$100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trinidad

snypaz

Soooooo... Whose drugs are these?

Postby snypaz » January 16th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Norfolk, Va. – Customs and Border Protection (CPB) officers seized 732 pounds of cocaine concealed in cans of fruit juice in a shipping container at the Port of Norfolk on December 20th.
The wholesale value is about $12 million with a street value as much as $100 million. The seizure is the largest in the port’s history.

“I have children of my own, I’m always worried about where these drugs end up, are they getting to schools and for that reason I could not be more excited that this amount of cocaine is not going to make it out onto the streets,” said Mark Laria, Customs and Border Protection Area Port Director.

CBP tactical operations officers from the Port of Norfolk were conducting a container inspection operation when they discovered the narcotics.
There was no specific tip that led to the bust, but border patrol workers say the use of fruit cans is just one example of how creative drug traffickers are getting these days. In the past they have even used body bags.

“We used every tool at our disposal. We have large scale x-ray equipment we have small scale x-ray equipment, we have probes, we have various tools and technology that were brought to bear on this shipment and it took every bit of it plus the officers knowledge and intuition to locate the cocaine in this shipment,” said Laria.

The container carrying the drugs was flagged as soon as it left Trinidad and Tobago, but our border protection workers could not check the container until it got to the United States.
The shipment was destined for New York.

No arrests have been made at this time.

http://wtkr.com/2014/01/16/record-732-p ... f-norfolk/
http://www.wvec.com/my-city/norfolk/Big ... 15591.html
Last edited by snypaz on January 16th, 2014, 10:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Skanky

Re: Soooooo... Who's drugs are these?

Postby Skanky » January 16th, 2014, 10:03 pm

Whose, you simpleton.

Re: Soooooo... Who's drugs are these?

Postby pioneer » January 16th, 2014, 10:05 pm

Like mammy used to make.

Re: Soooooo... Whose drugs are these?

Postby shogun » January 16th, 2014, 10:11 pm

Iz those youths from the Beetham and Lavan...wait!... whut?

Will there EVER be enough political will to bite the hand that feeds?... i doubt.

Postby Country_Bookie » January 16th, 2014, 10:11 pm

First PearD, now Trinidad Fruit Juices? What next, ah go have to start back boiling my own mauby?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » January 16th, 2014, 10:17 pm

Caribbean Cool next?

Postby pioneer » January 16th, 2014, 10:19 pm

So brydens gonna bun dong ayegain?

I hear dem ha sale on baileys bess man bag up

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » January 16th, 2014, 10:20 pm

Yawn.

nothing will come out ah dis...

Just like pear d and arawak container.

hondablood

Postby hondablood » January 16th, 2014, 10:28 pm

waiting to read the papers to see kill deh self tmr

Postby ronsin1 » January 16th, 2014, 10:28 pm

But ent trinidad jucie is now owned by the same company that makes the pear drink

TriP

Postby TriP » January 16th, 2014, 10:30 pm

snypaz

Postby snypaz » January 16th, 2014, 10:34 pm

Same excuse applies? They don't export to New York so they're in no way responsible?

Postby skylinechild » January 16th, 2014, 10:41 pm

snypaz wrote:Same excuse applies? They don't export to New York so they're in no way responsible?

IMHO its a pretty darn good excuse. If i as the manufacturer make something and someone packs drugs in it and ships it across to another part of the wrold you cant hold the manufacturer responsible -as they didnt ship it there.

likewise if nissan builds a car for a specific market- and someone buys it and hides drugs in it- you cant / wont go after nissan- as they didnt ship the car there. :!:

Postby shogun » January 16th, 2014, 10:51 pm

skylinechild wrote:
snypaz wrote:Same excuse applies? They don't export to New York so they're in no way responsible?

IMHO its a pretty darn good excuse. If i as the manufacturer make something and someone packs drugs in it and ships it across to another part of the wrold you cant hold the manufacturer responsible -as they didnt ship it there.

likewise if nissan builds a car for a specific market- and someone buys it and hides drugs in it- you cant / wont go after nissan- as they didnt ship the car there. :!:

What if that's the whole ruse and the manufacturer is lying?... hence the investigation. Only on their side preferably. Like i said a few posts back, we lack the will to go after these bigger fish.

Postby skylinechild » January 16th, 2014, 11:02 pm

shogun wrote:What if that's the whole ruse and the manufacturer is lying?... hence the investigation, on their side
preferably. Like i said a few posts back, we lack the will to go after these bigger fish.

well thats the thing. In case of food and drink the manufacturer cant just say heres what today we exporting to panama and tomorrow Indonesia. how it works is that there must be certain food and drug regulations that MUST be met before food / drink is imported into a different market.

the manufacturer has to meet government officials from different departments to get certain approvals and stuff as well as iron out packaging and labeling inconsistencies for the intended market.once all these are met and approval is given. then the manufacturer is allowed to export.

Its not as simple as CSME filling in "grated cassava" from Trinidad to Barbados in the customs C82 form.

now there are certain companies that act as distributors for brands in different markets and they buy in bulk from the manufacturer and sell in bulk to grocery chains in the foreign markets the distributor is the one who gets these approvals - not necessarily the manufacturer.

the distributor may or may not relabel and repackage to address importing market requirements.
for example- there is a large size of carib beer- not sold locally- its exported to another Caribbean island. carib packages / brands it differently for the intended market- only thing is carib is the manufacturer and distributor.- no 3rd part involved.

hondablood

Postby hondablood » January 16th, 2014, 11:17 pm

what kind of sick phoq opens all those tins of orange juice and drinks all?this must have took years.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 16th, 2014, 11:18 pm

wham, rat eat the paperwork?

Postby joker » January 16th, 2014, 11:21 pm

pioneer wrote:So brydens gonna bun dong ayegain?

I hear dem ha sale on baileys bess man bag up

Ah feel a certain "foods" place .

Postby skylinechild » January 16th, 2014, 11:22 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:wham, rat eat the paperwork?

THIS.
but again the average customs officer seeing cases and cases of juice sitting on a crate all wrapped up in plastic. you think anyone of them is going to take the extra 10/15 mins to pull a tin @ random and check...??

Postby javishm » January 16th, 2014, 11:22 pm

Is that possible *shocked

RoTaRyBoYz

$100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trinidad

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » January 17th, 2014, 2:31 am

http://www.wvec.com/my-city/norfolk/Big-cocaine-bust-at-Port-of-Norfolk-240515591.html
WVEC.com
Posted on January 16, 2014 at 10:40 AM
Updated today at 5:38 PM

NORFOLK-Cocaine with a street value of about $100 million was seized from a container at the Port of Norfolk.
Customs and Border Protection officers discovered the 732 pounds of cocaine in December.
They discovered the drugs concealed in cans of fruit juice held in a 20-foot container during an inspection, officials said.
The wholesale value of the cocaine is about $12 million and has a street value as much as $100 million, according to Customs officials.
"The vigilance and expertise that is utilized in identifying complex concealment methods enhances CBPs layered defense in protecting the United States against dangerous drugs," stated Area Port Director Mark J Laria.
The cocaine hidden inside a 20-foot container originated from Trinidad Tobago was targeted based on intelligence and current narcotic trends. The shipment was destined for New York.
As to why the seizure wasn't announced at the time, spokesman Louis Rossero told 13News Now, “There are certain protocols that we have to follow to make sure the product is cocaine. It has to be tested and verified. Other government agencies are involved so there are many steps to go through before we announce the seizure.”
Homeland Security Norfolk and Hampton Roads Border Enforcement Security Task Force continue to investigate the case. So far, no one has been arrested.
image.jpg
image.jpg (44.5 KiB) Viewed 7516 times

Richard Marshall

Re: $100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trin

Postby Richard Marshall » January 17th, 2014, 2:42 am

Trinidad real big in import and export of drugs. The US needs to intervene and take down all elements.

Postby S_2NR » January 17th, 2014, 3:44 am

Was wondering where my shipment was. Thanks op

Postby Gem_in_i » January 17th, 2014, 3:53 am

No records of who set it and who it going too?

Postby RASC » January 17th, 2014, 4:04 am

This should be good...

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2014, 4:04 am

Beetham again

Postby RASC » January 17th, 2014, 4:11 am

zoom rader wrote:Beetham again

Beetham residents orchestrated the movement of wholesale, 12million USD worth of cocaine?

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » January 17th, 2014, 4:11 am

Damn dats crazy!! D Feds was probably like
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389946305.995746.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389946305.995746.jpg (44.58 KiB) Viewed 7464 times

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2014, 5:28 am

RASC wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Beetham again

Beetham residents orchestrated the movement of wholesale, 12million USD worth of cocaine?

eh where did i say Beetham residents orchestrated this movement ?

ent Trini orange juice from Beetham?

Checkmate !!!

Postby bluefete » January 17th, 2014, 5:54 am

Wait. Ent the same people who make this :

Does make this?:

Drink: Cole Cold Pear D fruit drink manufactured in the Caribbean which contained a lethal amount of cocaine

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... CAINE.html
Last edited by bluefete on January 17th, 2014, 6:00 am, edited 1 time in total.