wtk: Automation Technology College (ATC)

Apollo Trinidad

wtk: Automation Technology College (ATC)

Postby Apollo Trinidad » March 19th, 2014, 2:52 am

Inquiring on this school for my nephew, he's interested in the MEEET course. Any fellow tuners did this program with them and care to share any insights? Any info will be greatly appreciated! In addition, how recognized is their certification? Thanks
Last edited by Apollo Trinidad on March 19th, 2014, 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: wtk: Automation Technology College (ATC)

Postby Rainman » March 19th, 2014, 6:25 am

Apollo Trinidad wrote:Inquiring on this school for my nephew, he's interested in the MEEET course. Any fellow tuners did this program with them and care to share any insights? Any info will be greatly appreciated! In addition, how recognized is there certification? Thanks

there

there

You need school more than your nephew does.

DIESEL ROCKS

Postby DIESEL ROCKS » March 19th, 2014, 6:30 am

He must be referring to the buildings....

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 19th, 2014, 7:05 am

Rainman = Grammer Nazi

Postby Rainman » March 19th, 2014, 7:12 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Rainman = Grammer Nazi

It's spelled "Grammar".

allyuh f***ing up meh damn OCD!!!!

Behave nuh.

Postby dougla_boy » March 19th, 2014, 8:54 am

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 19th, 2014, 8:59 am

I did EEET &I with them back in 05, the curepe branch. Cant really recommend them since they do City &Guilds exam...the administration wasnt all that, and the course work as i have now come to realise is nowhere as comprehensive and in depth as UTT. Try UTT instead, but i can't say whats the criteria to get in there.

14lover

Postby 14lover » March 19th, 2014, 9:47 am

Did eeet at the sando branch, had a job interview shortly afterwards...The interviewer took my certificates without even looking at them,put them in a heap and asked me what else I had...best your nephew save his time and try utt. In my view, city and guilds certificate=toilet paper.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 19th, 2014, 12:07 pm

City and guilds is pretty bad. If you go SBCS to enter the BEng in EEET in Uno of Greenwich you need the city and guilds advanced diploma and it will take u 2 years to get the Bsc.

With HND from SBCs or the UTT diploma you gain entry into the final year.

So yeah city and guilds isnt taken seriously by most employers.

Also ATC tricks you into wasting your life with a 1 year cert before the diploma level. Which no one needs.

The city and guilds cert is the same level as say form 3 maths it's total rubbish. Those places is a scam. Tell your nephew to go get a 3 CXC passes and go utt and do the pre cert if necessary and then do eeet. If he has 5 CXC with physics and maths well even better he can start the diploma in eeet one time.

Don't be scammed by these private institutions. HND in SBCs is good however its not gate approved.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 19th, 2014, 2:24 pm

You have to remember that years before city and guilds was taken seriously. Before UTT became what they are now. But city and guilds is not as comprehensive as the courses offered by UTT, for a number of reasons.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 19th, 2014, 4:41 pm

^ I remember a time I had called ATC I wanted to do a diploma in MEEET but didnt want to waste my life behind a cert. I already have my CXC and stuff, my brother has EEET diploma and cert and I saw the exams for the cert its form 3 maths. There is NO reason for someone who passed mathematics at CXC to waste their life behind a City and Guilds form 3 cert. If you do the cert and diploma and advanced diploma it still cannot compare to just the 2 year Diploma from UTT/John D.

Look at CTSBCSTSTCSBSCTSBCSTCBSCTS, them men offering Computer Science Bsc without a single shred of mathematics involved. Look at UWI Computer Science it goes from Calculus 1 to 3 and even includes Discrete Mathematics. See my friend big difference between private scam and proper state education. Paying $30k for a business degree in reality.

Is like SAM when they advertised move from CXC to Degrees, study Computer Programming in Java and C++ with NCC diploma, study with a man who is a recognized pastor and prays for hurricane to leave other countries. Only to realize the owner said yeah we advertise that but we doh have enough students picking the programming in order to pay the lecturer so no Programming for you folks. This should be false advertising.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on March 20th, 2014, 2:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » March 19th, 2014, 5:06 pm

Rainman wrote:
Apollo Trinidad wrote:Inquiring on this school for my nephew, he's interested in the MEEET course. Any fellow tuners did this program with them and care to share any insights? Any info will be greatly appreciated! In addition, how recognized is there certification? Thanks

there

there

You need school more than your nephew does.

thanks for your correction

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » March 19th, 2014, 5:10 pm

and thanks for all the feedback, guess UTT will be the way then

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » March 19th, 2014, 5:11 pm

Certificate in Applied Eng. offered by UTT looks good, anyone doing this as well?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 19th, 2014, 5:18 pm

its for entry into the diploma programs if you dont have cxc

the cert by itself is useless its not meant for getting a job

XP50

Postby XP50 » January 1st, 2015, 1:10 am

After reading this post and also being a past student of this institute i have to say that some of the views that u all have are not totally true. To begin with the MEEET 1 certificate consists of three papers. Engineering fundamentals 1 consists of cxc level maths and physics not form 3 that was mentioned in a previous comment. I agree that if you have a cxc pass in maths one shouldn't have problems in passing that particular paper. But what about the electonic and electrical applications paper? It actually is module II in the cape A levels paper. Transistors, diodes, capacitors, integrated circuits, and more were not covered at the cxc level. The mechanical paper is pure machine shop processes, tap and die, filing, knowing how to use various machines such as the lathe, drilling machine, shaping machine, milling macine and more. Not to mention as well is that this institute ATC also has heavy practicals to support the theory. Building of amplifier circuits, power supplies, technical drawings as well as full domestic electrical wiring. All this just at the certificate level. If u try to by pass all 3 papers and move to the diploma, the average person will see problems. UTT was initially designed for vocational training so i agree that the facility and equipment will be better than some of the private institutes. I had a good experience at ATC , well experienced and qualified lecturers, friendly staff. It is true that u cannot get a good job NOW with the certificate alone because it is becoming quite common everyone is getting it. City and guilds is still well reconized. Many ppl fail the diploma level because they took the certificate for granted. But thats what separates who gets a job or not. I am a proud ATC past student and because of this institute i am working for over $15,000 a month. I highly recommend this institute. Class of 2006 chaguanas and san fernando branch.