iPad v Surface 2 v Galaxy Note 10.1

Which tablet would you choose for overall usage requirements (business + leisure)?

Apple iPad Air
45%
Microsoft Surface 2
24%
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition
31%

Total votes: 42

acesinghit

iPad v Surface 2 v Galaxy Note 10.1

Postby acesinghit » December 30th, 2013, 3:04 pm

Hello All,

I need urgent feedback on the subject matter, I understand these are considered to be probably the 3 best tablet pc options on the world market.

Please cast your vote so we can use this info to aid in our decision making, thanks a lot.
Last edited by acesinghit on January 5th, 2014, 1:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: iPad v Surface 2 v Galaxy Note 10.1

Postby Trini Hookah » December 30th, 2013, 3:06 pm

On mobile so I dont have poll options, but the Note is my pick.

Postby K74T » December 30th, 2013, 3:09 pm

iPad

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 30th, 2013, 3:12 pm

I'm not an apple fanboy, but the ipad has my vote.

Postby gastly369 » December 30th, 2013, 3:12 pm

not a apple fan
but when it comes to the tablets the ipad is the one to go with

Postby javishm » December 30th, 2013, 3:48 pm

ensideee

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 30th, 2013, 4:03 pm

iPad...apps support for the large format is much better on iOS

Postby nemisis » December 30th, 2013, 4:03 pm

Too many iPad votes, note 2 has my vote

Postby desifemlove » December 30th, 2013, 4:06 pm

Samsung ftw. ent like Apple.

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » December 30th, 2013, 4:20 pm

Ipad has my vote

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » December 30th, 2013, 4:37 pm

2 surface in use home and no complaints has all the necessary programs and apps.

Postby pioneer » December 30th, 2013, 6:03 pm

Why is this even being discussed?

Ipad Air hands down

Postby Ted_v2 » December 30th, 2013, 6:07 pm

IPad. Coming from a android owner

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2013, 6:18 pm

can any of them do true multitasking
eg play a youtube music video in the background whilst browsing something else ?

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 30th, 2013, 6:31 pm

pugboy wrote:can any of them do true multitasking
eg play a youtube music video in the background whilst browsing something else ?

I want to believe this is a limitation of software and not hardware. I however also believe in eating curry once a day.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 30th, 2013, 6:36 pm

"Viral Floating YouTube" app on android - Note

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 30th, 2013, 6:42 pm

On another tablet (Dell Venue 8 Pro) running Windows 8.1, I was able to have YouTube running a movie while I was using MS Excel and had another website page open in the browser. The Surface 2 should be able to do the same.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 30th, 2013, 7:47 pm

The iPad is always a favorite thanks to marketing but I have some concerns:

Lack of Adobe flash
Lack of office 2013
Lack of USB ports
Lack of micro sd card slot
Lack of stylus
Lack of split screen multi-tasking
Weak secondary camera

The dual core a7 processor actually outpaces several of its quad core rivals but I suspect this is because iOS does not consume too much processing power as opposed to android and windows which are power hungry os's . They reduce a quad core to dual core like in actual performance. Lastly despite a low rating of 5MP it still produces competitive pictures.

Is this enough to head to the galaxy camp or productivity takes the win and thus head for the surface?

I'll let the poll and feedback decide....

Postby pioneer » December 30th, 2013, 7:50 pm

lol people still use micro sd with the advent of all the avenues of cloud-based storage?

Postby Spitfir3 » December 30th, 2013, 7:52 pm

in regards to tablets apple gets my unbias vote..the build quality just cannot be matched and well ios is as dumbed down as it gets for pure simplicity

i kinda lol'ed at people wanting a stylus doh...like who still uses that sheit?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 30th, 2013, 7:57 pm

Samsung!!

Postby Trini Hookah » December 30th, 2013, 7:57 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:in regards to tablets apple gets my unbias vote..the build quality just cannot be matched and well ios is as dumbed down as it gets for pure simplicity

i kinda lol'ed at people wanting a stylus doh...like who still uses that sheit?

An S-pen isn't simply a stylus

Postby pioneer » December 30th, 2013, 7:59 pm

Can't remember when last I used a flash drive :|

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 30th, 2013, 8:28 pm

Lol not all directors and ceo's are tech savvy so the ability for stylus and USB support is a plus. But iCloud appears to be more limited than sky drive with the least storage. Google does same but on 2 platforms ie. Google drive and + with more storage and skydrive integrates with office.

This comparison is like comparing the aventador with the gtr and 911 turbo s. But only one will be chosen.

Postby Sky » December 30th, 2013, 8:31 pm

pioneer wrote:lol people still use micro sd with the advent of all the avenues of cloud-based storage?

Ignore this fanboy.
Apple doesn't have it, so "there's no need for it."
There's no need for more storage and removable media....roight.

Anyway, The surface is my pick actually, it can actually fill the role of an actual pc, unlike the others, which are still mobiles.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » December 30th, 2013, 8:44 pm

samsung note 2014 can multitask (but limited to 2 windows)

Rory Phoulorie wrote:On another tablet (Dell Venue 8 Pro) running Windows 8.1, I was able to have YouTube running a movie while I was using MS Excel and had another website page open in the browser. The Surface 2 should be able to do the same.

surface 2 is not running full windows 8.1 so it's multitasking is also limited to 2 windows:

"Dual-window multitasking on the Surface 2 is limited to only two apps at a time. It's also a landscape-only affair, because windows are forced to the left and right of the display, not the top and bottom."

http://appleinsider.com/articles/13/10/26/impressions-working-with-microsofts-surface-2-type-cover-2

Trini Hookah wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:i kinda lol'ed at people wanting a stylus doh...like who still uses that sheit?

An S-pen isn't simply a stylus

i use the s-pen on a samsung note phone all the time for grocery lists etc. the s-pen on the note 2014 tablet is even better -- it's as good as writing with a pen on paper (using the papyrus app)

Postby mero » December 30th, 2013, 8:49 pm

Check out the Lumia 2520, srs

Postby pioneer » December 30th, 2013, 9:31 pm

When Apple ditched floppy drives people cyak

Same people today bawlin how ancient floppy drives were anyhow

Shane18

Postby Shane18 » December 30th, 2013, 9:41 pm

Wife has the surface first gen and I have the ipad. Surface hands down, does so much more right out of the box than the ipad, the usb comes in really handy at times too.

Kukka

Postby Kukka » December 30th, 2013, 9:55 pm

Note 10.1 coming from a owner of one. No regrets so far. Not a fan boy of either apple or samsung. It really boils down to how you plan to use your tablet. For me the s-pen is a plus.