Buying a used car....what to look for????

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 19th, 2014, 10:25 pm

What precautions can one take when buying a vehicle from another person.For instance you see a car on trinicarsforsale and you wish to purchase.

1: How does the buyer know the vehicle was not stolen?
2: What does the buyer look for?
3: Any particular ways in checking certified copy and the plate inside the engine room
4: What happens if the buyer gets the vehicle and it turns out to be stolen?
5: If vehicle is purchased what changes or modifications(alarm,gps,change ignition etc) are done/recommended?

please no negative comments.Feel free to leave any other info with respects to this subject.

9YDMS

Re: Buying a used car....what to look for????

Postby 9YDMS » March 19th, 2014, 10:36 pm

You can apply for a c/copy to verify ownership,engine#/chassis#....however best bet is to check with TTPS stolen vehicles division.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 19th, 2014, 11:10 pm

thanks for info thus far.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 20th, 2014, 12:01 am

After a visual inspection, I usually go for a stretch of highway and floor it to 120. This is sometimes frowned upon by current owners but mechanical problems requiring immediate attention show up within seconds and helps you with negotiation.

After the run, park and switch off the car and then start it back three times in succession for starter motor and battery test.

My $0.02

Postby *KRONIK* » March 20th, 2014, 5:44 am

Opie...
good advice also is to carry a padna who has one of/knows about those types of vehicles, so they can easily pin-point any expected issues or any inconsistencies you may not have noticed...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 20th, 2014, 6:13 am

ALWAYS WALK WITH A GOOD MECHANIC

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » March 20th, 2014, 6:21 am

Con men

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2014, 6:55 am

yup...carrying a mechanic for sure,got that part already.The only thing is,the car thief part nuh,yuh noe how them fellas is these days.I just trying to be safe

Postby turbosingh » March 20th, 2014, 8:09 am

First thing i check is the body because lots of men selling crashed an repaired vehicles

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2014, 8:31 am

true^

question 6

what happens if the vendor sells a vehicle that he is owing for?For instance he's owing the bank,what can happen to the new owner?

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » March 20th, 2014, 8:41 am

its important to do a search on the vehicle to see if it is stolen or has any mortgage out on it. Recently i was interested in a vehicle, got the necessary info and got a search done. Results came back that the car was mortgaged and the loan was 80K plus. The person claimed that it was paid off, but the search showed that the bank never issued the deed of release. So i didnt even bother to chance it. Pay the small $ and wait the extra day and get the search done

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2014, 9:08 am

what company you used to get the search done^ (financial aspect that is) and what was the cost to do so?Also what documents does the company ask for before doing the search?

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » March 20th, 2014, 9:47 am

i could find out for you, i usually ask a favor from someone who works with a law firm and they in turn utilize the search company's service. The usual cost to do is about $150 - $200 if i'm not mistaken. All they usually require is the vehicle's registration # and the owner's name. Any loans on the vehicle will be lodged in the registrar.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2014, 10:35 am

so you're saying any law firm would be able to do this^? well once you know someone that is?

Serot

Postby Serot » March 20th, 2014, 10:41 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What precautions can one take when buying a vehicle from another person.For instance you see a car on trinicarsforsale and you wish to purchase.

3: Any particular ways in checking certified copy and the plate inside the engine room
5: If vehicle is purchased what changes or modifications(alarm,gps,change ignition etc) are done/recommended?

please no negative comments.Feel free to leave any other info with respects to this subject.

1) Do a search as suggested.
2) Cracks/ inconsistencies in the body, rust spots, oil leaks/ buildup of oil due to leaks in the engine bay, etc. Mechanic should be well versed in this aspect.
3) As mentioned, check to see if the plate looks to have been tampered with.
4) Hard luck.
5) IMO replace current alarm system with a new and different system.

OP please get a proper receipt from the seller, inclusive of date, names if possible, amount paid (inclusive/ exclusive of transfer), whether vehicle was sold as is or if the seller agreed to fix/ replace any parts.

Hope this helps.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 20th, 2014, 10:46 am

Make sure the mechanic you carrying with you is not a friend of the seller....I heard of a situation like this already...ended up in a puncheon inflicted cutlass wound...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2014, 11:06 am

Serot wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What precautions can one take when buying a vehicle from another person.For instance you see a car on trinicarsforsale and you wish to purchase.

1) Do a search as suggested.
2) Cracks/ inconsistencies in the body, rust spots, oil leaks/ buildup of oil due to leaks in the engine bay, etc. Mechanic should be well versed in this aspect.
3) As mentioned, check to see if the plate looks to have been tampered with.
4) Hard luck.
5) IMO replace current alarm system with a new and different system.

OP please get a proper receipt from the seller, inclusive of date, names if possible, amount paid (inclusive/ exclusive of transfer), whether vehicle was sold as is or if the seller agreed to fix/ replace any parts.

Hope this helps.

vendor agreed to give copy of his D.P,I.D etc etc as well as the customary receipt.However I will be sure to ask for all you stated.

So I got around at doing a credit search,place is located in Maraval.Fee is $395 and you have to produce copy of insurance and certified copy.

@wickedbreed lol...ah safe with my mechanic.

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » June 30th, 2014, 8:17 pm

Question!!! When purchasing a vehicle from japan through a local Roro dealer, is there anyway to check that vehicles history in japan prior to its arrival to our shores? Their supposed to furnish me with the chassis number before I make a decision

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » June 30th, 2014, 8:23 pm

Body Work

Check for chips & cracks on headlights & fog lights
Check all lights are working
Check for rust around wheelarches & windscreen
Check amount of stone chips on bonnet, bumper & mirrors
Check under door & window rubbers for sign of respray
Check front and rear bumpers for cracks & scuffs
Check inner plastic wings are in place and undamaged
Check for chips & cracks on windscreen
Check panel gaps - doors, bonnet, wings and boot

Running Gear

Check tyre wear
Check tyre for uneven wear
Check tyre size
Check wheels for kerbing scuffs
Check front at back brake disc wear
Check for shock absorber oil leaks
Check springs - genuine or replacements
Check exhaust back box rear mountings
Check for gearbox oil leaks
Check for rear differential oil leaks
Check anti-roll bar tie rod arms - front and box
Check for damage and/or rust under the car

Engine

Check engine is cold
Check oil level
Check water level
Check brake fluid level
Check power steering fluid level
Check for oil & fluid leaks
Check boost solenoid hoses for oil
Check for oil in water - vice versa
Check over cleanliness of engine bay
Check for previous leaks on underside of bonnet etc.
Check chassis number plates have no signs of replacement
Check oil filter is genuine - judge of dirty (sign of age)

Listen very carefully for noises
- cams
- water pump
- injectors
- alternator
- bearings - with head under the car

Interior

Check for fag burns - seats and carpet
Check dash board for cracks
Check all switches
Check aircon operation
Check heater fan operation
Check handbrake operation - no more then 5 notches
Check rev counter works
Check gauges work
Check electric window operation
Check central locking operation
Check spare wheel and tool kit

Driving

Check for clutch judder
Check for trust bearing noise - put foot on clutch then off
Check gearbox isn't notchy - third to second
Check gear-lever for sloppiness
Check brake pedal travel
Check brake efficiency
Check steering wheel is level when driving straight
Check for steering wheel judder when braking
Check ABS operation if possible
Check for general noises - rattles etc.-
Check temperature gauge level
Check for grey smoke on over-run
Check all warning lights come on with ignition on (engine not running)
Check cornering at speed
Check CV joint noise on full lock at slow speed
Check for smoke at 3000 rpm - out of gear

Paperwork

Check log-book numbers against chassis plate
Check number of previous owners
Check service records - look at mileage intervals
Check all receipts - see if any indicate mileage - check dates
Check service mileage against receipt mileage - any date conflicts
Check date of cam belt replacement
Check date of clutch replacement
Check date of oil changes
Check date of engine change
Check MOT length and details
Check tax disc matches car details

killercow

Postby killercow » June 30th, 2014, 8:29 pm

Carry the car to a car wash. Buyer won't mind as
he/she is getting the vehicle washed for free + you
will save yourself some potential headache from any leaks.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2014, 8:29 pm

how do you check for a car badly aligned due to suspension damage apart from carrying to alignment place ?

Postby nervewrecker » June 30th, 2014, 8:39 pm

See how the body parts line up. make sure all the seams / gaps even right through. usually a sing of if the vehicle was in an accident and straightened back.

Check under rear fender / wheel well. neglected cars usually start to rotten there.

Check spare tyre compartment to see if it rusty so you will know if water got in the trunk regular and will cause it to rot in the near future.

Do a quick inspection underneath for rust spots.

listen to engine idle

Look at body and head light condition for comparison. You will be able to tell if it had a recent body work done.

Sluggish power windows, cracked dashboard, faded tint.

Examine engine bay for leaks.

Take it for a drive and dont be afraid to rough it up a bit. Feel for bouncy / rough ride (suspension work needed), shaking / trembling steering mean alignment issues / bad suspension / vehicle get in accident and havent been straightened back properly, feel for gears changing like they should.

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 30th, 2014, 9:07 pm

Purchasing a used car is always a risk..trust me i had my share of issues with low mileage used vehicles, ..

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 30th, 2014, 10:58 pm

dont forget to walk with a UV light to check for stains !

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 1st, 2014, 12:31 am

pugboy wrote:how do you check for a car badly aligned due to suspension damage apart from carrying to alignment place ?

While traveling in a straight line, lift your hands off the steering wheel. If the car starts to drift you know something amiss.

Have the seller give the car a good sustained rev and check the exhaust to see if there is any indication of the car burning oil. Or do it yourself and have a partner check.

In addition to a Highway run, going up a good hill in like in Sando or up Lady Chancellor nice and slowly at just enough revs that the car has to work a bit and see if the revs are steady.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 1st, 2014, 7:37 am

roach,good read there

also I see men carrying there mechanics and have a diagnostic done on the intended vehicle for purchase..Not a bad idea,spend ah $200 instead ah few thousands.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » July 1st, 2014, 7:52 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:roach,good read there

also I see men carrying there mechanics and have a diagnostic done on the intended vehicle for purchase..Not a bad idea,spend ah $200 instead ah few thousands.

Yep... Carry your mechanic and let him do all the steps i posted... Also you can carry a straightener to check the vehicle for previous accidents/chasis breaking etc....

bignog

Postby bignog » July 1st, 2014, 8:35 am

Ohh an if you buying a car from this site check the the fella posting history ......see if it's a first time poster or is a fella posting regular ........them is the flash over smart men tryin to palm off dey rubbish ........oh yea I said it

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 1st, 2014, 8:38 am

for those who didn't know,when transferring a vehicle,both parties must be present to sign also make sure the receipt date is within 7 days of transfer because you have to pay a late fee.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 1st, 2014, 11:13 am

matthewmazda wrote:dont forget to walk with a UV light to check for stains !

ting is if u really want to know that info ...... :lol: :lol: :lol: