Led Lighting

bluesclues

Led Lighting

Postby bluesclues » July 9th, 2014, 11:46 am

just upgraded to led lighting and the bulbs said dimmable so i was hoping it will come with it's own dimmer switch. which turned out not to be the case. what is the best price for dimmer switches on average in trinidad? if anyone knows offhand. studying to just order them online if what selling down here is crap or overpriced.

Re: Led Lighting

Postby Team Loco » July 10th, 2014, 8:17 am

Next time you going led and dont want trouble, call target solutions

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » July 10th, 2014, 8:29 am

If its a solid color i have a switch here... If its multi color with remote and box then i cant help you....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 10th, 2014, 10:05 am

the bulbs are all perfect. i just want dimmer switches. not that they too bright but just i dont need them to be maximum bright all thru the house at all times. is a power consumption reduction thing lol.

got regular 7watt replacements for 60watt for indoor and outdoor. there is like no difference or downside to choosing the right led bulbs.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 10th, 2014, 10:27 am

Where you get the LED bulb from?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2014, 11:06 am

You can get a dimmer switch at most electrical supply stores

Try CE Tang Yuk, Modern Electrical,

http://cetangyuk.com/

http://www.modernelectricaltt.com/

or just try the nearest Electrical place to where you are.

Hardwares like Bhagwansinghs etc also have dimmer switches.

Not sure why you thought a bulb would come with a switch though :|

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 10th, 2014, 11:09 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You can get a dimmer switch at most electrical supply stores

Try CE Tang Yuk, Modern Electrical,

http://cetangyuk.com/

http://www.modernelectricaltt.com/

or just try the nearest Electrical place to where you are.

Hardwares like Bhagwansinghs etc also have dimmer switches.

Not sure why you thought a bulb would come with a switch though :|

Was thinking the same thing..

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 11th, 2014, 6:09 am

the places i call didnt have. i just wanted to know if anyone knew the prices offhand. i dunno why allyuh so.. but carry on yes.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 11th, 2014, 7:51 pm

Since this is a "LED Lighting Ched"...

Can anyone tell me where is the best place to buy LED Bulbs (screw type)?
And how about those in Pricesmart? Anyone bought those before and could give an opinion?

Thanks!

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » July 12th, 2014, 7:40 am

You didnt answer my question... If the bulbs are multi colored or 1 solid color....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 12th, 2014, 8:04 am

a couple are multicoloured but dont hutt ur head. ordering sliders online. led lighting look like it barely reach trinidad. the options real lame. these the types i got. the phillips is for outdoor. highly recommend them if anyone want to make the switch to led.

regular filament bulb in the middle for size comparison.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 12th, 2014, 8:50 am

there is literally no difference except that the 60watt replacements are mildly brighter than 60watt filament bulbs. im expecting something like more than 60% drop in electric bill downgrading from 60/100watts to all 7watt bulbs. make sure to pay attention to the lighting type when buying.. natural, daylight, warm/soft white etc to get ur preferred lighting type.

edit: how much was for them in lowes? trinidad?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 12th, 2014, 9:51 am

bluesclues wrote:there is literally no difference except that the 60watt replacements are mildly brighter than 60watt filament bulbs. im expecting something like more than 60% drop in electric bill downgrading from 60/100watts to all 7watt bulbs. make sure to pay attention to the lighting type when buying.. natural, daylight, warm/soft white etc to get ur preferred lighting type.

Where are the
lED bulbs available in trinidad?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 12th, 2014, 10:20 am

PariaMan wrote:
bluesclues wrote:there is literally no difference except that the 60watt replacements are mildly brighter than 60watt filament bulbs. im expecting something like more than 60% drop in electric bill downgrading from 60/100watts to all 7watt bulbs. make sure to pay attention to the lighting type when buying.. natural, daylight, warm/soft white etc to get ur preferred lighting type.

Where are the
lED bulbs available in trinidad?

dont know, made my order thru amazon. worked out around $70-80ttd per bulb depending on the specs/brand but not having to change bulbs for 10 years and reduction in electricity bill... priceless lol

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 12th, 2014, 12:05 pm

bought some of these on Amazon

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 12th, 2014, 12:09 pm

Swisha wrote:bought some of these on Amazon

almost got those as well. let me know how u find they lighting. they look pretty cool.

Postby M_2NR » July 12th, 2014, 8:39 pm

any reason you chose the slim vs this one below?

Silvafoxx

Postby Silvafoxx » July 12th, 2014, 9:11 pm

I got some CREE from amazon. 100w Replacement (Daylight).. Perfect replacement. Bad - the base won't fit in the external outdoor socket (Metal Weather type). I Will try the philips next, its cheaper.

Silvafoxx

Postby Silvafoxx » July 12th, 2014, 10:04 pm

I got some CREE from amazon. 100w Replacement (Daylight).. Perfect replacement. Bad - the base won't fit in the external outdoor socket (Metal Weather type). I Will try the philips next, its cheaper.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 12th, 2014, 10:04 pm

u have to make sure and get a19/e27 base bulb for household socket.

Silvafoxx

Postby Silvafoxx » July 12th, 2014, 10:21 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 12th, 2014, 10:24 pm

@M_2NR, bought them for some ceiling dome lights so jus went with the slim type to avoid any problems with the dome cover going back on...

Postby M_2NR » July 12th, 2014, 10:36 pm

Swisha wrote:@M_2NR, bought them for some ceiling dome lights so jus went with the slim type to avoid any problems with the dome cover going back on...

Ohhhhhhhoooo. Hope it eh too sealed up though. I'm seeing those eh for enclosed applications.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » July 13th, 2014, 5:08 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Swisha wrote:bought some of these on Amazon

almost got those as well. let me know how u find they lighting. they look pretty cool.

i have these as well....they're great

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2014, 11:58 am

JF.K wrote:Since this is a "LED Lighting Ched"...

And how about those in Pricesmart? Anyone bought those before and could give an opinion?

Thanks!

I bought the ones from price smart and the first one installed stop working in like two days. I guess it was defective.
Light is nice and dim but too white, I'm not fond of it.

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2014, 12:07 pm

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 13th, 2014, 12:16 pm

JF.K wrote:Since this is a "LED Lighting Ched"...

Thanks!

I bought the ones from price smart and the first one installed stop working in like two days. I guess it was defective.
Light is nice and dim but too white, I'm not fond of it.

how much for those in pricesmart?

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2014, 12:20 pm

Really really can't remember how much I paid.

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2014, 1:37 pm

Phillips have some nice ones now with changeable colours you can control from an ipad
so you can set up different themes

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 13th, 2014, 4:35 pm