option from guardian life.Dont have the policy in front of me now but it is supposed to cover most illness,at the time of inception,will pay most of the medical bills.

monthly payments? covers basic dental,vision etc etc? amongst other major ailments?

Postby pioneer » September 16th, 2014, 11:13 pm

Anything for individual dental plan?

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » September 17th, 2014, 12:29 am

in one at work Med acess you pay 20% of the fee at doctors/hospitals and there is a limit celing
coverage for surgeries

FORDRACING

Postby FORDRACING » September 17th, 2014, 7:37 am

As skyline child indicated the ADMED from maritime is a great major medical policy that covers 3 main benefits. 1 accident and emergency, 2 hospital and diagnostics and 3. Surgery benefits as well as a death benefit and critical illness/dread disease. It's truly a comprehensive plan that offers you living benefits on your policy. Send me a pm if u're interested in further info or call 781-8888.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 17th, 2014, 7:56 am

anyone has experience with the following companies with respect to health insurance:

ALGICO
SAGICOR
TATIL
BEACON
GUARDIAN LIFE

Ganash Auto

Postby Ganash Auto » September 17th, 2014, 7:59 am

call 746-1624. agent will explain

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 17th, 2014, 8:00 am

what company^? thanks doh

Ganash Auto

Postby Ganash Auto » September 17th, 2014, 8:28 am

martime. I hav ad med/tri flex/life with dem. wrks for me. plus I get addition discount on car insurance because I hav those plans

rabiesebola

Postby rabiesebola » September 17th, 2014, 8:48 am

my advice to u is make sure u ina gear physically (as in physically fit), cuz like insurance companies have issues giving coverage to fat ppl as they view them as risky. and also make sure and lie about yur family medical history if u have family diseases like diabetes and hypertension cuz like dat also does turn off insurance companies. but all of the above wont matter if u working for 50k a month and up. i highly recommend guardian general. my premium is $2200 a month. i am most happy about being able to access any private institution (best part of my package), even for basic check ups to avoid dis failure public health system. hope this helps

silver

Postby silver » September 17th, 2014, 9:10 am

rabiesebola wrote:my advice to u is make sure u ina gear physically (as in physically fit), cuz like insurance companies have issues giving coverage to fat ppl as they view them as risky. and also make sure and lie about yur family medical history if u have family diseases like diabetes and hypertension cuz like dat also does turn off insurance companies. but all of the above wont matter if u working for 50k a month and up. i highly recommend guardian general. my premium is $2200 a month. i am most happy about being able to access any private institution (best part of my package), even for basic check ups to avoid dis failure public health system. hope this helps

I highly recommend you don't lie about your health issues or family medical history.
If you do become seriously ill with a related illness, the insurance has grounds to deny your claim. at which point all of your premiums would have been for nothing.

But obviously being fit and eating healthy is the best way to prevent most illnesses. Health insurance should be used for some preventative check ups and to assist in expenses for serious illness.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » September 17th, 2014, 10:36 am

Guardian has Lifecare Provisor. Currently on it thru work - our premium is $175/month.

it has a range of benefits - simply show your card to any listed provider and you pay only 20% up to certain limits. Anyone not listed you can pay full amount and claim reimbursement after.

Emergency benefit is balls though - ie if u go to a nursing home ER for treatment they only cover $500

http://trinidad.myguardiangroup.com/gua ... /provisor/

Postby dougla_boy » September 17th, 2014, 10:46 am

ALGICO is now Pan American Life.....they are good and Mega Insurance has some good ones to look at, check them out....but my advice....get a good agent.....some agents sell u a policy and when time to collect is a setta headache.....the good ones would go out their way to make sure u covered....

Postby DFC » September 17th, 2014, 11:26 am

i have sagicor, through my company.

it covers eyecare, dental, rectal and general medical bills.

my friend bought a glasses recently.
Cost $3800 , but got 20% off because of sagicor, a further 10 % off cuz he with venture credit union and got back $1500 from the insurance company.

i dont know the details, because i never had to go doctor or dental , rectal or change my glasses since i here.

I will get more info.

For now, all this is "talk nah info" dont take it seriously until i get some more info.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 17th, 2014, 7:13 pm

thanks for the info thus far..

@DFC that cost if for the year? I assume so..I got some feedback from an agent and they have some nice benefits. $3875 for the year though.

Postby pioneer » September 17th, 2014, 7:21 pm

Any dental alone?

Think I will call Maritime

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » September 17th, 2014, 8:03 pm

Met with a Sagicor agent today. Really would appreciate info that will assist in making a good choice wrt company I choose a policy with.

Postby X_Factor » September 17th, 2014, 8:08 pm

i understand that most medical companies provide medical until 60-65yrs, after that you are on your own....
was hearing pan american has a policy where they cover after that age

you could give them a call for further info

LalChun

Postby LalChun » September 17th, 2014, 8:44 pm

Good thread OP. I myself was confused after speaking to numerous agents, all they concern with is selling you the biggest package. I was looking for critical illness coverage and all they talk about is a million dollar life insurance :/

mitsutt

Postby mitsutt » September 18th, 2014, 12:05 pm

brams112 wrote:Got myself a life evolution rejuvenator increasing benefit option from guardian life.Dont have the policy in front of me now but it is supposed to cover most illness,at the time of inception,will pay most of the medical bills.

^^Totally wrong info there, understand your policy properly bro. The guy is looking for health insurance as the topic states not critical illness which is different.

Pios no individual dental plan, you will have to take the entire individual health plan.

LalChun how much critical illness you looking for ?

LalChun

Postby LalChun » September 18th, 2014, 12:09 pm

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 18th, 2014, 12:12 pm

seems like this maritime admed thing real popular. Most ppl I know have one and very very few ever used its benefits so I don't really have any feedback to tell except I had an emergency for an injury some time ago and the admed card was flashed at the A&E personnel. I was allowed entry and discharged the next day with just a signature. great stuff.

Postby j.o.e » September 18th, 2014, 12:15 pm

This:
http://trinidad.myguardiangroup.com/gua ... /provisor/

no hassle full of win..flash card keep it moving

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 18th, 2014, 12:16 pm

Guardian & Sagicor definitely