Is it possible to import a car older than 6 years old

Eaton Guo

Is it possible to import a car older than 6 years old

Postby Eaton Guo » May 27th, 2014, 4:47 pm

I have been told you have to import the car as parts but you wont be able to register it.Has anyone done this and knows the proper process.Been looking to import a old version beetle.

Any info on the procedure would be well appreciated

Re: Is it possible to import a car older than 6 years old

Postby 1UZFE » May 27th, 2014, 5:30 pm

call ian..

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » May 27th, 2014, 5:49 pm

I think the car can be brought in but they cut it in half at the port. Yeah...

Nissian for life

Postby Nissian for life » May 27th, 2014, 5:53 pm

Honestly i think thats a bs law only implemented because of greedy import dealers

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » May 27th, 2014, 6:08 pm

To me you could import a car older than 6 years but you cant register it
So u hadda buy a rights if u want to

killercow

Postby killercow » May 27th, 2014, 6:10 pm

Nissian for life wrote:Honestly i think thats a bs law only implemented because of greedy import dealers

Could u imagine how much skyline, supra, 240SX etc. wudda be on d road if da law didn't exist?
More big engine car with young boy wanna be drivers = more road fatalities.
It does have an upside I guess :|

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 27th, 2014, 6:14 pm

Easiest thing to do is bring in the beetle, locate an old one down here and swap the plates and chassis number.

It illegal but it's Trinidad

Eaton Guo

Postby Eaton Guo » May 27th, 2014, 6:28 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Easiest thing to do is bring in the beetle, locate an old one down here and swap the plates and chassis number.

It illegal but it's Trinidad

yea i feel this is the best route to go.

They should at least implement a special law for this with some extra fee at least.
Thanks for the info fellas

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 27th, 2014, 6:30 pm

Nah the government down here dumb...they not gonna do squat.

NZ has the best import/licensing laws

Postby Ted_v2 » May 27th, 2014, 6:40 pm

That's why Trinidad has all those Gaza speed sr20det box Lancer and 120y.
Because people can't get access to any decent old cars and due to this causes the price on certain cars to sky rocket

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 27th, 2014, 6:44 pm

Men calling 20k fuh box lancer and 120y now

Dis country backwards yes

Postby Ted_v2 » May 27th, 2014, 6:59 pm

Dai what I saying. I bonx up one this morning on a wuk in a alignment shop. Rb20with a big turbo. S13 back end. Stock front brakes. Decent body but total rotted floor. Man bawl thirty.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 27th, 2014, 7:04 pm

Trinis does feel that no matter what the car is, they could always get back some of if not all of what they spent in mods on it.

At the end of the day its still a 120y or a box lancer.

It have a Miss. Man on trinicars who selling a RB 280ZX for 50k as well :|

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » May 27th, 2014, 7:38 pm

saw the 280zx, a black with a horrid rear wing, honestly, I was going to do the same, import a 240sx and register it, as a close relative of mine imported a Rx7 3rg Gen and got it registered under PC....... series I am yet to find out how it was done but if they could drive it legally and without any problems from authorities, it should apply for my 240sx as well

hopefully......

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 27th, 2014, 8:20 pm

Check seenaths in the bamboo, they brought in a old beetle some time ago

killercow

Postby killercow » May 27th, 2014, 8:40 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:saw the 280zx, a black with a horrid rear wing, honestly, I was going to do the same, import a 240sx and register it, as a close relative of mine imported a Rx7 3rg Gen and got it registered under PC....... series I am yet to find out how it was done but if they could drive it legally and without any problems from authorities, it should apply for my 240sx as well

hopefully......

Where u getting a decent 240SX from?
Moreover, where did they get theirs from?
To register that they would have had to know someone for sure.
IMO though a 240SX with a PC* series plate would definitely raise some red flags on the road.

Postby 88sins » May 27th, 2014, 8:41 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Dis country backwards yes

yuh say dat like yuh was expectin sumting different

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » May 27th, 2014, 8:48 pm

@Killercow well bro I'm hopefully looking to import it from the same place my relative has, I believe the Rx7 was imported from a website that hosts cars for sale from the United Kingdom.

I would also like to import it from said website! I've seen a 180SX on that website for $1500usd approximately $9000tt plus the fees to import....... was thinking about it.

also the relative most definitely has friends in licensing office, I'm sure of it, so I could probably ask him whether he could help me out the next time I see him, however the PC* plates on the 240sx would be just as suspicious as the ones on the Rx7, but it's not being flagged by authorities so I might take a chance...

might even import a rx7 2nd Gen myself, or a Datsun 280zx

rane

Postby rane » May 27th, 2014, 8:56 pm

If you know a good foreign use car dealer or person who does bring parts dey could bring it in for u.
It have plenty men running b14 shell 180sx skyline etc. How u feel it running on the road level bribe in license office.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » May 27th, 2014, 9:19 pm

Honestly I would do it! if I get the opportunity and I have someone reliable to have my imported car licensed, I would do it!!

if the opportunity arises

Postby Ted_v2 » May 27th, 2014, 9:21 pm

True.
Link a b13 plates and 8k bribe money to register any s13 chassis.

2500 to transfer any vehicle to anybody.
3500 for driving permit.

Things nice yes.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 27th, 2014, 9:53 pm

I just want a 240Z

Bad bad...i've always wanted one...the racket is small ting

S13 galore
http://www.tradecarview.com/used_car/japan%20car/nissan/all/

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » May 27th, 2014, 10:08 pm

240z are very hard to find and very expensive also, because of its rarity and because it's a collectors car, I've given up on trying to get one myself, that's why I settled for the 280zx, since it's fairly similar and can be brought to the same old school JDM look

and I gunna check those cars out one time maybe I'll get lucky and find a good one to import

Postby javishm » May 27th, 2014, 11:52 pm

for show or to drive around with?

Postby pete » May 28th, 2014, 1:42 am

The new amendments to the mvrta had an allowance for vintage cars over 30 years to be able to be imported. There may be a chance in the future.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 28th, 2014, 7:51 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Men calling 20k fuh box lancer and 120y now

Dis country backwards yes

Imagine how incredibly STUPID the person who paid that would be...............

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » May 28th, 2014, 8:00 am

anyone ever went to licence office and spoke to the chief officer to clarify
if a vehicle can be licenced after a certain age?
well i know someone who had it done legally
and yes it can be done...

Postby pete » May 28th, 2014, 8:47 am

If it's in the country then it's possible. If not then you're not even going to get past customs.

https://www.ttbizlink.gov.tt/trade/tnt/ ... HD-TLU.pdf

Postby turbosingh » May 28th, 2014, 9:31 am

Maraj Tyre shop South Oropuche does bring beetles on order.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » May 28th, 2014, 11:54 am

Returning resident