Looking for PVC Design Ideas/Installers

rage666

Looking for PVC Design Ideas/Installers

Postby rage666 » August 5th, 2014, 8:14 am

Hi Guys I need your help..
I have a house with 3rooms(12*12) [Tv room,dinning room,kitchen]as seen in the attached picture.There are no walls separating the rooms.
I would like to do pvc ceiling for these rooms ,but was wondering what design should i put?
    What are some ideas you all can recommend?
    Can you recommend a good installer to?
11.png
11.png (1.59 KiB) Viewed 4055 times

Halfbreed07

Re: Looking for PVC Design Ideas/Installers

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 5th, 2014, 8:52 am

PVC is flamable and spreads fire quickly eh
think about that

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2014, 9:36 am

that's not true.

try lighting a piece of pvc panel on fire.

let me know how it works out

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 5th, 2014, 9:56 am

ok but they will burn when exposed to house fire type scenarios and then stop when the flame goes away. They can would also melt and drip all over other combustible objects, spreading fire and burn anyone who is in the building.

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2014, 10:03 am

what ceiling product WON'T burn when exposed to flame? :S

if you in a room or house long enough that the PVC ceiling have time to catch fire and melt/drip, you must be already dead.

as i said, try lighting a piece of PVC ceiling on fire,let me know how long it takes

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » August 5th, 2014, 10:37 am

PVC is great, extremely light weight, easy to install and is budget friendly. The only issue I had was the insurance company giving trouble to insure as HB said wrt to fires. I think gypsum has a longer fire rating than PVC, you can probaly look in that OP

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2014, 10:49 am

some insurance companies refuse to insure pvc, some refuse to insure gypsum

take into consideration that many many schools and government offices all have PVC ceiling

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 5th, 2014, 10:55 am

double post edit
Last edited by Halfbreed07 on August 5th, 2014, 10:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 5th, 2014, 10:56 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:some insurance companies refuse to insure pvc, some refuse to insure gypsum

take into consideration that many many schools and government offices are all designed and built by chinee contractor

We can agree there are pros and cons for both, but gypsum wont 'spread' fire, I also belive it has better insulating properties, and does not have static cling issues like PVC that will attact dust to itself. Gypsum is also better for the environment. Personally I think PVC just looks cheap.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 5th, 2014, 10:56 am

Also note that not all PVC ceilings are the same. There are some of the more expensive one that would perform better in a fire than the cheaper ones.

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » August 6th, 2014, 12:07 am

Subscribed. Looking to use this on some government projects. Post up pics of designs, etc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2014, 12:41 am

I have yet to see a good looking PVC ceiling

orangefox

Postby orangefox » August 6th, 2014, 3:16 am

^ check Rituals the PVC wood look-a-like cool !

orangefox

Postby orangefox » August 6th, 2014, 3:30 am

^ check Rituals the PVC wood look-a-like cool !

Postby j.o.e » August 6th, 2014, 4:45 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I have yet to see a good looking PVC ceiling

this...everyone's taste is different...I personally find it looks cheap and tacky. I suspect 20 yrs from now we'll hate on PVC ceilings the same way we hate on terrazo floors which was all the rage in the 80's I guess.
But I know some ppl love their PVC so don't kill me

Postby Slartibartfast » August 6th, 2014, 9:58 am

Wam to terazzo floors hoss :( I find it looks better than most tiled floors

Just throw a lil soap and water on the ground and you have an instant slip and slide. And when you fall and buss your head, all you hadda do is hose down the garage (cuz the soap already there). Easy to clean

Postby K74T » August 6th, 2014, 11:05 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Wam to terazzo floors hoss :( I find it looks better than most tiled floors

Lol hell no

Postby Country_Bookie » August 6th, 2014, 11:36 am

Now this is what I call a ceiling:

Postby Slartibartfast » August 6th, 2014, 12:09 pm

That's a bess tiling job to.

I only said terazzo was better because I have hardly ever seen a bad terazzo job but I have seen lots of horrible tiling ones. I know that's more to do with the workers than the tiles tho.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2014, 1:11 pm

orangefox wrote:^ check Rituals the PVC wood look-a-like cool !
post a pic

which rituals?

R!CH!E

Postby R!CH!E » August 6th, 2014, 1:15 pm

since nobody ent give you an installer, try Rendell 3190352 he does gysum too.

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » August 7th, 2014, 12:05 pm

rituals doesn't use PVC