Please Assist: I got a wrongful ticket

davesue

Please Assist: I got a wrongful ticket

Postby davesue » January 2nd, 2014, 7:24 am

On New Years Eve i was driving in the vicinity of Princes Town.

There was a routine road block checking for the miscelaneous things like insurance, license, lights etc.

A female officer asked me to turn on my brakes lights (in 12 noon sun) and when i did she came back to my driver side window and said "one of your brakes lights is not working, that is a ticket-able offence"

i acknowledged that it was an offence and expected her to tell me that i should go get it checked out.

About 2 minutes later another officer appeared at my window with a ticket in his hand.

I asked him why i got the ticket and he said "tail lights"

so i requested to find out which of the lights in the back was blown so i could have it taken care of. The male officer informed me i am within my rights to contest the ticket.

I turned on my lights and proceded to the back of the vehicle.

When at the back of the vehicle i took my hand and wiped each lens to find out that all 4 of my tail lights were working. I displayed this to the now 4 officers present including the female officer.

I was told by one of the officers that that was not the problem. He proceded to mash my brakes pedal (without my permission) and we saw 2 of the 4 lights get bright on opposite sides of the trunk.

I was beyond speechless and explained that that is the way the brakes lights work and that 2 are park lights.

one of the officers told me i was "being stupid and only contesting thing"

the female officer instructed one of the officers to "give him his documents and send him on his way" (that included a ticket)

TICKET DETAILS:
Car: B13
amount: $450
Reason: deffective fixtures

Am i in the wrong or should i go to court to fight the case?

Re: Please Assist: I got a wrongful ticket

Postby eliteauto » January 2nd, 2014, 7:26 am

if that is how your tail lights work, contest it in court

Postby sharkman121 » January 2nd, 2014, 7:41 am

Simple as that! go to court and contest it, its an easy win once thats how that taillights originally work. The officers more than likely wont even show up. Doh worry yuhself OP

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 2nd, 2014, 7:48 am

If you have the time contest it...but if you dont ,,,,just pay it.....

also the court might ask if this is the way that the manufacturers made the car to work with two park lights and two brakes lights.....I dont think b13 were designed like this....so you may lose in court.....my 2 cents...

there are alot of cars that I unfortunately end up driving behind without brakes lights and wonder how they get away with it.....

hindian

Postby hindian » January 2nd, 2014, 8:05 am

That's strange, cuz i own a b13 and all 4 lights illuminate when i press the brake pedal i.e. the two on the quater panels and the two on the trunk lid. Unless you have the model without the park/brake lights on the trunk lid....

Postby SMc » January 2nd, 2014, 8:13 am

Contest it...take pics of what it should (and hopefully does) look like when the brake pedal is depressed.

With regard to only 2 lights illuminating brighter than the park/driving lights, as far as I know most cars are like that.

davesue

Postby davesue » January 2nd, 2014, 8:14 am

hindian wrote:That's strange, cuz i own a b13 and all 4 lights illuminate when i press the brake pedal i.e. the two on the quater panels and the two on the trunk lid. Unless you have the model without the park/brake lights on the trunk lid....

i bought the car last year april.

that's the way they worked since i bought it.

all 4 come on when i turn on park lights and only 2 get bright when i mash the pedal.

would be great if someone could confirm how they are supposed to work.

moti

Postby moti » January 2nd, 2014, 8:18 am

hindian wrote:That's strange, cuz i own a b13 and all 4 lights illuminate when i press the brake pedal i.e. the two on the quater panels and the two on the trunk lid. Unless you have the model without the park/brake lights on the trunk lid....

If he has the early FE models with the lights only on the fenders, then it will only be equipped with 2 park lights that gets brighter when the brake is engaged.

Unless he installed a new trunk/boot lid and got the lights off the newer model, which will be his bad luck as they are also made to light the same as the ones on the fenders.

A B13 is meant to have 4 brake lights in the rear once equipped with 4 park lights.

#NotsureifIjustmadesense.

Islandboy.7

Postby Islandboy.7 » January 2nd, 2014, 8:19 am

Avoid passing through P/town......too much traffic and a waste of time

Postby AllTrac » January 2nd, 2014, 8:23 am

davesue wrote:
I was beyond speechless and explained that that is the way the brakes lights work and that 2 are park lights.

AFAIK on the b13's ive seen, all 4 lights light up when the brake is applied, but yours could be a different model, i stand to be corrected.

davesue

Postby davesue » January 2nd, 2014, 8:24 am

[/quote]
If he has the early FE models with the lights only on the fenders, then it will only be equipped with 2 park lights that gets brighter when the brake is engaged.

Unless he installed a new trunk/boot lid and got the lights off the newer model, which will be his bad luck as they are also made to light the same as the ones on the fenders.

A B13 is meant to have 4 brake lights in the rear once equipped with 4 park lights.

[/quote]

i can confirm that the trunk was changed by previous owner. not sure how it was before. not sure of the exact model either since the car has no badges on it.

car was an original cd17 diesel b13 (foreign used)

Postby joker » January 2nd, 2014, 8:29 am

AllTrac wrote:
davesue wrote:

AFAIK on the b13's ive seen, all 4 lights light up when the brake is applied, but yours could be a different model, i stand to be corrected.

He musbe have de b13 barrackpore version....

davesue

Postby davesue » January 2nd, 2014, 8:31 am

joker wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
davesue wrote:

He musbe have de b13 barrackpore version....

hahahahaahhaahh
i guess i'll pay the ticket.
dont think that version was made public...
hahahha...that made my day

Postby Redman » January 2nd, 2014, 8:31 am

Go to the firm and let them certify in writing that the lights are up to spec
If you inclined go to an auto elec and let him certify same-date his own the next business day after the ticket was issued.

walk with 3rd party evidence.
he will (if he shows up) have nothing.

If you contesting remember the court is inundated with people looking to lie their way through.
dont go half arsed

Postby zoom rader » January 2nd, 2014, 8:50 am

Redman wrote:Go to the firm and let them certify in writing that the lights are up to spec
If you inclined go to an auto elec and let him certify same-date his own the next business day after the ticket was issued.

walk with 3rd party evidence.
he will (if he shows up) have nothing.

If you contesting remember the court is inundated with people looking to lie their way through.
dont go half arsed

Or check your manual on operation of brake light and walk with it to court. If you don't have one then research and download one.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » January 2nd, 2014, 9:15 am

They might say how you lie and you went home and change it.

Postby DFC » January 2nd, 2014, 9:19 am

dan if you have the time ,you should contest it.

Postby Redman » January 2nd, 2014, 9:33 am

fouljuice wrote:They might say how you lie and you went home and change it.

The statement from the elec the following biz day deals with that.
In the absence of other evidence the court will not speculate.

The court also knows that TTPS officers on crap too so the OP will likely win.

ALIS

Postby ALIS » January 2nd, 2014, 11:02 am

OP if my memory serves me correctly the B13 came with double contact bulbs doubling as both park and brake lights, this is on both the trunk finisher and rear fixed lights. This is on the ex saloon, super saloon and the ex saloon power package, not the FE.

You can contest it if you think you have the time, but seriously the magistrate can say during the time elapsed, you might have had it repaired/replaced......
Last edited by ALIS on January 2nd, 2014, 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 2nd, 2014, 11:20 am

Untitled.png

Which of the lights come on when you mash the brakes?
Is it 1 and 4?
Or is it some other combination?

davesue

Postby davesue » January 2nd, 2014, 11:22 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:
Untitled.png

Is it 1 and 4?

well the lights are a little different than that but the two on the ends> 1 & 4

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 2nd, 2014, 11:38 am

davesue wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:
Untitled.png

Is it 1 and 4?

well the lights are a little different than that but the two on the ends> 1 & 4

Go to court.
You are within the law.

Postby noshownogo » January 2nd, 2014, 11:41 am

Pay that ticket before the Army lands at your doorstep, flash bangs your dog, gun butt your granny, tear gas the baby and child mother and issues you your court ordered subpoena.

antlind

Postby antlind » January 2nd, 2014, 11:42 am

A good example of why we need to raise the education requirements for the Police Service.

Postby maj. tom » January 2nd, 2014, 11:51 am

carry your iPad and show the magistrate this thread.

hondablood

Postby hondablood » January 2nd, 2014, 12:00 pm

you shoulda go to the closest police station immediately and talk to a senior officer and show him the ticket and display your working lights.This should be done as soon as possible as you dont want them to think you had time to change the bulb.I was given a wrongful ticket for dark tint and i went to the police station within 2 mins,[my tint was 35 percen]t and an officer in khaki took the ticket from me and told me it was wrongful and cancelled it and also apologised.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 2nd, 2014, 12:04 pm

hondablood wrote:you shoulda go to the closest police station immediately and talk to a senior officer and show him the ticket and display your working lights.This should be done as soon as possible as you dont want them to think you had time to change the bulb.I was given a wrongful ticket for dark tint and i went to the police station within 2 mins,[my tint was 35 percen]t and an officer in khaki took the ticket from me and told me it was wrongful and cancelled it and also apologised.

Good idea.

Postby Spitfir3 » January 2nd, 2014, 12:33 pm

antlind wrote:A good example of why we need to raise the education requirements for the Police Service.

that wouldn't exactly fix ignorancy doh
i always thought those things on the b13's trunk were just reflectors

Shio

Postby Shio » January 2nd, 2014, 12:41 pm

ask them which one was not working right or left

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 2nd, 2014, 12:48 pm

As far as I recall the B13 has 4 lights illuminate for the brakes. Check the bulbs in the sockets if you have double filaments in the outboard positions and single in the inboard positions then you should not have gotten a ticket.

The B14 I know only has double filaments in the outboard positions (1&4 from the diagram)