ISIS in T&T?

Numb3r4

Re: ISIS in T&T?

Postby Numb3r4 » January 27th, 2019, 7:14 pm

If it weren't for political patronage, media houses in Trinidad may be in trouble, so aside from sharing similar political or social ideologies they may be forced into a relationship of financial convenience, either way they need to "tow the political line".

Postby K74T » January 27th, 2019, 9:50 pm

All the best to those little guys, hope they can get past this ordeal.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 27th, 2019, 10:27 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:UK Journalist Knocks T&T Newsday for Political Pappy Show

Joshua Surtees, a Former Newsday journalist who is now employed with Guardian UK, is knocking his former employers for Political Pappy Showing.

Following Guardian UK’s article on the two T&T boys stranded in Syria, he stated that he was part of the delegation that accompanied their mother and a delegation of individuals that would extract the boys from Camp Roj, the Syrian refugee camp where they were being held.

Surtees indicated that throughout this entire ordeal, the Trinidad and Tobago’s government has NEVER intervened, or requested to be part of this specialized, multi faceted extraction, but was angered to see that Newsday published an article the following day titled “Government Involved in Boy’s Return From Syria”.

Surtees said that this was, at its best, “PR for a Government that is Failing its citizens in all manner of ways and badly failed an individual citizen who spent over a year trying to get her kids back until eventually a rock star and lawyer from the UK stepped in.”

On seeing this inaccurate report being circulated in the local media, he requested Newsday Editor in Chief Judy Raymond retract the article or issue an accurate representation of the rescue process as it was undertaken, however this was refused. Unbeknownst to Surtees, the following day, Newsday furthered the government’s agenda by publishing an article titled “Wrong To Say We Did Nothing”, a story of Minister of National Security Stuart Young’s claim that the Government WAS involved in the process, however chose to bury an op-ed done by Clive Stafford on the accurate events of the extraction on page 14. Clive Stafford, the founder of Reprieve. Reprieve is a UK based human rights organization that works on high profile international cases where persons have been victims of terror, torture, extrajudicial imprisonment and extrajudicial killing.

Following this timeline of events, Surtees indicated that in the second article, Newsday engaged in a “smear campaign” by claiming that he was blocking the local media from taking pictures of the returning family, however, at the time, the only other reporter present was one from Trinidad Express who clearly understood the process involved. Newsday also published a photo of Surtees speaking to the family which also clearly refutes claims that he was blocking anyone from doing their job.

He offers a suggestion for this as he claims that Newsday acted vindictively as they expected a story from him on the day that the boys were handed over in Qamishli, Syria. This expectation was far from reasonable as he had no access to any forms of communication, and in addition to being stopped at multiple check points and police interviews which made reporting difficult. Citing the inaccuracies with Newday’s article, he found it strange that the article was credited as being done by Julien Neaves and Jada Loutoo, however they were not present at the airport for the family’s return.

Surtees says that he will now chose to sever ties with Newsday as a freelance journalist and have called others in the industry to take note on how journalism is practiced in T&T.

http://tt-talk.com/uk-journalist-knocks ... appy-show/

Link to the original post by Mr. Surtees?

Postby Dizzy28 » January 28th, 2019, 3:34 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Joshua Surtees, a Former Newsday journalist who is now employed with Guardian UK, is knocking his former employers for Political Pappy Showing.

Following Guardian UK’s article on the two T&T boys stranded in Syria, he stated that he was part of the delegation that accompanied their mother and a delegation of individuals that would extract the boys from Camp Roj, the Syrian refugee camp where they were being held.

Surtees indicated that throughout this entire ordeal, the Trinidad and Tobago’s government has NEVER intervened, or requested to be part of this specialized, multi faceted extraction, but was angered to see that Newsday published an article the following day titled “Government Involved in Boy’s Return From Syria”.

Surtees said that this was, at its best, “PR for a Government that is Failing its citizens in all manner of ways and badly failed an individual citizen who spent over a year trying to get her kids back until eventually a rock star and lawyer from the UK stepped in.”

On seeing this inaccurate report being circulated in the local media, he requested Newsday Editor in Chief Judy Raymond retract the article or issue an accurate representation of the rescue process as it was undertaken, however this was refused. Unbeknownst to Surtees, the following day, Newsday furthered the government’s agenda by publishing an article titled “Wrong To Say We Did Nothing”, a story of Minister of National Security Stuart Young’s claim that the Government WAS involved in the process, however chose to bury an op-ed done by Clive Stafford on the accurate events of the extraction on page 14. Clive Stafford, the founder of Reprieve. Reprieve is a UK based human rights organization that works on high profile international cases where persons have been victims of terror, torture, extrajudicial imprisonment and extrajudicial killing.

Following this timeline of events, Surtees indicated that in the second article, Newsday engaged in a “smear campaign” by claiming that he was blocking the local media from taking pictures of the returning family, however, at the time, the only other reporter present was one from Trinidad Express who clearly understood the process involved. Newsday also published a photo of Surtees speaking to the family which also clearly refutes claims that he was blocking anyone from doing their job.

He offers a suggestion for this as he claims that Newsday acted vindictively as they expected a story from him on the day that the boys were handed over in Qamishli, Syria. This expectation was far from reasonable as he had no access to any forms of communication, and in addition to being stopped at multiple check points and police interviews which made reporting difficult. Citing the inaccuracies with Newday’s article, he found it strange that the article was credited as being done by Julien Neaves and Jada Loutoo, however they were not present at the airport for the family’s return.

Surtees says that he will now chose to sever ties with Newsday as a freelance journalist and have called others in the industry to take note on how journalism is practiced in T&T.

It was on his FB page
https://www.facebook.com/josh.surtees.5 ... 8438984290

Postby zoom rader » January 28th, 2019, 5:51 pm

bluefete wrote:Thanks Duane. That was some read.

zoom rader wrote:^^^ this is why I don't buy trini newspapers as they are all controlled by the PNM and 1%

So who controls the newspapers that you do read? Not the same 1% but in foreign?
Hey you and others are free to buy what ever newspapers you like. I don't spend my money buying trini newspapers. I may read it online for amusement and always think how stupid this population has become.
Reading foreign news is just as the same due to fake news and their goverment steering them in a certain direction. It's a matter of taking the blue or red pill.
Trinidad is a fake society built from reading and watching local news.
You will probably get better news on tuner and YouTube than to depend on media houses who gets paid from the PNM and 1%

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 28th, 2019, 6:08 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

It was on his FB page
https://www.facebook.com/josh.surtees.5 ... 8438984290

Thanks

Postby matr1x » January 28th, 2019, 11:58 pm

Pork will cure their ISIS feelings

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » February 9th, 2019, 12:40 pm

Comments anyone?

Postby zoom rader » February 9th, 2019, 12:43 pm

matr1x wrote:Pork will cure their ISIS feelings
Dem and so call trini Muslims eating more pork than you .

Postby De Dragon » February 10th, 2019, 6:15 am

timothymcdavid wrote:Comments anyone?

Closed vid once I saw that it was Fox news with Trump mouthpiece crew like Doocy. Not condoning anything ISIS, but objectivity and Fox news looking to spin it in a Trumpian way isn't my cup o' tea.
Maybe Erectile D could comment, as he is the local Trump surrogate.

kstt

Postby kstt » February 10th, 2019, 8:11 am

matr1x wrote:Pork will cure their ISIS feelings
Dem and so call trini Muslims eating more pork than you .

I was told this by a pork sandwich shop owner recently. It was shocking.

kstt

Postby kstt » February 10th, 2019, 12:31 pm

Sandals couldn't give us the international exposure isis giving us.

Postby hydroep » February 10th, 2019, 12:50 pm

Well, profiling going on a while now. I have a few acquaintances with Muslim names who routinely get braced when they travel from T&T to the U.S. (a couple of them were pulled aside for questioning while boarding at Piarco...:|).

The actions of a few miscreants making things harder for the rest of us.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » February 10th, 2019, 2:18 pm

What I dont understand is how this guys were radicalized what is it about Trinbago that these individuals feel this is the correct road for them to follow?

This country is far from perfect but for this kind of mentality to sprout from these shores is something that really puzzles me.

Postby MaxPower » February 10th, 2019, 2:20 pm

Mosslim people problems smh

Postby matr1x » February 10th, 2019, 2:31 pm

If moosleem had swung after 1990, they would have thought twice

Postby Redman » February 10th, 2019, 3:41 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:What I dont understand is how this guys were radicalized what is it about Trinbago that these individuals feel this is the correct road for them to follow?

This country is far from perfect but for this kind of mentality to sprout from these shores is something that really puzzles me.

Which young man didn't grow up and want to be a soldier?

That desire might be strong enough to push these youth...
This war has a low price of admission ....throw in some quasi religious fight down...you have open source warfare.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » February 10th, 2019, 4:11 pm

Redman wrote:
timothymcdavid wrote:What I dont understand is how this guys were radicalized what is it about Trinbago that these individuals feel this is the correct road for them to follow?

This war has a low price of admission ....throw in some quasi religious fight down...you have open source warfare.

Being a soldier is quite different from the ideals expressed by this guy ... being a soldier for children was playing dress up, shooting guns and fighting in wars ... killing noncombatants and people with dissimilar beliefs ... that is the kind of intolerance that i have difficulty coming to grips with.

This is a fully grown man not a child soldier by any means who cant fully rationalize what it means to kill someone.

Postby alfa » February 10th, 2019, 4:42 pm

As a Muslim when ISIS was at its peak I used to wonder myself what drove so many trinis there. It’s really a multi-dimensional explanation. A lot has to do with the Salafi sect of Islam that promotes a mentality that anything that is non Islamic is automatically sinful and it needs to be removed at all costs as well as trying to practice Islam exactly the way it was done over a thousand years ago, rejecting anything western. These people tend to be very knowledgeable about Islam and its tenants but somehow seem to ignore the aspect of the religion that deals with mercy and caring for your fellow human being. Islam being a balanced religion promoting peace when it’s practical and war when it isn’t, a lot of these Salafists had criminal backgrounds and I would assume identify more comfortably with the warfare part of the religion. Some of them came from violent backgrounds in Trinidad and would have been influenced by this Rasta city/Muslim city dotishness so violence is second nature to them. Couple that with a philosophy that tells you it is your God given duty to fight against anything western and non-Islamic and you have an ISIS fighter in the making. They somehow don’t realize that although a lot of Trinidadian values aren’t compatible with Islam, like this whole carnival thing, Trinidad is still big enough for every creed and race to find your own place. They also fail to realize that in a world with 6 billion non-Muslims if you destroy everything non Islamic the 1 billion of us could never survive.
The next group were those who genuinely wanted to help the Muslim cause and the Muslims who were being oppressed throughout the world. They could never have a fighting chance to help Palestine against Israel but with the rise of ISIS and their subsequent victories they thought they could really make a difference and that ISIS was really a good group fighting for Muslims. I guess they only later realized ISIS would kill Muslims just as easily as the people they were trying to fight against.
In the early days of ISIS they portrayed themselves as a group looking to establish a home for Muslims throughout the world pretty much like Israel is to Jews. Just like how we trinis migrate to the US for a better life a lot of trinis mistakenly thought ISIS would offer an Islamic utopia free from issues of government corruption and discrimination. One where you can freely wear the hijab at work and raise your children in a proper Islamic manner free from things like carnival and the whole LGBTXYX nonsense they are trying to push on us now. After migrating they too realized too little too late the monster ISIS really is.
Finally there are a lot more people in Trinidad who supported ISIS than who actually migrated. Over the years as we began to see ISIS for who they really are a lot of them have started to backtrack on their support as they now realize the truth. Sadly some of them haven’t and it’s those we need to keep an eye out for

Postby Redman » February 10th, 2019, 4:59 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:
Redman wrote:

Being a soldier is quite different from the ideals expressed by this guy ... being a soldier for children was playing dress up, shooting guns and fighting in wars ... killing noncombatants and people with dissimilar beliefs ... that is the kind of intolerance that i have difficulty coming to grips with.

This is a fully grown man not a child soldier by any means who cant fully rationalize what it means to kill someone.

No army recruits using the reality of warfare.

Isis just does what every army recruiting does...looks for young impressionable minds and says the right things..

The difference is that ISIS,leveraging the internet has a world wide target market and is able to use religion,anti american sentiment while not being limited by citizenship.

Get a local COI and pay him per head....

It worked here...as it did in all countries.
Last edited by Redman on February 10th, 2019, 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » February 10th, 2019, 5:10 pm

They are a threat, and they operate like poison fruit. When they infiltrated Europe, it was a disaster.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » February 11th, 2019, 7:08 am

Redman wrote:
No army recruits using the reality of warfare.

Isis just does what every army recruiting does...looks for young impressionable minds and says the right things..

The difference is that ISIS,leveraging the internet has a world wide target market and is able to use religion,anti american sentiment while not being limited by citizenship.

Get a local COI and pay him per head....

It worked here...as it did in all countries.

Ok ... point taken.

Alfa thank you for your post sheds alot of light on this to me.

Between yourself and redman i have been enlightened.

Postby Chimera » February 11th, 2019, 7:31 am

Redman wrote:No army recruits using the reality of warfare.

i always thought it was stupid impressionable poverty stricken fellas who use to get chain up to join Isis and run away to fight

then i find out one of my padnas who i went to law school with, who went on to become a lawyer and who back in the day was a commonwealth boxer for Trinidad, gone syria and get kill fighting for isis. he even chain up a girl from hugh wooding to marry him and go syria, after he get killed there, she stranded there

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/ ... abdul-haqq

But some members of prominent families were drawn in too – perhaps none more high-profile than boxer Tariq Abdul Haqq. His aunt, Pamela Elder, is one of the country’s most respected lawyers and his father Yacoob Abdul Haqq had been a senior boxing official until his 2012 death.

Postby Redman » February 11th, 2019, 10:45 am

I remember reading a document from Stratfor- a sub based big picture geopolitical analysis around 2012.
The thrust of the report was that on the ground in the MENA the fighting was multilateral and chaotic.
It wasnt A vs B, it was a free for all between groups based political,religious,geographic,tribal, who horn who and whatever reason or cause was good enough at the time and the shifting alliances that comes with the region.
Feeding this real life Medal of Honour melee was the recruiting on a global scale-a limitless feed stock of humans that want to fight/kill/test themselves...if there is a cause they get behind,even better.
All in a region that is ALREADY populated by people that grew up close to war-and a hard existence that requires conflict almost on a daily basis
When does that end?

Postby Chimera » February 11th, 2019, 12:39 pm

In my padna case....he believed in his heart that the muslim people were being taken advantage of.....and he had the strength to go assist....so he went and assist....guess he die fighting for what he believe in

Postby sMASH » February 12th, 2019, 7:22 pm

hema try hardddd to dig out if he gonna try sumting again,

Postby Redman » February 12th, 2019, 7:52 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:In my padna case....he believed in his heart that the muslim people were being taken advantage of.....and he had the strength to go assist....so he went and assist....guess he die fighting for what he believe in

And my respect to him for that.
I have no issue with anyone going to fight-whatever their reason.

Its the coming back to continue the struggle is where I will have a problem

Postby matr1x » February 12th, 2019, 9:16 pm

We were too soft on them. Islam is the final solution according to fanatic groups.

Postby The_Honourable » June 29th, 2019, 7:16 pm

‘Beware returning foreign fighters’

THE Chief of the Military Liaison Office at the US Embassy in Port of Spain yesterday warned the local business community to prepare for the return to the country of T&T-born terrorists, who are currently being detained in Syria and Iraq.

“Within the next year or so, you will eventually have some hardened terrorist fighters return to this country, like it or not,” said Colonel Claudia Carrizales as she addressed the annual meeting of the local arm of the American Chamber of Commerce (AMCHAM) on the issue of Economic Stability and Security Threats.

The military liaison officer said that in T&T, there seems to be some “God-is-a-Trini” wishful thinking that the terrorist fighters will never make it back to T&T or the US will take care of them.

“Those bad guys who are sitting over there in those detention facilities, the US won’t let them come back. But, ladies and gentlemen, I am here to tell you that those are your citizens and your responsibility. And as a country you are going to have to deal with it. Are you ready to deal with that kind of threat?”

She also told the audience of business leaders and executives that the 2018 Carnival threat was “real,” noting that it was the training and collaboration between local elite military and police special forces and their American counterparts that prevented the Carnival threat from becoming a reality.

“I will tell you, you passed, because we went from training, advising and equipping to something happening,” she said, admitting that she was amazed by the conspiracy theories of Trinidadians and the idea that they do not blow things up.

She said that those who took part in the Carnival threat last year were boy scouts compared with the “hardened” terrorist fighters in Middle Eastern detention centres.

Carrizales said: “I often tell people that I speak to that the people who attempted to do harm to your country in 2018 during the Carnival threat, you can see them as boy scouts. Yes they had the radicalisation mentality and they wanted to do bad things. But when you compare them to what’s coming back, those guys are boy scouts.

“What’s been missing in this country, in my opinion—when it comes to terrorism and something not happening here of great impact—has been that charismatic leader. That charismatic, Muslim hard-core foreign fighter who comes back and can rally the rest of them. Then you have a problem, ladies and gentlemen.

“Then you are going to see the impact that will have on the business community because businesses are not going to invest in a country that has that type of problem—terrorism.”

Source: https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 8c9dd.html

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2019, 7:29 pm

Sigh these Mosslim people smh