Customs and Excise Officer Entrance Exam

chrissy100

Re: Customs and Excise Officer Entrance Exam

Postby chrissy100 » May 17th, 2014, 11:26 am

Exam wasn't too bad. Multiple choice was a bit tricky.

Postby pioneer » May 17th, 2014, 11:46 am

Huh much people take the $5000 insurance as USD?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 17th, 2014, 11:52 am

pioneer wrote:Huh much people take the $5000 insurance as USD?

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: sucks to be them

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 17th, 2014, 12:12 pm

Well coming from me who just spent about a half day studying, and that is being generous, that was hard.
Pretty sure I would've pass it had they counted all 4 sections as one but it ent so and you need to pass all 4.
Section 2 was difficult as hell for me, sure I pass Maths and the comprehension bit easily and the multiple choice was iffy but should just make it.
Section 2 will be my downfall.
I missed the current affairs/world affairs bit, that would've been easy.
The 2000 past paper seemed to be much more easier than this one.

And one thing, talk bout people. I went Marabella North and probably 200 there alone.

Well at least I went and attempted it.

pioneer wrote:Huh much people take the $5000 insurance as USD?

Insurance was the last right figure right?
Freight and cost was in US or atleast I count them as US then turned them to TT.

Postby pioneer » May 17th, 2014, 1:04 pm

Yeah the $5,000 was TTD...no need to convert it

That was the trick that gonna make people fail the math, cuz they weren't looking for calculation but rather the final figure and it had to be correct...

Is real pain people had to pass ALL sections...it wasn't always so for other exams...

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 17th, 2014, 1:16 pm

Right so me good there should get full marks in the maths section.

Late yesterday evening a fellow Turner link me with a past paper and the math problem was structured the same in that first 2 figures in US dollar and the last in TT.
Did the past paper problem early this morning for practice so that helped me there.

Best thing is for the other airport me gone and put John Hopkins International Airport, them going to have a few laughs when they correcting my paper.

Postby pioneer » May 17th, 2014, 1:24 pm

Ah man put waterfront port

Postby pete » May 17th, 2014, 7:37 pm

Surely this is not pass and fail but they would be looking at who is in the top 1 or 2% of marks.

Postby pioneer » May 17th, 2014, 9:05 pm

I hear they got alot of complaints about people using calculator while some didn't (as instructed)...

Would not be surprise if they cancel the exam and schedule a resit.

Postby pete » May 17th, 2014, 9:56 pm

With asycuda I don't see why they even need to do the maths. They going to check back a worksheet before approving when central services can go and check back an entry from 7 years before to see if someone did a ratch?

jojo1903

Postby jojo1903 » May 18th, 2014, 10:39 am

does anyone know the answer for part (b) of the mathematics section.

css011

Postby css011 » May 18th, 2014, 2:52 pm

mitch1980 wrote:css011 how was your life changing exam?

still think this is "the best thing since slice bread"

Mitch, you reading between the lines now? When did I ever say that? I do remember saying you and I had nothing else to discuss in this thread. I see that statement still holds true. You have yourself a productive week sir.

On another note, to those of you that reached out, provided any sort of information and was willing to put time into helping others, myself included, Thank you! I did my best in there, objective achieved :D

css011

Postby css011 » May 18th, 2014, 3:02 pm

jojo1903 wrote:does anyone know the answer for part (b) of the mathematics section.

I could be wrong but I believe it was the ((cif*15%)*1.5). In other words VAT*1.5. At least that's how I interpreted that. Hope it went well for you.

jojo1903

Postby jojo1903 » May 18th, 2014, 3:33 pm

hi thanks for the info

Postby pioneer » May 18th, 2014, 5:58 pm

That question was meant for people already working customs, or are brokers/importers themselves.

I suspect 70% of people failed that exam thanks to the math which you HAD to pass...even if u get total in the other sections.

Ah well, better luck next time.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 18th, 2014, 6:17 pm

If anyone remembers the question can they post it of PM me it? (don't have to be the exact figures just)
Can't remember it now but was sure I fully understood it and did it correctly during the exam.

Postby pete » May 18th, 2014, 7:07 pm

Did you guys add VAT to MVT?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 18th, 2014, 7:37 pm

Wasn't a vehicle, was a piece of satellite equipment

Postby pioneer » May 18th, 2014, 7:41 pm

Broadcasting

ryanragbir

Postby ryanragbir » May 25th, 2014, 9:50 am

does anyone have any idea when results would be posted or a time frame to work with

Postby pioneer » May 25th, 2014, 11:02 am

Ent you had the paper before the exam?...you should be telling us

ryanragbir

Postby ryanragbir » May 27th, 2014, 7:38 pm

pioneer wrote:Ent you had the paper before the exam?...you should be telling us

when your really stupid and dotish is a next ting

Postby pioneer » May 27th, 2014, 8:38 pm

Stay safe bro.

Sinista123

Postby Sinista123 » July 21st, 2014, 7:56 am

when will the results for this be out?

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 21st, 2014, 9:02 am

ryanragbir wrote:
pioneer wrote:Ent you had the paper before the exam?...you should be telling us

when your really stupid and dotish is a next ting

No you are only stupid when you get the paper for the exam and struggle to pass

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2014, 6:34 pm

Dem done have dey people.

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2014, 9:28 pm

Shhhh

jsmart

Postby jsmart » July 27th, 2014, 8:44 pm

i want to know how long that exam was???

i need ah lil assistance...i have the exam in Aug
if anyone could help would be grateful....ques n answers, pastpapers anything....

Postby nervewrecker » July 27th, 2014, 9:46 pm

People still trying?

Postby pioneer » July 28th, 2014, 8:29 pm

Makeup exam?...just ask anyone working customs

They had the paper I hear