Company policy...

wickedbreed

Company policy...

Postby wickedbreed » February 10th, 2014, 8:42 am

This is a thread to discuss company policies, legal or not, how they affect us and compare them with other companies...

Im going to start this off with this one...

So I'm not sure how this usually works in other companies, but the company I'm working in right now is telling me that I need to work two Saturdays to cover the Monday and Tuesday that will be lost for carnival. I never did this at any other company I have worked for so it was shocking news to me. What is the policy at your company?

Re: Company policy...

Postby pete » February 10th, 2014, 8:48 am

I've heard about that before. Some make you use one day from your vacation and they give you a day.

My wife has to work both days.

Postby desifemlove » February 10th, 2014, 8:49 am

Seems legal. Whilst there is standard HRM practice globally, exact practice differs from country to country and firm to firm.

Thing is have they mandated you work 40 hours a week, every week (,i.e. is it in your contract)? One ting doh is Carnival Mon/Tues ent official public holidays. Firms give them off cos they know people gonna go lime and stuff anyhow and productivity gonna be low. So if you took it up, ent sure if you'd have a strong case.

Postby 1UZFE » February 10th, 2014, 8:58 am

That should not stand. 1st is a Saturday double time pay atm if so u shud wrk 1 saturday.
Also u could apply for leave on d Carnival days.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » February 10th, 2014, 9:02 am

They now pass around a memo to sign. Failure to work on both Saturdays will result in both days being taken off vacation days.

Postby joker » February 10th, 2014, 9:02 am

Not being Public Holidays is one thing.

However some companies pay overtime rates to workers rostered on Carnival days.
Appealing as it is with higher rates
Carnival is WE fete.
Absences galore

Then there are some companies who make workers give up a day from their Vacation.

It varies on the size of organisation u work for.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 10th, 2014, 9:03 am

WRT to Carnival I have been more or less lucky to work places where they don't require you to work back for those days and you do not have to take it out of your leave allotments either. Currently the only stipulation here is that if you taking AVL from before Carnival and into Carnival week you have to take 2 days for the Mon and Tue.

Worked in the office of a plant in Pt Lisas 10 years ago and they required either 1 full Saturday or 2 1/2 Saturdays to make up for Carnival.

Postby pete » February 10th, 2014, 9:11 am

Work one, take sick leave the next one.

Postby zoom rader » February 10th, 2014, 9:22 am

Worked a few places,
some gave you a day off , Mon or tue
Some made you work two Saturdays
Some made you use your vacation leave
some did not pay you for the two days but you got the days off.

I chose to work in all of the above, carnival does not put money in my pocket. I not giving up my vacation leave for two useless days.

Postby 88sins » February 10th, 2014, 9:29 am

@ wickedbreed, that applies to what's known as flex-time, & that is an informal arrangement at best. Carnival Monday & Tuesday are not officially recognized national holidays, so technically you are supposed to work on those days if the company is open for business. If the company is not open for business by order of management then you do not have to work alternative days to compensate for lost time. The time off will be deemed to have been given voluntarily by management & the employee cannot be held responsible.

If they open for business, go to work both days. If you go & nobody is there, including managers or supervisors, yuh get the day off. If you cannot get to work (jouvert band block d road, no taxi, whatever the reason) it's your responsibility to call you supervisor & inform them of the situation & seek instruction on how to proceed, (whether to fight up to reach or go back home)

Its a lil inconvenient, but at least your @$$ will be covered

Postby joker » February 10th, 2014, 9:35 am

zoom rader wrote:Worked a few places,

I chose to work in all of the above, carnival does not put money in my pocket. I not giving up my vacation leave for two useless days.

U are an employee?

WTF

Postby zoom rader » February 10th, 2014, 9:37 am

joker wrote:

U are an employee?

WTF

U are always a kcont?

Postby joker » February 10th, 2014, 9:46 am

joker wrote:

U are an employee?

WTF

U are always a kcont?

Nope u took that title from UML and defending it feverishly.

Postby AllTrac » February 10th, 2014, 10:15 am

joker wrote:

U are an employee?

WTF

U are always a kcont?

:lol: :lol: :lol: nah boy joker :lol:

Postby Sky » February 10th, 2014, 10:25 am

1UZFE wrote:That should not stand. 1st is a Saturday double time pay atm if so u shud wrk 1 saturday.
Also u could apply for leave on d Carnival days.

This is the practice I know of. 1 sat= 2 weekdays if your job is usually on weekdays.
I company I worked for chose who worked on the upcoming saturday. You work 8-12 and for that 1/2 day, you get an entire weekday off.

bootmee

Postby bootmee » February 10th, 2014, 10:28 am

Please list these companies that require you to work on carnival Monday and Tuesday or Saturdays to make up for the carnival days lost so I wont apply to them

Postby nervewrecker » February 10th, 2014, 10:31 am

joker wrote:

U are an employee?

WTF

U are always a kcont?

Jusso jusso?

Postby AllTrac » February 10th, 2014, 10:31 am

bootmee wrote:Please list these companies that require you to work on carnival Monday and Tuesday or Saturdays to make up for the carnival days lost so I wont apply to them

wow...really hear people say that men want jobs but no one wants to work.

Postby cinco » February 10th, 2014, 10:34 am

AllTrac wrote:
bootmee wrote:Please list these companies that require you to work on carnival Monday and Tuesday or Saturdays to make up for the carnival days lost so I wont apply to them

yeh dan because i prefer to spend 5000 on 2 days than make 1000 for two days
real brilliant logic

Postby j.o.e » February 10th, 2014, 10:45 am

Just show up for work Mon and Tues. Who fault it is when they don't have nothing for you to do? You were willing to work.

Postby desifemlove » February 10th, 2014, 10:49 am

hmmm.. maybe i lucky. the org i work at always giving Mon/Tues off lol..

Postby DFC » February 10th, 2014, 11:05 am

Sufferers thread v2- Company policies time.

bootmee

Postby bootmee » February 10th, 2014, 11:09 am

cinco wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

yeh dan because i prefer to spend 5000 on 2 days than make 1000 for two days
real brilliant logic

LOL @ Contract workers

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » February 10th, 2014, 11:10 am

joker wrote:

U are an employee?

WTF

U are always a kcont?

hahahahahahah

Postby nervewrecker » February 10th, 2014, 11:13 am

Come work by me. Everyday is practically a holiday.

We off from carnival Friday till the next Friday with pay. Ash wednesday we work maracas with bake and shark in hand and we drunk from carnival Friday.

Postby 1UZFE » February 10th, 2014, 12:01 pm

Counteract them . Tell dem u want to work d Carnival days.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » February 10th, 2014, 12:24 pm

1UZFE wrote:Counteract them. Tell dem u want to work d Carnival days.

THIS!

And if the office based in POS, ask them them they have to pay for the vehicle permit to enter POS on those two days, if office located in that restricted area.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 10th, 2014, 12:33 pm

Its standard practise in a lot of companies actually....some formally implement it while others dont...

Invisible

Postby Invisible » February 10th, 2014, 12:36 pm

Work back on 1 Saturday to compensate for Monday and Tuesday.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » February 10th, 2014, 1:20 pm

Is 2 Saturdays they want us to work tho...@ Invisible