Digicel Internet Thread

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby redmanjp » November 13th, 2021, 10:44 am

In the digi router under maintenance I can ping YouTube but it's resolving to an ipv6 address. On my laptop it's not resolving at all. Also our Samsung TV and Apple TV can't get internet.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » November 13th, 2021, 11:10 am

redmanjp wrote:no internet

any DNS issues currently? when i set google dns on my phone it works but not the router ip.

also i tried putting google dns IPs in the router dhcp settings but the router logs me out everytime. is this intentional or something wrong with it?
I set my router DNS to 1.1.1.1 (Cloudflare DNS) and it saved just fine.

Postby st7 » November 13th, 2021, 11:19 am

what area u experiencing this issue in reds?

Postby redmanjp » November 13th, 2021, 1:22 pm

st7 wrote:what area u experiencing this issue in reds?

Cleaver Heights Arima. But it came back about half an hour ago. Hope it stays that way especially if we get ah next lockdown.

Postby wagonrunner » November 15th, 2021, 12:14 pm

any DNS issues currently? when i set google dns on my phone it works but not the router ip.

also i tried putting google dns IPs in the router dhcp settings but the router logs me out everytime. is this intentional or something wrong with it?

nope. it is how every digicel Router i've met so far worked.

ed360123 wrote:I set my router DNS to 1.1.1.1 (Cloudflare DNS) and it saved just fine.

on what model router?

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » November 16th, 2021, 1:29 am

nope. it is how every digicel Router i've met so far worked.

ed360123 wrote:I set my router DNS to 1.1.1.1 (Cloudflare DNS) and it saved just fine.

on what model router?
This one. Model is EchoLife HG8245W5.

Postby wagonrunner » November 16th, 2021, 2:13 am

ed360123 wrote:This one. Model is EchoLife HG8245W5.

curious. What's the firmware version?

this one does the same thing as in the video.
Hardware Version: 163D.A
Software Version: V5R019C10S160

If the secondary address pool is enabled on either this or the 8245Q, the DNS server ip stays.
But changing on the primary address pool kicks out to login screen.
1.jpg

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » November 16th, 2021, 10:18 am

ed360123 wrote:This one. Model is EchoLife HG8245W5.

curious. What's the firmware version?

this one does the same thing as in the video.
Hardware Version: 163D.A
Software Version: V5R019C10S160

If the secondary address pool is enabled on either this or the 8245Q, the DNS server ip stays.
But changing on the primary address pool kicks out to login screen.

Hardware Version:163D.A
Software Version:V5R019C10S160

Postby redmanjp » November 18th, 2021, 1:59 am

Internet down again. Under WAN status it saying Disconnected. IPTV VOIP etc connected. Rebooted router twice but no luck.

Postby st7 » November 18th, 2021, 11:29 am

redmanjp wrote:Internet down again. Under WAN status it saying Disconnected. IPTV VOIP etc connected. Rebooted router twice but no luck.

yeah boy. had no net around that time too. but digicel data was working fine.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » November 18th, 2021, 1:34 pm

redmanjp wrote:Internet down again. Under WAN status it saying Disconnected. IPTV VOIP etc connected. Rebooted router twice but no luck.
Same here. Went at like 1:40 AM.

Postby redmanjp » November 18th, 2021, 5:47 pm

what area you all in? was it a nationwide outage cuz ah find it happening often now.

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2021, 10:04 am

anyone know what wifi version the HG8245Q is? I wondering if to buy a wifi 6 router to resolve interference issues and improve the wifi signal generally. but I'm not sure if devices which are wifi 5 or 4 will benefit as i currently dont have any devices supporting wifi 6.

Postby S_2NR » November 22nd, 2021, 11:45 am

redmanjp wrote:anyone know what wifi version the HG8245Q is? I wondering if to buy a wifi 6 router to resolve interference issues and improve the wifi signal generally. but I'm not sure if devices which are wifi 5 or 4 will benefit as i currently dont have any devices supporting wifi 6.

Getting your own router would almost always be an improvement over what your ISP gives you.
What they give you is a basic barebones thing just to get you started with their service.
If you don't have any wifi 6 devices, getting a wifi 6 router would just be for future proofing.

I'd recommend an AC or AX Asus router.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » November 22nd, 2021, 10:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:anyone know what wifi version the HG8245Q is? I wondering if to buy a wifi 6 router to resolve interference issues and improve the wifi signal generally. but I'm not sure if devices which are wifi 5 or 4 will benefit as i currently dont have any devices supporting wifi 6.
The HG8245Q is Wi-Fi 5/802.11ac. Non Wi-Fi 6 devices will not see much benefit.

Postby redmanjp » November 23rd, 2021, 1:07 am

Like internet down once again. Rebooted but wan status still saying disconnected and also all other services down as well.

death365

Postby death365 » November 23rd, 2021, 5:19 am

It's super slow in San Juan... @20% of speed that it should be.

I guessing that they reaching the max of connections in some areas and it causing problems

Postby S_2NR » November 23rd, 2021, 9:12 am

Now I glad I didn't switch to digicel.

eitech

Postby eitech » November 23rd, 2021, 12:24 pm

Not sure if there is a connection but when I had cable my internet was real good, no buffering or lagging. I dropped the cable and just using internet and is real failure.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » November 27th, 2021, 11:52 pm

Anyone in the Central area experiencing issues after 11? Particularly 1/3 speed and very unstable connection?

Postby st7 » November 28th, 2021, 12:45 am

i think it had a lil hiccup by me... but it didnt last long

Postby st7 » December 7th, 2021, 3:24 pm

anyone had any blackout issues at midnight last night?

net went down and no phone reception - chaguanas area

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » December 7th, 2021, 3:28 pm

st7 wrote:anyone had any blackout issues at midnight last night?

Yep, went down for me. Phone, TV and internet. PON light on the router was still green though, so it was probably a config issue on Digicel's end.

Postby redmanjp » December 7th, 2021, 3:30 pm

st7 wrote:anyone had any blackout issues at midnight last night?

didnt notice any downtime at that time- i was testing my 5Ghz wifi and it was less than i usually get, like 30mbps instead of between 60-70, but i attributed that to the wifi signal.

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » January 10th, 2022, 11:42 am

Good Day. Anyone know how to set up a static IP address, either via DHCP reservation or manually on the device. Reservations don't seem to work and setting it on the device not working either.

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2022, 12:04 pm

fallen18 wrote:Good Day. Anyone know how to set up a static IP address, either via DHCP reservation or manually on the device. Reservations don't seem to work and setting it on the device not working either.

wouldn't you have to apply to digicel for that? otherwise if u set a static IP which is in their dhcp range it could possibly cause a IP conflict

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 10th, 2022, 12:15 pm

They pushed an update some time ago that screwed up the modems. I can't save a DHCP reservation nor can I obtain a DHCP address below 190. I can't even save a static DNS to the modem.

I have several clients with the same issue. I had to reconfigure a lot of devices because of the "update." Even devices that had static IP addresses below 190 before the update, were unable to access the internet after the update.

Tech support was NOT helpful at all. I'd advise getting another WiFi router for your IP addressing needs and just use the Digicel router as a gateway.

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » January 10th, 2022, 12:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:
fallen18 wrote:Good Day. Anyone know how to set up a static IP address, either via DHCP reservation or manually on the device. Reservations don't seem to work and setting it on the device not working either.

wouldn't you have to apply to digicel for that? otherwise if u set a static IP which is in their dhcp range it could possibly cause a IP conflict

Hey, no meant static addresses internally.

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » January 10th, 2022, 12:26 pm

Cooper wrote:They pushed an update some time ago that screwed up the modems. I can't save a DHCP reservation nor can I obtain a DHCP address below 190. I can't even save a static DNS to the modem.

I have several clients with the same issue. I had to reconfigure a lot of devices because of the "update." Even devices that had static IP addresses below 190 before the update, were unable to access the internet after the update.

Tech support was NOT helpful at all. I'd advise getting another WiFi router for your IP addressing needs and just use the Digicel router as a gateway.

Ok thanks, yea seems to be a issue on their end. Customer support isn't much help either. Will have to go the router/server route sadly.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » January 12th, 2022, 9:21 am

Cooper wrote:They pushed an update some time ago that screwed up the modems. I can't save a DHCP reservation nor can I obtain a DHCP address below 190. I can't even save a static DNS to the modem.

I thought was just something with me, cuz recently I getting real issues with getting up addresses and can't set static ones on the modem and if I set it from the device sometimes I not getting internet. And then other times on wireless devices internet working normal and then boom, no internet unless you disconnect and reconnect, real pain with digicel yes