Trinidads first true tunnel road to be a TOLL?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Trinidads first true tunnel road to be a TOLL?

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 29th, 2014, 7:45 am

So rumours abound that this new toll road under development in Trinidad will be a Tunnel.
Starting somewhere in East Trinidad around barataria, and coming out somewhere around the savannah, St Anns/ maraval vicinity.

Woohoo- yes ill pay to use that!

troublemaker

Re: Trinidads first true tunnel road to be a TOLL?

Postby troublemaker » April 29th, 2014, 8:05 am

Op u serious? Barataria is east nw? Or u meant east of the lighthouse :/

GRIM

Postby GRIM » April 29th, 2014, 8:08 am

Both me and you will be dead long before anything like that is built in trinidad..

Postby j.o.e » April 29th, 2014, 8:11 am

Save your toll money in an account and leave it there for your grandchildren to use

Daran

Postby Daran » April 29th, 2014, 8:14 am

Rumours are indeed true. This will be part of the "election" budget.

However there will be an exit point somewhere near the stadium as well. Toll is expected to start at $5TT.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 29th, 2014, 8:27 am

Can't they develop a mass rapid transit first and alleviate the problems for the non driving traveling public.

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 29th, 2014, 8:32 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Can't they develop a mass rapid transit first and alleviate the problems for the non driving traveling public.

They will do that when the whole of Trinidad becomes a road.

Sometimes I really wonder where these people went to school

Postby j.o.e » April 29th, 2014, 8:41 am

While I agree Trinidad needs more alternate routes...this makes no sense. If I had to build any new roads/highways...build one bussing thru Caroni swamp environs and following the shoreline straight into POS. Mind you mine is just an idea with no proper planning etc......but so is theirs.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 29th, 2014, 8:48 am

j.o.e wrote:While I agree Trinidad needs more alternate routes...this makes no sense. If I had to build any new roads/highways...build one bussing thru Caroni swamp environs and following the shoreline straight into POS. Mind you mine is just an idea with no proper planning etc......but so is theirs.

There are extensive engineering studies conducted on this since the 1980s. Some of the Civil Engineering men in here maybe have access to them. However if you think Kubs and them kicking a fuss bout building through the south wetlands imagine what will happen if you try to go through the Caroni swamp.

Postby j.o.e » April 29th, 2014, 8:57 am

^^^^ true about the environmental backlash....I'm just considering which plan puts a bigger dent in traffic and help in terms of evacuations etc

Postby ismithx » April 29th, 2014, 9:02 am

and just why do we need this tunnel now?

moti

Postby moti » April 29th, 2014, 9:11 am

Oh tunnel!

My carbs will sound awesome in that there tunnel.

Now back to the drawing board people, make one from Maracas to San Juan instead.

Postby janfar » April 29th, 2014, 9:12 am

Just decentralize POS so ppl don't have to go there for a stupid piece of paper...

jusme

Postby jusme » April 29th, 2014, 9:55 am

traffic above ground > traffic in tunnel

Postby desifemlove » April 29th, 2014, 9:58 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:So rumours abound that this new toll road under development in Trinidad will be a Tunnel.
Starting somewhere in East Trinidad around barataria, and coming out somewhere around the savannah, St Anns/ maraval vicinity.

Woohoo- yes ill pay to use that!

Why not? Depends on how much the toll. And Maracas beach NEED another access road. if there's a tsunami, as it stand now yuh have to run like firetruck and climb the mountain into Santa Cruz.

Postby desifemlove » April 29th, 2014, 10:00 am

Another ting, I ent no environmentalist, but i doh tink they should cut through the mountains. only ting wit tunnel is dat earthquakes. or evacuations if somebody get sick/ill in transit. UNC or even PNM need to figure all them things out.

Postby pete » April 29th, 2014, 10:07 am

Someone show them this video nah.

Postby mero » April 29th, 2014, 10:09 am

moti wrote:Oh tunnel!

Now back to the drawing board people, make one from Maracas to San Juan instead.

Can you imagine the immensity of fyazz that shall be geed inside that tunnel?

Postby desifemlove » April 29th, 2014, 10:11 am

Daran wrote:Rumours are indeed true. This will be part of the "election" budget.

However there will be an exit point somewhere near the stadium as well. Toll is expected to start at $5TT.

Kamla "buying" votes? haha..

moti

Postby moti » April 29th, 2014, 10:19 am

mero wrote:
moti wrote:Oh tunnel!

Can you imagine the immensity of fyazz that shall be geed inside that tunnel?

Of course, and I expect to see some random threads here about tunnel runs at 2 in the morning etc.

moti

Postby moti » April 29th, 2014, 10:20 am

What will be epic fail though is if they build a two lane tunnel :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » April 29th, 2014, 10:23 am

janfar wrote:Just decentralize POS so ppl don't have to go there for a stupid piece of paper...

goar fadda is all da sense u go make?

Postby desifemlove » April 29th, 2014, 10:33 am

I thought UNC wanted to move some ministries to Chaguanas? doh see why dat causing a stink, POS is the biggest piece ah sheit out...

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 29th, 2014, 10:48 am

desifemlove wrote:I thought UNC wanted to move some ministries to Chaguanas? doh see why dat causing a stink, POS is the biggest piece ah sheit out...

:lol: second only to Sanfernando Yup!

kual

Postby kual » April 29th, 2014, 10:54 am

Same way they wanted to build a tunnel through Tunapuna to Maracas Bay. Was any planning done for that or is it just Election gimmick.

Postby S_2NR » April 29th, 2014, 11:11 am

A tunnel to maracas would be awesome

Postby desifemlove » April 29th, 2014, 11:27 am

kual wrote:Same way they wanted to build a tunnel through Tunapuna to Maracas Bay. Was any planning done for that or is it just Election gimmick.

Does a bear sheit in the woods?

Racegod

Postby Racegod » April 29th, 2014, 1:22 pm

pete wrote:Someone show them this video nah.

we have a bus route... what's ur point?... Trinidad is a case of poor decisions and leadership, enhanced by political choices. Where the leadership just tries to hold on to power long enough to eat ah food for as long as they can...

Postby Dizzy28 » April 29th, 2014, 1:29 pm

Racegod wrote:
pete wrote:Someone show them this video nah.

we have a bus route... what's ur point?... Trinidad is a case of poor decisions and leadership, enhanced by political choices. Where the leadership just tries to hold on to power long enough to eat ah food for as long as they can...

Only by name is our bus route a "bus route". Private vehicles legal and illegal far outnumber buses.

Postby MG Man » April 29th, 2014, 1:30 pm