BAE wins legal battle with T&T £130

kaylex

Postby kaylex » August 13th, 2014, 11:09 am

Clyde shipyard bosses win £130m compensation battle

CLYDE shipyard bosses have won a £130million compensation battle with high ranking government officials in Trinidad and Tobago.

Gordon ThomsonNews Reporter

Thursday 15/11/2012

1 Comment

Print

The deal was thrashed out after the Caribbean republic reneged on an agreement to buy three offshore patrol vessels to be used in a crackdown on gun runners and drug smugglers.

The row was triggered when a newly-elected government decided to scrap the contract in October, 2010.

The contract had been worth £150m and had been placed with BAE Systems in April, 2007, by political opponents who had previously run the affairs of both holiday islands.

They had claimed there had been building delays to all three vessels and that the combat system had malfunctioned during sea trials on two of the ships.

The Trinidad and Tobago government refused to accept the patrol ships and instead BAE launched a compensation battle at an international court of arbitration.

It held a private hearing over several days in London in May and last month Cabinet members in the Republic were known to have approved a payment to BAE of £130m to end the row.

Shipyard bosses refused to disclose the sum involved but last night issued a brief statement to confirm both sides had reached an agreement.

It means BAE officials have almost doubled their money.

While the dispute rumbled on the company revealed in the run-up to last Christmas that it had sold the three vessels to the Brazilian Navy for £133m.

Company chiefs refused to comment further but industry sources last night confirmed that BAE was to be given £130m in compensation by the Trinidad and Tobago government whose senior officials could not be contacted

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/clyd ... n.19408056

kaylex

Re: BAE wins legal battle with T&T £130

Postby kaylex » August 13th, 2014, 11:13 am

Dont know what to think nah >> :oops: :oops: :agrue:

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 13th, 2014, 11:15 am

this hadda be fake

Postby 16 cycles » August 13th, 2014, 11:15 am

TT34m for 0

£130 for 0

lots could have been done with that money..

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 13th, 2014, 11:16 am

am i the only one who saw BAE and thought 'before anyone else' :oops: :oops:

damn internet

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2014, 11:37 am

£130m compensation + £133m from the sale to Brazil for the 3 vessels that was meant for Trinidad.

ROFL so BAE kill 2 birds with 1 stone there good one!!!

Well lets all look on the bright side, the vessels would have been an extra burden on tax payers to fund joy rides. Lets be real we eh stopping no drugs in this place that never gonna happen so lets stop fooling ourselves.

The best thing for us is to do business with the government of Russia instead. They can provide everything that private UK companies can for a much cheaper price and better quality.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 13th, 2014, 12:22 pm

Article from 2012? Good job!

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » August 13th, 2014, 2:02 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Article from 2012? Good job!

hahahahaha

Postby UML » August 13th, 2014, 2:08 pm

Clyde shipyard bosses win £130m compensation battle

:?

Postby Country_Bookie » August 13th, 2014, 2:13 pm

gaylex hadda be a special kinda cnut to be reposting articles from 2012.

HSA

Postby HSA » August 14th, 2014, 8:11 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Article from 2012? Good job!

Thinkin its a troll..but then again..some fellas these days.... :shock:

VII

Postby VII » August 14th, 2014, 9:14 am

Wasn't the AG boasting that they got back 'our' money for the 'useless' vessels, in arbitration with BAE etc...ting ting ting?

Article may be old,but first time I'm hearing about this development,don't know if I missed it previously.

Can someone kindly clear that up for me??

Regards.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » August 14th, 2014, 1:34 pm

^^ my sentiments precisely, if it is that BAE has won then the Gov't has to pay the suit for the said "useless" vehicles not so?
So in effect taxpayers are paying the price of the vehicles without any tangible asset or use of it?
Best we did buy it instead, at least somebody would've gotten a few joyrides instead of having nothing to show for TTD$1.3Billion

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 14th, 2014, 1:39 pm

allyuh really believe dat story?

W2J

Postby W2J » August 14th, 2014, 1:40 pm

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/bae-ships-contract-107384n.19429991

BAE ships contract
The Evening Times yesterday reported that shipbuilder BAE Systems had won a £130million compensation battle with the Trinidad and Tobago Government after the Caribbean Republic had cancelled an order for three offshore patrol vessels.

We published the article after a spokeswoman for the defence contractor claimed it was to receive the cash payment.

However, BAE has in fact agreed to compensate the republic, which had cancelled the £150m order, after it claimed the delivery dates for all three ships were delayed and the combat system on two of them had failed during sea trials.

BAE Systems today declined to comment further on the result of the negotiations other than to confirm a "settlement" had been reached with the Trinidad and Tobago Government.

We are happy to clarify this here.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » August 14th, 2014, 1:49 pm

^^^ Hahaha seems it's not only the newsday and express does get things wrong

VII

Postby VII » August 14th, 2014, 1:55 pm

Thanks. 8-) Phew,great old news! :D

civicman

Postby civicman » August 15th, 2014, 2:36 am

weh the OP?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 15th, 2014, 7:41 am

But it would have been nice to know what the settlement was

kaylex

Postby kaylex » August 17th, 2014, 6:24 am

AG condemns compensation story
...Accuses the PNM of making mischief

Story Created: Aug 16, 2014 at 9:29 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 16, 2014 at 9:29 PM ECT
Attorney General Anand Ramlogan said yesterday he wanted to “categorically condemn and refute” an article entitled “Clyde shipyard bosses win £130m compensation battle” which he said had “gone viral on social media on certain sites associated with and supportive of the Opposition”.

“This is political mischief of the highest order. It seeks to revive an old article that was published in the Evening Times newspaper on 15 November 2012, at a time when Opposition Leader Keith Rowley was publicly announcing that the Government had lost the OPV arbitration and was ordered to pay British Aerospace Engineering (BAE) hundreds of millions of dollars.

“The article in the Evening Times newspaper confirmed the erroneous statements that were being made by Dr Rowley here in Trinidad.”

The Evening Times is published in Scotland and reports on shipbuilders like BAE which operate on the banks of the Clyde River.

Ramlogan said: “This erroneous article was quickly withdrawn after I threatened to sue the newspaper on behalf of the Government. A retraction was in fact published the following day by the Evening Times newspaper on the 16 November 2012. The correction can be seen by clicking on the following link:

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/bae- ... n.19429991

“Much to the surprise, disappointment and chagrin of the Opposition, the Government emerged victorious in the OPV arbitration with BAE agreeing to pay the sum of 1.4 billion TT dollars to the State. This settlement was arrived at after I testified and was cross-examined over a two-day period in the arbitration in London.”

He added: “It should be noted that the settlement came after both sides had presented their evidence and arguments and judgment reserved by the arbitrators. This is an important clarification as it being touted that the matter was settled without any hearing before the arbitration tribunal.”

Ramlogan said: “This misleading article has suddenly resurfaced on various PNM social media sites and is being forwarded to media personnel as part of a wider campaign design to discredit me.

“It is a blatant lie and should be consigned to the legal scrapyard alongside the numerous other falsehoods that have been perpetuated against me.

“These include racists statement made at the New York Mission (which I never visited), that I abused my position to seek personal banking information of private citizens from the FIU, that I have given 51 per cent of State briefs to my former law firm and the outrageous emailgate and prisongate scandals

kaylex

Postby kaylex » August 17th, 2014, 6:27 am

Country_Bookie wrote:gaylex hadda be a special kinda cnut to be reposting articles from 2012.

''
Hey muffler bearing... as you would see above in the repsonse by the AG the article was being circulated recently.. regardless of the date... Additionally, the second comment suggests.. I didnt know what to believe....

The AG cleared it up now...

The question now is.... did I repost it or did it surface on the net>>> I just put same here cause i was wondering what was the isssue here ... why now>>>

:fist:

Postby UML » August 17th, 2014, 7:39 am

nismoid wrote:^^ my sentiments precisely, if it is that BAE has won then the Gov't has to pay the suit for the said "useless" vehicles not so?
So in effect taxpayers are paying the price of the vehicles without any tangible asset or use of it?
Best we did buy it instead, at least somebody would've gotten a few joyrides instead of having nothing to show for TTD$1.3Billion

nismoid wrote: ^^^ Hahaha seems it's not only the newsday, express and me does get things wrong

Fixed
8-)

No shame!!! :shock:

Seems like u will never get anything right!!

EPIC BACKPEDAL :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby UML » August 17th, 2014, 7:51 am

kaylex wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:gaylex hadda be a special kinda cnut to be reposting articles from 2012.

''
Hey muffler bearing... as you would see above in the repsonse by the AG the article was being circulated recently.. regardless of the date... Additionally, the second comment suggests.. I didnt know what to believe....

The question now is.... did I repost it or did it surface on the net>>> I just put same here cause i was wondering what was the isssue here ... why now>>>

The better question is do you question or believe all the garbage that the pnm spews?

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 17th, 2014, 7:59 am

I feel op is fari next account.

jusme

Postby jusme » August 17th, 2014, 8:20 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:I feel op is fari next account.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » August 17th, 2014, 12:35 pm

UML wrote:
kaylex wrote:

''

The better question is do you question or believe all the garbage that the pnm spews?

Dont worry what i believe.... As far as i see its from a foreign newspapers.. dont know what that has to do with pnm...

Postby desifemlove » August 17th, 2014, 2:07 pm

Ok...so 1.3$ TTD gone....lol......money could have been spent on fixing schools, roads, etc.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 17th, 2014, 3:40 pm

desifemlove wrote:Ok...so 1.3$ TTD gone....lol......money could have been spent on fixing schools, roads, etc.

are you stupid?

didnt u see the retraction?

Postby pete » August 17th, 2014, 4:07 pm

Haven't you seen the majority of his posts?

Postby desifemlove » August 17th, 2014, 4:58 pm

i misread, i ent care lol.