blink throttling youtube?

demogorgon15

blink throttling youtube?

Postby demogorgon15 » December 25th, 2013, 6:39 pm

anyone else notice that blink may be throttling youtube? trying to stream vids even at 720p leads to tons of stuttering

Re: blink throttling youtube?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 25th, 2013, 7:23 pm

blink working like stare these days

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 25th, 2013, 7:50 pm

blink does throttle everything

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » December 25th, 2013, 7:51 pm

Flow user, not affected ...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 25th, 2013, 8:08 pm

yes I always have to use the lowest quality....

Postby Spitfir3 » December 25th, 2013, 8:10 pm

same ...low quality or nothing

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 25th, 2013, 8:22 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Flow user, not affected ...

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » December 25th, 2013, 8:24 pm

nick639 wrote:360p or nothing... Real struggle

144p for me! ! The struggle is real!

Postby ismithx » December 25th, 2013, 8:31 pm

360p..... blink got worse since 4g... tstt networks cyah handle the load i think

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 25th, 2013, 8:43 pm

its all fun and games until flow stops flowing and you have no idea when service will be restored and calling is a woft, one thing to like with blink is the csrs are clueless, but they will try to help and if all fails, when a contractor visits your house, you get a new modem free

Postby redmanjp » December 25th, 2013, 8:44 pm

ismithx wrote:360p..... blink got worse since 4g... tstt networks cyah handle the load i think

360p or less fuh me too- only have bodg wimax- my 4g net on my Q5 faster than dat when I connect to the builtin hotspot

Postby gastly369 » December 25th, 2013, 9:03 pm

mmm 1080p pumpin normel south

test done . while famz streaming netflix tho :\

nerd stats below

Postby ismithx » December 25th, 2013, 9:46 pm

"slower than 63% of TT"

i call BS

Postby maj. tom » December 25th, 2013, 9:51 pm

hmmm. no it's none of that.

Youtube uses something called DASH - Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP. Google's brilliant idea where they load the video in sections to make streaming more "efficient and targeted."

To disable it, use the extension for Firefox or Chrome called YouTube Centre and Youtube will return to the good old days of regular streaming, buffering and rewinding normally after pausing without rebuffering the entire video.

demogorgon15

Postby demogorgon15 » December 25th, 2013, 10:41 pm

Vids load just fine on flow and digi which I think rules out DASH as the culprit.

maj. tom wrote:hmmm. no it's none of that.

Youtube uses something called DASH - Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP. Google's brilliant idea where they load the video in sections to make streaming more "efficient and targeted."

To disable it, use the extension for Firefox or Chrome called YouTube Centre and Youtube will return to the good old days of regular streaming, buffering and rewinding normally after pausing without rebuffering the entire video.

Postby Spitfir3 » December 25th, 2013, 10:54 pm

before the lil pornos use to load up in a one, give it a 30 second to buffer at most an then yuh orn..now you have to wait like 4-5 forqin minutes for the least or else is buff countdown iymc

Postby maj. tom » December 25th, 2013, 11:13 pm

did you try the extension?

Postby skylinechild » December 25th, 2013, 11:45 pm

maj. tom wrote:did you try the extension?

will try it- is this it https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... src=search
i want to be sure before i install it. :|

Postby shogun » December 25th, 2013, 11:50 pm

Postby maj. tom » December 26th, 2013, 12:00 am

yep that's it. when you restart and go to youtube.com you will get a pop up page with the settings. lots of detail they took care of with this extension.

Bypassing DASH solves a lot of the loading and buffering problems.

balenoSport

Postby balenoSport » December 26th, 2013, 12:01 am

shogun wrote:

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 26th, 2013, 5:27 am

yea really beginning to hate blink, it always disconnects for no reason when i playing game

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 26th, 2013, 5:47 am

Blink uses CAT6 cable for the Internet and cable. I think flow is solid CAT5. The cable blink uses is not properly shielded, it just have a thin shielding. Can't carry large amounts of data and is subjected to interference. Flow's cable can carry huge amounts data, and is well shielded. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 26th, 2013, 5:49 am

The exchange always giving trouble too. That's why I switched to flow. it always shuts down, and blink never wants to compensate.

Postby pete » December 27th, 2013, 7:12 am

Where are they using the cat 6 that causes this problem?

Postby Rainman » December 27th, 2013, 7:17 am

Kal-El Ward wrote:Blink uses CAT6 cable for the Internet and cable. I think flow is solid CAT5. The cable blink uses is not properly shielded, it just have a thin shielding. Can't carry large amounts of data and is subjected to interference. Flow's cable can carry huge amounts data, and is well shielded. Please correct me if I am wrong.

What flabbergastery you talking?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » December 27th, 2013, 7:19 am

Youtube on blink seems to be working good now, if it sticks, just refresh once.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » December 27th, 2013, 3:20 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:Blink uses CAT6 cable for the Internet and cable. I think flow is solid CAT5. The cable blink uses is not properly shielded, it just have a thin shielding. Can't carry large amounts of data and is subjected to interference. Flow's cable can carry huge amounts data, and is well shielded. Please correct me if I am wrong.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 27th, 2013, 3:42 pm

ahhhh I knew it, the cat5 cable supposed to run outside the house, we've been doing it wrong all these years

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 27th, 2013, 6:40 pm

Well please correct me. This is what a technician explain to me. That's why I asked for correction if I am wrong.