Re: $100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trin

Postby javishm » January 29th, 2014, 10:41 am

I support Coca Cola

Racegod

Postby Racegod » January 29th, 2014, 10:45 am

been doing some research and stumbled on this UN produced video featuring Trinidad...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FvWUGiD6JKI

seems quite old considering James Philbert was still acting...

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 29th, 2014, 10:48 am

Toyopet wrote:I don't know exactly why they chose to shoot up the place in like that but I can only assume it was because less than ten minutes before, we moved some of the bags of sugar that were left on the roof from the previous night's Robbery, off the roof. Idk of they were marking it to come back for it.

As for those of you who are suggesting boycotting smj products because of this, why don't you just check the seals on the drinks before you consume. We have salesmen and delivery trucks that sell and deliver the products to the supermarkets, wholesale stores and parlors and eateries. The establishments that do not get from a delivery truck will most likely buy them from a grocery or wholesale store.

Ccga was bought a few years ago by smj and they employ over 100 workers. Closing down the location was a very real consideration and almost happened recently but a quick alternative could not be found. A decision like that would also affect the lives off the 100+ families of workers.

I'm also in a wait and see mode. I'm not just saying this as an employee of smj, but we need to support our local businesses. We've passed five audits last year carried out by US food and drug, which means the US trusts us enough to continue supporting us, why can't trinis

We must support local business, but it is strange that a business would continue to operate in the same area where there are thefts and now assults and not address these matters.

What would SMJ do if someone were to break in and poison some juice? How will they deal with such a situation?

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » January 29th, 2014, 10:50 am

javishm wrote:I support Coca Cola

I Cyah live without it...

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 29th, 2014, 11:05 am

Funny you would mention Coca Cola in a thread about Cocaine.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 29th, 2014, 11:08 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Funny you would mention Coca Cola in a thread about Cocaine.

Do they still use cocaine in coca cola??

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 29th, 2014, 11:09 am

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... bbean.html

Drug Lords getting Ansty all over the place or?

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 29th, 2014, 11:11 am

src1983 wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Funny you would mention Coca Cola in a thread about Cocaine.

Do they still use cocaine in coca cola??

Nah.. once it became illegal the formula was supposed to have been changed.

Postby Country_Bookie » January 29th, 2014, 12:06 pm

Meanwhile Dominican Republic trying to give we competition!!

C News Live
Royal Navy seizes 1.25 TONNES of cocaine worth £60million from speedboat in the Caribbean: More than a tonne of cocaine worth £60million has been seized from a speedboat in the Caribbean in an operation involving the Royal Navy, the Ministry of Defence said today. The 1.25 tonnes of the Class A drug seized last week had a UK wholesale value of more than £60million, but the street value would have ...topped £300million.

The crew of Royal Fleet Auxiliary Naval Support Ship RFA Wave Knight, along with a US Coast Guard patrol aircraft, forced a speedboat suspected of drug smuggling to stop in international waters south of the Dominican Republic during the night of January 22. The US Coast Guard helicopter fired warning shots in an attempt to get the boat to stop but when the suspected smugglers were observed throwing the bales of drugs overboard the decision was made to use disabling fire, the MoD said.

Wave Knight then launched its own small boat with a US Coast Guard team to board and question the suspects. A second boat from Wave Knight, which frequently docks at Devonport in Plymouth, recovered 45 bales of cocaine which had been thrown overboard into the water nearby. Four people were detained on board, and both the cocaine and detainees were handed over to the US authorities off the coast of Puerto Rico. Read more VIA Mail Online http://ow.ly/t4qDl

I'm always amazed at the wholesale value vs the retail or street value of coke in these reports. The canned juice find was worth US$12M wholesale, but US$100M street value, roughly 8 times the wholesale value.

Here a find of £60million wholesale is worth £300million street value, so 5 times the wholesale value. Who estimates this stuff or are the police just making it up to make themselves look good?

Postby Chimera » January 29th, 2014, 12:29 pm

Its very hard to get cocaine into the uk or us. Thats why the retail value is so much more than wholesale value.

Postby AllTrac » January 29th, 2014, 12:33 pm

toyopet start looking for ah next wuk, big wigs gonna pull out soon with their assets and buss out

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 29th, 2014, 12:37 pm

Well that ABA and the fact that if you factor how many hands it's passed through to get to the Street.. Street value always has bout 5 or so middle men taxes added to it.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 29th, 2014, 12:39 pm

Not gonna say why I'm saying this.. but I am assuming Toyopet and R!CH!E are Muslim. Would put money on it really.

jaceson

Postby jaceson » January 29th, 2014, 1:07 pm

Whats the annual value of losses that SMJ face at that site? Why should they move at all if it is immaterial....There is a cost to re-location and why should the company face that if there is no real advantage other than a savings of eg. 200k annually....that is pittance when compare to group earnings. The distribution location savings itself might pay for the losses.

From most of the comments here, most of you do not understand a business environment or even the amount of risk that a business is willing to face.

Frankly, they need to hire a PR firm (Foreign) and do some damage control....other than that its business as usual.

Dr Balgobin once said that one of the ways to develop Laventille area (which is prime real estate) is to get the business community to set up there and I agree to an extent. It will create the commerce which is required to develop the area however much is needed from the Protection services, etc to help this process.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » January 29th, 2014, 1:08 pm

I'm a Hindu. I ain't got anything to hide.
Src, if the cameras don't pick up any tampering in the blending room or filing room, the tests done on samples of every batch would.

professor

Postby professor » January 29th, 2014, 1:10 pm

By the time the truth comes out, 80% of businessmen names would be linked to this and any other drug shipment.
Why don't we wait until we see who is fingered.
Hopefully the 'Big' fish is not anyone of the SMJ bashers family.
Oh, I do not work for them, nor use any of their products on a regular basis, don't know any of them, except for LOL, a mechanic with them, and I am not a Muslim.

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2014, 1:14 pm

professor wrote:By the time the truth comes out, 80% of businessmen names would be linked to this and any other drug shipment.
Why don't we wait until we see who is fingered.
Hopefully the 'Big' fish is not anyone of the SMJ bashers family.
Oh, I do not work for them, nor use any of their products on a regular basis, don't know any of them, except for LOL, a mechanic with them, and I am not a Muslim.

There are mods and tuners that continue to spread their propaganda with spin headed in a certain direction.

Postby bluesteel29 » January 29th, 2014, 1:21 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Not gonna say why I'm saying this.. but I am assuming Toyopet and R!CH!E are Muslim. Would put money on it really.

Toyopet wrote:I'm a Hindu.

Not gonna say why I'm saying this.. but get back to da kitchen

Postby S_2NR » January 29th, 2014, 1:29 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Not gonna say why I'm saying this.. but I am assuming Toyopet and R!CH!E are Muslim. Would put money on it really.

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » January 29th, 2014, 1:41 pm

jaceson wrote:Whats the annual value of losses that SMJ face at that site? Why should they move at all if it is immaterial....There is a cost to re-location and why should the company face that if there is no real advantage other than a savings of eg. 200k annually....that is pittance when compare to group earnings. The distribution location savings itself might pay for the losses.

From most of the comments here, most of you do not understand a business environment or even the amount of risk that a business is willing to face.

Frankly, they need to hire a PR firm (Foreign) and do some damage control....other than that its business as usual.

Dr Balgobin once said that one of the ways to develop Laventille area (which is prime real estate) is to get the business community to set up there and I agree to an extent. It will create the commerce which is required to develop the area however much is needed from the Protection services, etc to help this process.

What rubbish are u speaking. Take a look in the mirror about who doesn't understand big business. So product keeps getting stolen, that can be used to sabotage the company's good name and goodwill by a competitor. aka SMJ products have traces of rat dropping in it.. Its as simple as tampering and replacing the seal in a same factory environment. Everybody panics and stops buying SMJ. Factor THAT into ur close minded opinion.

Toyota would quicker recall x amount of vehicles for a faulty xyz than face the bad publicity of xyz happening. What are u really talking about. They shud hv some screening process before u allowed 2 post yes :lol:
Nah jus kicksin there but u catch my point

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 29th, 2014, 2:05 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:

NO! :P

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 29th, 2014, 2:06 pm

jaceson wrote:Frankly, they need to hire a PR firm (Foreign) and do some damage control....other than that its business as usual.

THIS

airuma

Postby airuma » January 29th, 2014, 2:19 pm

R!CH!E wrote:ABA Trading LTD, just wanna answer few of your "questions".
- All break-ins are reported (check Besson Street Police Staion).
- Because of the location of that plant i.e. the roof ends where the hills begin it is easy for trespassers. Also because of the location it easy/easier to conduct sales/deliveries in the northern areas, hence the reason for not closing location.
- As per industrial espionage it can happen to any manufacturer. Do you think burglary does not happen at ABIL's factories or ANSA factories?

RIPEBREDFRUIT
- We had many meetings with our lawyers and state defence, we cannot erect electric fences even with proper signage.
- Cameras in the laventille area are operational in the plant, but once we start repairing or placing on the perimeter it gets shoot down. If there's any one on tuner from the area they can tell you, to do such perimeter works SMJ usually employs armed guards and IATF along with helicopter coverage.

snypaz , the police from "across the street" usually only respond when SMJ calls, I have never seen them there without notifiction.

This makes little or no sense to me. You say it's easy for thief but the location too sweet for sales/deliveries. How about SMJ location in South??? How about KISS, Holiday Foods and Heinekin in Chaguanas??? According to your logic, they are all operating less than optimum by not having a Laventille location, even with all the thieving and extra security expenses, Main Road Laventille is too good for sales and deliveries!! or is it good for an alternate source of $$$??

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 29th, 2014, 3:27 pm

200k in annual theft vs 200 million in moving plant location... :roll:
just saying.

Postby Chimera » January 29th, 2014, 3:55 pm

Bezman wrote:200k in annual theft vs 200 million in moving plant location... :roll:
just saying.

And the risk to the public of contaminated goods is worth how much ?

Is it really impossible to secure the warehouse from theft? Or they just need a good excuse when a large amount of their product containers turn up with cocaine inside?

Postby RASC » January 29th, 2014, 4:00 pm

airuma wrote:
R!CH!E wrote:ABA Trading LTD, just wanna answer few of your "questions".
- All break-ins are reported (check Besson Street Police Staion).
- Because of the location of that plant i.e. the roof ends where the hills begin it is easy for trespassers. Also because of the location it easy/easier to conduct sales/deliveries in the northern areas, hence the reason for not closing location.
- As per industrial espionage it can happen to any manufacturer. Do you think burglary does not happen at ABIL's factories or ANSA factories?

RIPEBREDFRUIT
- We had many meetings with our lawyers and state defence, we cannot erect electric fences even with proper signage.
- Cameras in the laventille area are operational in the plant, but once we start repairing or placing on the perimeter it gets shoot down. If there's any one on tuner from the area they can tell you, to do such perimeter works SMJ usually employs armed guards and IATF along with helicopter coverage.

snypaz , the police from "across the street" usually only respond when SMJ calls, I have never seen them there without notifiction.

This makes little or no sense to me. You say it's easy for thief but the location too sweet for sales/deliveries. How about SMJ location in South??? How about KISS, Holiday Foods and Heinekin in Chaguanas??? According to your logic, they are all operating less than optimum by not having a Laventille location, even with all the thieving and extra security expenses, Main Road Laventille is too good for sales and deliveries!! or is it good for an alternate source of $$$??

Where mih wink... hold on...

Right!

;-)

Postby RASC » January 29th, 2014, 4:01 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Bezman wrote:200k in annual theft vs 200 million in moving plant location... :roll:
just saying.

This Again

/Wink

jaceson

Postby jaceson » January 29th, 2014, 4:06 pm

crash dummy wrote:
jaceson wrote:Whats the annual value of losses that SMJ face at that site? Why should they move at all if it is immaterial....There is a cost to re-location and why should the company face that if there is no real advantage other than a savings of eg. 200k annually....that is pittance when compare to group earnings. The distribution location savings itself might pay for the losses.

What rubbish are u speaking. Take a look in the mirror about who doesn't understand big business. So product keeps getting stolen, that can be used to sabotage the company's good name and goodwill by a competitor. aka SMJ products have traces of rat dropping in it.. Its as simple as tampering and replacing the seal in a same factory environment. Everybody panics and stops buying SMJ. Factor THAT into ur close minded opinion.

Toyota would quicker recall x amount of vehicles for a faulty xyz than face the bad publicity of xyz happening. What are u really talking about. They shud hv some screening process before u allowed 2 post yes :lol:
Nah jus kicksin there but u catch my point

This is real life in Trinidad.....not theory in a book.
How accountable are Business in Trinidad? How much can a business get away when something goes wrong due to negligence? How fast does Trinis forget about serious issues?......

Your example is really for North America, UK etc type countries where issues like this is taken seriously. Culture....

My response to Local consumers for stolen goods that eg kill/harm someone...It was stolen and reported. Talk done, everyone forgets within a week.

Exports is very different as various cultures needs addressing differently. Hire a Foreign PR firm and deal with it.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 29th, 2014, 4:39 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
just saying.

Is it really impossible to secure the warehouse from theft? Or they just need a good excuse when a large amount of their product containers turn up with cocaine inside?

This is what I am asking, suppose people get sick and die. What about if those same shooters decided to play modern warfare and kill employees. 5 mins is enough to do a lot of damage.

They may not be in drugs but they are sure taking some risks

Postby UML » January 29th, 2014, 5:51 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Meanwhile Dominican Republic trying to give we competition!!

C News Live
Royal Navy seizes 1.25 TONNES of cocaine worth £60million from speedboat in the Caribbean: More than a tonne of cocaine worth £60million has been seized from a speedboat in the Caribbean in an operation involving the Royal Navy, the Ministry of Defence said today. The 1.25 tonnes of the Class A drug seized last week had a UK wholesale value of more than £60million, but the street value would have ...topped £300million.

The crew of Royal Fleet Auxiliary Naval Support Ship RFA Wave Knight, along with a US Coast Guard patrol aircraft, forced a speedboat suspected of drug smuggling to stop in international waters south of the Dominican Republic during the night of January 22. The US Coast Guard helicopter fired warning shots in an attempt to get the boat to stop but when the suspected smugglers were observed throwing the bales of drugs overboard the decision was made to use disabling fire, the MoD said.

Wave Knight then launched its own small boat with a US Coast Guard team to board and question the suspects. A second boat from Wave Knight, which frequently docks at Devonport in Plymouth, recovered 45 bales of cocaine which had been thrown overboard into the water nearby. Four people were detained on board, and both the cocaine and detainees were handed over to the US authorities off the coast of Puerto Rico. Read more VIA Mail Online http://ow.ly/t4qDl

I'm always amazed at the wholesale value vs the retail or street value of coke in these reports. The canned juice find was worth US$12M wholesale, but US$100M street value, roughly 8 times the wholesale value.

Here a find of £60million wholesale is worth £300million street value, so 5 times the wholesale value. Who estimates this stuff or are the police just making it up to make themselves look good?

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Its very hard to get cocaine into the uk or us. Thats why the retail value is so much more than wholsale value.

+

When the street dealers cut it to stretch it and also when they make crack...all add street value