wtk: becoming an ISP in Trinidad

Apollo Trinidad

wtk: becoming an ISP in Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » March 7th, 2014, 11:41 pm

Good day folks, does anyone know the process this entails? Start-up cost etc?

shaq090

Re: wtk: becoming an ISP in Trinidad

Postby shaq090 » March 8th, 2014, 8:39 am

a few km of fibre lines are flow to around 30K us... just saying, lets not forget the cost to rent each post.... opie unless u have around a billion at ur disposal try another venture

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 8th, 2014, 8:52 am

yup, ditto, do you have what it takes to go up against flow & blink? maybe u can do sumn like green dot, but satellite internet isnt the best and ur still guna need sizeable starting capital.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 8th, 2014, 2:28 pm

I know of one start up doing that and the cost is staggering. Basically unless you have millions (and I mean a good few) seriously to burn, forget it.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 8th, 2014, 2:44 pm

KiD wrote:yup, ditto, do you have what it takes to go up against flow & blink? maybe u can do sumn like green dot, but satellite internet isnt the best and ur still guna need sizeable starting capital.

And a good Reliable Backbone and that aint cheap .

Postby desifemlove » March 9th, 2014, 8:36 am

Dunno exactly, but apart from fibre/WAN links you may also need:

- Registry with the government. You'd have to register with one of the ministries (not sure which one of hand) to say you'll be an official ISP.

- Registry with the Internet Task Force (IETF)

- Access to plenty of IP addresses both versions 4 and 6 (though the version 4 ones may be allocated all to Blink/TSTT, Flow and Greendot already, and few use IP version 6 as it is..). I tink the IETF hands these out, and they have a sub-body in the Caribbean who hands them out.

So plenty start up costs. and you may need a 24/7 command centre, so you know at any time how your network looking, how much bandwidth going around, what users are surfing (if it illegal), router connections, switches, QoS, etc.

Plus if it's Tobago, you need an underground cable (well not underground but submarine). Plenty wuk, but then it's inherently capital intensive.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 9th, 2014, 10:56 am

opie buy some expensive routers, load balancers and some powerful wireless AP and just get about 3 public ip addresses and pat that mofo.... offer a cheap solution to people who dont have access to flow or blink...just remember nat/pat is the saviour to ipv4.... why not utilize it... a class b private can give u a remarkable amount of hosts..... hope yuh have some skills in nat/pat, accesslist, hrsp/glbp and modulation..... if not u can hire me to do it.......

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 9th, 2014, 10:57 am

oar and take a few 100mbps connections from flow..... u feel i joking... just doh get caught eh...

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » March 10th, 2014, 12:17 am

^lol, thanks for the feedback folks, keep them coming

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » March 10th, 2014, 12:19 am

KiD wrote:yup, ditto, do you have what it takes to go up against flow & blink? maybe u can do sumn like green dot, but satellite internet isnt the best and ur still guna need sizeable starting capital.

care to reiterate on the green dot venture, very interesting company seeing that they kept up with flow & blink?

Postby Trini Hookah » March 10th, 2014, 1:14 am

^ have you seen their prices and contracts

:sick:

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 10th, 2014, 7:02 am

i wouldnt say they kept up, but their market is different. Its more for remote areas tht dont have access to blink or flow, or for persons that want an alternative. I suppose their sat tv/cable also makes it an attractive package to some persons, which def would help with sales.

The main prob with sat internet is latency times. Its much longer compared to cable/dsl internet, so it wont be suited well for gaming and other applications that require quick response times. Also at times certain specific weather conditions may affect service.
Last edited by TheBoostLord on March 10th, 2014, 8:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 10th, 2014, 7:27 am

but you would still have to buy bandwidth from flow tho.......

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 10th, 2014, 8:28 am

I think you may need permission from the TATT as well..

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 10th, 2014, 9:14 am

Yes. You need permission from TATT definetly.

Postby gastly369 » March 10th, 2014, 9:52 am

Trini Hookah wrote:^ have you seen their prices and contracts

:sick:

Postby Spitfir3 » March 10th, 2014, 10:15 am

as it stands
greendot's packages is pure sh!t
blink is about the same but to be fair its a little more reliable..still sh!t doh
flo has the best packages but everytime i use it by someone you get like blink level download speeds

Postby redmanjp » March 10th, 2014, 11:28 am

shaq090 wrote:opie buy some expensive routers, load balancers and some powerful wireless AP and just get about 3 public ip addresses and pat that mofo.... offer a cheap solution to people who dont have access to flow or blink...just remember nat/pat is the saviour to ipv4.... why not utilize it... a class b private can give u a remarkable amount of hosts..... hope yuh have some skills in nat/pat, accesslist, hrsp/glbp and modulation..... if not u can hire me to do it.......

wouldn't that cause everyone to have the same public IP and have problems logging into some sites just like the problem digicel users had with trinituner?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 10th, 2014, 12:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:
shaq090 wrote:opie buy some expensive routers, load balancers and some powerful wireless AP and just get about 3 public ip addresses and pat that mofo.... offer a cheap solution to people who dont have access to flow or blink...just remember nat/pat is the saviour to ipv4.... why not utilize it... a class b private can give u a remarkable amount of hosts..... hope yuh have some skills in nat/pat, accesslist, hrsp/glbp and modulation..... if not u can hire me to do it.......

wouldn't that cause everyone to have the same public IP and have problems logging into some sites just like the problem digicel users had with trinituner?

thats why i said use nat/pat... it takes a public ip address and translates it to a private network... the ip address u see on ur desktop is not your public ip address eh... what flow does is they have a block of public addresses lets say 190.10.10.0. now they cant give every device a ip address from that block because they will run out... so they will give u a modem and assign the modem an ip address from their block so you'll get 190.10.10.4 and then that modem will translate packets assigned to and from that ip to either your destination (facebook,google etc) or from your internal network (192.168.1.4)

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 10th, 2014, 12:42 pm

op its way too much to invest in unless you have alot of large investors at your disposal.... after your overall start up cost, you have to hire people like me to maintain your network... and i aint cheap.... network engineer taking no less than 20K a month.... and lets not forget advertising.....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 10th, 2014, 1:58 pm

shaq090 wrote:but you would still have to buy bandwidth from flow tho.......
not only permission, he needs a license from them AFAIK

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 10th, 2014, 2:06 pm

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 10th, 2014, 2:45 pm

Do like Air Link and just supply service to specific areas only, but yeah start-up costs would be high.

Postby stev » March 10th, 2014, 3:02 pm

Apollo Trinidad, u can ease the startup cost (a little bit) by offering smaller services first.

for example, u can buy bandwidth from Flow or TSTT in order to offer inland communication services such as VOIP solutions, video conferencing solutions etc....u dont have to offer internet services just yet.

keep in mind that no matter what services u plan on offering (internet as well), you rates would need to be highly competitive.

no matter what direction u heading....u should arrange a meeting with TATT or a representative for more information and guidance.

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » March 10th, 2014, 4:08 pm

^thanks, gathering as much info as possible before start-up...anyone feel free to continue the knowledge sharing!

Postby redmanjp » March 10th, 2014, 4:45 pm

shaq090 wrote:op its way too much to invest in unless you have alot of large investors at your disposal.... after your overall start up cost, you have to hire people like me to maintain your network... and i aint cheap.... network engineer taking no less than 20K a month.... and lets not forget advertising.....

which ISP payin dat? and with what certs?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 10th, 2014, 8:41 pm

redmanjp wrote:
shaq090 wrote:op its way too much to invest in unless you have alot of large investors at your disposal.... after your overall start up cost, you have to hire people like me to maintain your network... and i aint cheap.... network engineer taking no less than 20K a month.... and lets not forget advertising.....

which ISP payin dat? and with what certs?

with a Bsc and ccnp u can easily make this

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 10th, 2014, 8:42 pm

tstt paying 7K for a associate in networking min experience....

Postby stev » March 10th, 2014, 9:00 pm

the problem is getting a position in TSTT without knowing someone in there -_-

Postby desifemlove » March 11th, 2014, 2:15 pm

Long distance wifi? all you need is free addresses, Government approval, and jus a few routers and maybe a few local access points.