​Powdered Alcohol - just add water!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 21st, 2014, 9:37 pm

Apparently the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) approved powdered alcohol by mistake —all because of a labeling discrepancy.

The product still exists though.

"five different products, including Cosmopolitan, Mojito, and Lemon Drop flavors of the stuff. The specs: ~50 percent alcohol by weight and between 12 and 60 percent alcohol by volume depending on the label you consult. (According to the company's latest figures, 1/2 a cup of the stuff=1 drink).

It works exactly as you would expect: Just add water. Used as directed, alcohol powder is no big deal. It's just a portable mixture that's great for camping! At the time Palcohol was discovered, however, the stealthy company had a wildly provocative website, which in addition to suggesting you sneak booze dust into concerts and sprinkle it on your food, informed you of the benefits—er, dangers—of putting the powder up your nose.

The result is a little "Don't do all this cool, dangerous stuff.""

http://gizmodo.com/powdered-alcohol-3-i ... 1565706005

Re: ​Powdered Alcohol - just add water!

Postby maj. tom » April 21st, 2014, 10:10 pm

That's quite a remarkable chemical and engineering process on how they got the ethanol in powder form.

"According to Bompas, the ethanol is probably "micro-encapsulated" in some kind of molecular container, kind of like a teeny gelcap. Or a mountain of them. "The alcohol molecules themselves will still be liquid, they are just enrobed in a microscopic shell," he told us."

ralex

Postby ralex » April 21st, 2014, 10:53 pm

If snorted you can become high instantly. Saw a news segment on Foxs News about it..

Postby X2 » April 21st, 2014, 11:00 pm

Didn't bother to read... as given the very concept...

Many people will snort this and die.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 21st, 2014, 11:07 pm

Me likey. Excellent for monday morning coffee.

Postby K74T » April 21st, 2014, 11:28 pm

Snort all the Palcohol!!!!!

Postby skylinechild » April 22nd, 2014, 12:04 am

south tuners will be pleased...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 22nd, 2014, 12:12 am

so far there is no White Oak version

nismoid

Postby nismoid » April 22nd, 2014, 5:51 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:so far there is no White Oak version

I saw what you did there

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 22nd, 2014, 6:42 am

Is how men wasn't taking me seriously when I asked where to get concentrated water a while back. Mods even thought I was trolling and deleted my ched about it :|

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » April 22nd, 2014, 6:52 am

#NoWhiteOakNoCare

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 22nd, 2014, 7:11 am

Powdered puncheon: my dreams are coming true.

Postby dougla_boy » April 22nd, 2014, 8:15 am

my liver is ready

Postby K74T » April 22nd, 2014, 12:26 pm

Shut up and take all my money!!!

Postby nervewrecker » April 22nd, 2014, 12:30 pm

Ill be impressed when they start making powdered water.

Postby bluesteel29 » April 22nd, 2014, 12:35 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Ill be impressed when they start making powdered water.

its called air...jus add water

~JeDn@K~

Postby ~JeDn@K~ » April 22nd, 2014, 1:12 pm

Feds: Powdered Alcohol Approved in ‘Error’

The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau rescinded its April 8 'label approval' of controversial new product Palcohol

The federal government admitted Monday that its recent approval of Palcohol—a powdered alcohol which turns water into vodka and rum—was actually done in “error.”

The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau granted Palcohol “label approval” on April 8 only to withdraw it 13 days later. “TTB did approve labels for Palcohol,” it said in a statement. “Those label approvals were issued in error and have since been surrendered.”

Palcohol’s parent company Lipsmark said in a statement that “there seemed to be a discrepancy on our fill level, how much powder is in the bag” and that the approvals were surrendered on the afternoon of April 21. “This doesn’t mean that Palcohol isn’t approved,” it said. “It just means that these labels aren’t approved. We will re-submit labels.” Palcohol will have to resubmit labels for approval to the bureau, which is part of the Department of Treasury.

The government had originally approved various types of Palcohol—ranging from lemon drops to cosmopolitans. Various news outlets noted the approval of the product more than a week later, when it began covering the science and safety of the powdered drink.

And with good reason, as powdered alcohol has the potential to be a public health nightmare. Beyond the fact that it’s easy for underage drinkers to use discreetly, the potential for users to snort it is serious business. Snorting alcohol is dangerous because it’s quickly absorbed, and users get intoxicated immediately. People have already tried snorting liquid alcohol, and that can cause damage to nasal passages.

Palcohol’s marketing has not always taken this threat entirely seriously. According to blog SB Nation, Palcohol’s website originally stated:

"Let’s talk about the elephant in the room….snorting Palcohol. Yes, you can snort it. And you’ll get drunk almost instantly because the alcohol will be absorbed so quickly in your nose. Good idea? No. It will mess you up. Use Palcohol responsibly."

The site has since clarified, “There was a page visible on this site where we were experimenting with some humorous and edgy verbiage about Palcohol. It was not meant to be our final presentation of Palcohol.” The company was not immediately available for comment.

http://time.com/71664/powdered-alcohol-palcohol-error/

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 22nd, 2014, 5:09 pm

why they cyar make cocaine in different flavors then

Getting fed up of the same thing over and over

Postby javishm » April 22nd, 2014, 7:30 pm

When it have a white oak version I will try

Postby skylinechild » April 22nd, 2014, 10:00 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:so far there is no White Oak version

Always with the negative Nancy attitude.... :lol: :lol:

Postby supercharged turbo » April 22nd, 2014, 10:33 pm

No white oak,no care:(

Postby dougla_boy » April 23rd, 2014, 7:59 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:why they cyar make cocaine in different flavors then

Getting fed up of the same thing over and over

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 23rd, 2014, 6:02 pm

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 26th, 2014, 7:15 pm

where was this when I needed it....

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2014, 7:37 pm

Just now guntresses will be able to smuggle in rum to school on their necks.

Postby skylinechild » April 26th, 2014, 7:40 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Just now guntresses will be able to smuggle in rum to school on their necks.

WTF is wrong with you man...only you could take something as beautiful as powdered booze...and screw it up... :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2014, 7:48 pm

Screwing will take place alright....

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » May 14th, 2014, 12:44 am

who give a damn about the fed,just produce that powder here