Digicel Internet Thread

SRASC

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby SRASC » January 12th, 2022, 9:23 am

Digicel+ seems to be having issues this morning. Weirdly 2/3 devices, all connected to the same network, have no connection, but my phone does still and is working fine.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2022, 9:30 am

“Good Morning all.

*Notice for Digicel Internet customers*

There is a broadband outage affecting Digi+ customers.
Our technicians are working to have the issue resolved in the shortest possible timeframe.

On behalf of Digicel, we apologize for any inconvenience caused.”

Postby Dizzy28 » January 12th, 2022, 9:41 am

WFH today and my staff who have Digicel can't access our outlook server or the VPN. Flow ppl ok.

SRASC

Digicel Internet Thread

Postby SRASC » January 12th, 2022, 10:02 am

Resolved… kinda.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 12th, 2022, 11:52 am

Digicel MC eh steups

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2022, 1:01 pm

Postby st7 » January 12th, 2022, 1:15 pm

does digicel do rebates?

i could be mistaken but a few times i believe i saw small discounts on my bill.

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2022, 1:47 pm

there used to be a fb page called digihell

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 14th, 2022, 8:24 am

Ran a speedtest just now and I'm getting double speeds. Anyone else getting the same?

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » January 14th, 2022, 10:49 am

Basically getting the same also. Would hope it stays that way but doubtful.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » January 14th, 2022, 11:47 am

Yeah mine looking high

Postby st7 » January 14th, 2022, 12:08 pm

what sites are you using to test? if it's speedtest.net and you're testing to digicel servers, that's not the true speed.

i'm testing to fast.com (netflix) and i'm getting the usual 120/140 down (i'm 100down)

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » January 14th, 2022, 12:09 pm

Yep, I pay for 100 and getting 200 down right now, on both Speedtest.net and Fast.com.

Postby st7 » January 14th, 2022, 12:14 pm

ed360123 wrote:Yep, I pay for 100 and getting 200 down right now, on both Speedtest.net and Fast.com.

tf :cry:

Postby redmanjp » January 14th, 2022, 12:28 pm

ed360123 wrote:Yep, I pay for 100 and getting 200 down right now, on both Speedtest.net and Fast.com.

serious? will have to test when i get home to see if i getting it. i paying for 100mb (usually get 120 down on ethernet).

Zalos

Postby Zalos » January 14th, 2022, 12:32 pm

st7 wrote:what sites are you using to test? if it's speedtest.net and you're testing to digicel servers, that's not the true speed.

i'm testing to fast.com (netflix) and i'm getting the usual 120/140 down (i'm 100down)

Can specify servers in miami to ping from.
I getting 200down/up currently

Postby redmanjp » January 14th, 2022, 12:38 pm

st7 wrote:what sites are you using to test? if it's speedtest.net and you're testing to digicel servers, that's not the true speed.

u tried rebooting router?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 14th, 2022, 1:22 pm

Can confirm this as well. 2x speeds. Other day was 100/100. Now both are in the 200 range.

death365

Postby death365 » January 14th, 2022, 1:36 pm

i was getting about 20% boost this morning before i left for work...

500 to 640/50 or so

Postby st7 » January 14th, 2022, 3:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:

yeah rebooted, and double checked the speed rating on my wireless receiver (up to 200 Mbps on the 2.4 GHz band and up to 433 Mbps on the 5 GHz band)

Postby redmanjp » January 14th, 2022, 6:15 pm

st7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

yeah rebooted, and double checked the speed rating on my wireless receiver (up to 200 Mbps on the 2.4 GHz band and up to 433 Mbps on the 5 GHz band)

nah u should test over a wired link to the router. those are still theoretical wifi speeds and in practice i mostly get between 50-70mb over wifi but 120 over the ethernet cable.

Postby redmanjp » January 14th, 2022, 11:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:

serious? will have to test when i get home to see if i getting it. i paying for 100mb (usually get 120 down on ethernet).

UPDATE: nice :D

Fast speedtest 210mbps.png

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 14th, 2022, 11:30 pm

Now tested seeing your post and I'm getting the same upped speeds while paying for the 100mb package. (tested on direct line to modem)

IIRC last few times they bumped speeds, they bumped the fackin prices too.

Postby redmanjp » January 14th, 2022, 11:32 pm

Soul Collector wrote:

Now tested seeing your post and I'm getting the same upped speeds while paying for the 100mb package. (tested on direct line to modem)

IIRC last few times they bumped speeds, they bumped the fackin prices too.

yeah daz d down side of upping yuh speed - they think it justifies them in upping price too :roll: if so i go ask them to put me back down and keep d current price - while is fun to have 200mb i doh really need it.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 14th, 2022, 11:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:yeah daz d down side of upping yuh speed - they think it justifies them in upping price too :roll: if so i go ask them to put me back down and keep d current price - while is fun to have 200mb i doh really need it.

Yeah, lots of people didn't need or want any bump up in speed but they just force it onto the customers and then Flow does follow suit to raise and match prices so it's not even like you have any real choice in the matter. Is just take bull every which way.

Postby st7 » January 15th, 2022, 3:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:
st7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

nah u should test over a wired link to the router. those are still theoretical wifi speeds and in practice i mostly get between 50-70mb over wifi but 120 over the ethernet cable.

i tested with my phone this morning and it's at 200, computer saying different less. i'll investigate that later lol

Postby redmanjp » January 15th, 2022, 3:39 pm

st7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
st7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

i tested with my phone this morning and it's at 200, computer saying different less. i'll investigate that later lol

computer connected via ethernet cable to router? odd that the phone would be faster over wifi than wired

Postby st7 » January 15th, 2022, 3:41 pm

redmanjp wrote:
st7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
st7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

computer connected via ethernet cable to router? odd that the phone would be faster over wifi than wired

everything is wifi.

Postby redmanjp » January 15th, 2022, 4:40 pm

so the wifi on your computer could be what is limiting the speed. anything like interference could do that. even if the link speed is >200mb. so test with a wired connection to see what happens.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » January 17th, 2022, 3:59 pm