Re: Ole time snacks

Postby black start » October 25th, 2012, 2:51 pm

Nerve, they are sold in the candy shop in centre city mall in chaguanas

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 25th, 2012, 4:20 pm

idk if u all cud remember,bermudez had a real nice buscuit long time,square shaped and filled with cream,number of different flavours,used to taste reallllllllllllll gud.

Postby gastly369 » October 25th, 2012, 4:24 pm

what about the the wafers you use to get in the clear pack (not them ones with ah setta arabic writing on them now)
3 flavor mix
chocolate/vanilla/strawberry
and you was lucky if you get ah fresh pack lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 25th, 2012, 4:26 pm

gastly369 wrote:what about the the wafers you use to get in the clear pack (not them ones with ah setta arabic writing on them now)
3 flavor mix

d brand is winsor,but it's back though,trust me,the original strawberry,chocolate and vanilla,sweet as ever,yes it back

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » October 25th, 2012, 5:11 pm

mangoes, sapodillas, pomerac, cherries, plums... them is the real long time snacks

Postby gastly369 » October 25th, 2012, 5:30 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
gastly369 wrote:what about the the wafers you use to get in the clear pack (not them ones with ah setta arabic writing on them now)
3 flavor mix

d brand is winsor,but it's back though,trust me,the original strawberry,chocolate and vanilla,sweet as ever,yes it back

:shock: :shock: talk nah .. brb going grocery

halfdef

Postby halfdef » October 25th, 2012, 6:51 pm

Who remembers prawn crackers

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 25th, 2012, 6:59 pm

halfdef wrote:Who remembers prawn crackers

Is it those hard colourful plasticky looking chips that when you fry them they swell and get fluffy?

CBharath

Postby CBharath » October 25th, 2012, 7:13 pm

Was watching today and remember granny making dem

halfdef

Postby halfdef » October 25th, 2012, 7:16 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
halfdef wrote:Who remembers prawn crackers

Is it those hard colourful plasticky looking chips that when you fry them they swell and get fluffy?

Yep that is it :D

Postby gastly369 » October 25th, 2012, 7:27 pm

have 2 pack in fridge atm :mrgreen:

Postby rspann » October 25th, 2012, 7:30 pm

one set ah babies on the thread,these things allyuh talking about is not ole time snacks these came out just recently.Coolit let the old man tell allyuh thing nah!Ice press (like sno cone), shave ice(a little coarser grain ice)Tambran make up(like tamarind chitney)Paradise plum was 3 for 5cents.Bubbly chewing gum,black cat gum,Chip chip(sugar cake make with cut up not grated coconut)come doh get me started you know!

CBharath

Postby CBharath » October 25th, 2012, 7:48 pm

rspann wrote:one set ah babies on the thread,these things allyuh talking about is not ole time snacks these came out just recently.Coolit let the old man tell allyuh thing nah!Ice press (like sno cone), shave ice(a little coarser grain ice)Tambran make up(like tamarind chitney)Paradise plum was 3 for 5cents.Bubbly chewing gum,black cat gum,Chip chip(sugar cake make with cut up not grated coconut)come doh get me started you know!

Yuh forget t-Rex drumsticks, yuh ole bastard

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 25th, 2012, 8:03 pm

in my time, i think the best snack was the planter's chili balls; since they cancelled it, i think the closest i've come to that taste is with the flaming hot cheetos.
oh and I dunno if these still around but there was a terrible candy called red hot

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 25th, 2012, 8:45 pm

planter's chili and cheese was the bess.

triniwhiteboi

Postby triniwhiteboi » October 25th, 2012, 10:37 pm

Some of the snacks mentioned still selling. Candy cigarette still selling normal, normal. Yuh getting Spiderman, Wolverine, Hulk all them thing. But it's been a while since I've seen the stickers or tattoos that come with them. As for what you consider "old time snacks" well is really dependent upon the times you were born in. For me old time snacks is anything from about 1998 to anywhere up until I would say about 2002, 2003?

Anyway, I need help remembering a snack that used to rel cut when I was small. Star something. Not starbust. It was a baked, cheese snack shaped like stars. I remember it used to be 75 cents a pack. One time in First Year I went to school with, what seemed to me, about 10 dollars in singles. Eat meh belly full of it that day.

Ways and yuh know how long me ain't eat a Planter's chilli balls. I could do for one of that now!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 26th, 2012, 9:14 am

yall remember long time peanut gems in the brown/gold pack.

Postby eliteauto » October 26th, 2012, 9:16 am

one of the most popular snacks in the 70's and early 80's was noonoose............................ with hair

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 26th, 2012, 9:55 am

Damien wrote:what about shrimp slices aka dog ears, sorry if ah repost

I real like this

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 26th, 2012, 9:59 am

remember when chocolate digestive had 2 in d pack and the regular had 6..

it also had a something names O's it was like an O shaped corn curls with a parrot on the pack

Zim

Postby Zim » October 26th, 2012, 10:34 pm

Weeys rell memories here yes. Yeah d Planters Chilli Balls in d can was my favourite yes!
I remember there was a planters snack shaped like a peanut with peanut butter inside. I forget the name. Joe Gum was bess :lol: I see some of these older snacks make a comeback, I had Mopsy the odda day. It cut bess!

I also loved striped Chips Ahoy!

BTW, u guys know Cornados is an imitation Bugles right?

http://www.generalmills.com/Brands/Snacks/Bugles.aspx

Postby brams112 » October 26th, 2012, 10:37 pm

Who remember higate choclate?

triniwhiteboi

Postby triniwhiteboi » October 26th, 2012, 10:47 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Damien wrote:what about shrimp slices aka dog ears, sorry if ah repost

I real like this

This does still sell? So long I ain't eat I never really bother to even check for it. This used to substitute popcorn.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 27th, 2012, 6:56 am

gastly369 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
3 flavor mix

:shock: :shock: talk nah .. brb going grocery

d new brand is vrootman,or summin very close,identical wafers to long ago.

Postby sMASH » October 27th, 2012, 7:04 am

the shrimp slices are still available, and in the box that i remembered as well. i think i bought it in food basket, but i did see it in some chinee groceries.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 27th, 2012, 11:28 am

those shrimps slices\curls around loooooooong time & u still see it grocery shelves all now too

used to eat it when i was a youth but now i dont again since i try to not eat too much oily stuff ....

triniwhiteboi

Postby triniwhiteboi » October 27th, 2012, 7:15 pm

sMASH wrote:the shrimp slices are still available, and in the box that i remembered as well. i think i bought it in food basket, but i did see it in some chinee groceries.

999 ent? I swear that was d brand name.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 27th, 2012, 8:26 pm

triniwhiteboi wrote:
sMASH wrote:the shrimp slices are still available, and in the box that i remembered as well. i think i bought it in food basket, but i did see it in some chinee groceries.

yup that's it, or one brand name at least. I remember the 999 one because some nutty religious kid was trying to convince everybody that the snack was devil thing because if you turned the package upside down it read 666 :|

Postby nervewrecker » October 27th, 2012, 9:43 pm

tourniquet wrote:
triniwhiteboi wrote:

yup that's it, or one brand name at least. I remember the 999 one because some nutty religious kid was trying to convince everybody that the snack was devil thing because if you turned the package upside down it read 666 :|

Won't be very hard to convince people is devil food if was this rounds.

secure labs

Postby secure labs » October 28th, 2012, 5:27 pm

who remember USA POP, although is not a snack. used to come in white plastic cup with a peel off lid