S.E.A. Student Commits sucicide

Postby haseib786 » May 8th, 2014, 10:34 am

WTf......sad.............. :shock: :shock: :shock:

SEA pupil commits suicide
...TTUTA - this examination is cruel and inhumane
By Alexander Bruzual and Sue-Ann Wayow

Story Created: May 8, 2014 at 9:50 AM ECT

Story Updated: May 8, 2014 at 10:08 AM ECT
A boy who was due to write the Secondary Entrance Assessment examination today, committed suicide in his backyard yesterday.

Devindra Boodoo, 13, of Sadhoo Trace, Aranguez, founding hanging at around 4.30 p.m. Devindra was a pupil of the El Socorro Hindu Primary School.

His body was found by his grandfather who realised the boy had gone missing from the home and went in search of him.

The SEA is considered one of the most distressing time in the life of a child, and many have called for it to be abolished it is current form.

The Education Minister's communication's manger Alicia Busby told the Express that the Ministry learnt of the child's death last evening, and that members of the Student Support Service went to the El Socorro Primary Hindu School at 7a.m. today to counsel teachers and pupils. The SEA examination for the pupils began at 9a.m. and will be completed at around noon.

President of the Parent/Teachers Association Zena Ramatali said she had not heard of the child's death but that "the child must have been under tremendous pressure.

And TTUTA's First Vice President Devanand Sinanan said that the SEA should be replaced with another form of assessment. Sinanan said it was cruel and inhumane to ask 12 and 13-year olds to sit for a three hour examination.

Sinanan said TTUTA was saddened by news of the death.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/SEA ... 59281.html

Re: S.E.A. Student Commits sucicide

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 8th, 2014, 10:38 am

Correlation does not imply causation. Half of that article is stupid, unless the child left a note saying SEA made him do it.

Were there any other significant emotional events in the child's life which may have caused this?

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » May 8th, 2014, 10:42 am

kid did himself a favor.....life would have kicked his arse

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 8th, 2014, 10:43 am

This is really terrible,
worked in a school for some time and saw
first hand the pressure and stress
these students have to endure but this is on another level! R.I.P
Last edited by KM_2NR on May 8th, 2014, 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 8th, 2014, 10:51 am

standardized testing FTL

Advent

Postby Advent » May 8th, 2014, 10:57 am

:( this is sad

Postby desifemlove » May 8th, 2014, 11:12 am

wow...

Must say I hate exams, even as an adult too much pressure....

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 8th, 2014, 11:14 am

Exams only hard if u not prepared,
Must......blame.......oneself

Postby Les Bain » May 8th, 2014, 11:15 am

Still sad, whatever the motivation was.

beetee

Postby beetee » May 8th, 2014, 11:19 am

Postby Dizzy28 » May 8th, 2014, 11:24 am

13 and now writing SEA??

Postby nemisis » May 8th, 2014, 11:33 am

Dizzy28 wrote:13 and now writing SEA??
probably just turned or started late ...it happens.

As for all the stress related to the exam it's not the test it's the parents. They spell a story of doom if you don't do well at sea and get a prestige school. Many individuals did badly at sea and excel in life regardless

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2014, 12:17 pm

nemisis wrote: Many individuals did badly at sea and excel in life regardless

and vice versa

Postby pioneer » May 8th, 2014, 12:21 pm

Clearly wasn't fit for survival.

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » May 8th, 2014, 12:31 pm

Some parents does put too much pressure on their kids for this SEA ting.

Postby Redman » May 8th, 2014, 12:32 pm

I couldnt deal with my son doing that.....
Parents need to ensure that context and perspective are part of their childs education,

XYZ is important but it isnt the whole picture
we angry with you now...but it isnt the whole picture.

Its a tough needle to thread.

RIP young man

Postby Trini Hookah » May 8th, 2014, 1:47 pm

kM_89 wrote:Image
This is really terrible,

Blame the parents, all that pressure to say "My son/daughter going XYZ"

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 8th, 2014, 1:53 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Blame the parents, all that pressure to say "My son/daughter going XYZ"

This!

Postby nemisis » May 8th, 2014, 1:57 pm

But getting in xyz not hard a little bribe and attending affiliated church,temple,mosque .........

Postby nemisis » May 8th, 2014, 1:58 pm

In our day you had to do well not again

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 8th, 2014, 2:03 pm

I kno fellas working for 45k a month legally that went Jr sec normal.
Its how you apply yourself after you leave school sometimes.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 8th, 2014, 2:44 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
kM_89 wrote:Image
This is really terrible,

Blame the parents, all that pressure to say "My son/daughter going XYZ"

Yepp but some teachers can be particularly aggressive. I know people who literally get nightmares from std 5 teachers

Daran

Postby Daran » May 8th, 2014, 2:57 pm

SEA was probably the trigger that caused him to take his life, but something else must have underlyingly wrong for him (mental issues, abuse etc) to go through with it.

Postby Country_Bookie » May 8th, 2014, 3:26 pm

I does cringe when I hear about these kids who from standard 4 have lessons 5 days a week after school, then all day on saturday too. When do they get time to enjoy life and be a kid?
Why is it the school teachers can't finish the curriculum within the normal school hours? Is it that it is just unrealistic to finish within that timeframe or are the teachers just bad at planning and time management?

hondablood

Postby hondablood » May 8th, 2014, 4:16 pm

when i was that age my biggest worry was my first pubic hair and peeing from the 2nd floor to make it froth

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » May 8th, 2014, 4:27 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:I does cringe when I hear about these kids who from standard 4 have lessons 5 days a week after school, then all day on saturday too. When do they get time to enjoy life and be a kid?
Why is it the school teachers can't finish the curriculum within the normal school hours? Is it that it is just unrealistic to finish within that timeframe or are the teachers just bad at planning and time management?

Those said teachers give private lessons. ..money haffi make.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 8th, 2014, 4:28 pm

LOL @ cruel and inhumane to ask 12/13 yr old to sit for a 3 hr exam.So because one of them committed suicide supposedly over SEA,we have to look at a new form of testing them?What about all the others who sat the exam and passed/failed and moved on with their lives:-?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » May 8th, 2014, 5:14 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:I kno fellas working for 45k a month legally that went Jr sec normal.
Its how you apply yourself after you leave school sometimes.

THIS..
BBQ men, Doubles men, roti men, masons, auto-mechanics, make more than that... any well establish business would ...

Postby S_2NR » May 8th, 2014, 5:22 pm

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » May 8th, 2014, 5:29 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:LOL @ cruel and inhumane to ask 12/13 yr old to sit for a 3 hr exam.So because one of them committed suicide supposedly over SEA,we have to look at a new form of testing them?What about all the others who sat the exam and passed/failed and moved on with their lives:-?

Ent. These younguns soft yes. Some parents over do it with pressuring their kids but nothing is wrong with the exam. If your child dotish, so be it.