Gift Ideas for my 15 month old son

Premera

Gift Ideas for my 15 month old son

Postby Premera » December 23rd, 2013, 5:59 am

Hi all, I am asking your suggestions ( useful ones ) in determining a gift for my son. He is 15 months old but is intellectually a bit for advanced than his age.

I was kinda set on getting him one of those battery operated cars ( remote controlled also ) for approx. 1500 plus BUT

I got turned off by the fact that NO WARRANTY applies on those products ad various sellers across T&T and also, I saw a lot of them mounted BUT were told they were not working ?

I was considering a tablet for him but not sure if it would be the best idea for him at his tender age ( I observed the loss of social skills with another child using a tablet/phone to play games in a salon and could not converse with any other child there )

He has a zillion stuffed toys, plastic cars, trucks etc etc.

I really need some good suggestions at this point.

Thanks as always all..........................INCLUDING YOUR OPINION PIOS....... 8-) 8-)

Re: Gift Ideas for my 15 min terms of benefittinonth old son

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 23rd, 2013, 6:14 am

Get the tablet, its up to you as the parent to have him become sociable, tablet use or not

Postby Rainman » December 23rd, 2013, 6:18 am

Ipad or nothing

Premera

Postby Premera » December 23rd, 2013, 6:22 am

Rainman wrote:Ipad or nothing

Thanks fellas.....which ipad would you suggest ?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 23rd, 2013, 6:28 am

ipad mini 32gb

Premera

Postby Premera » December 23rd, 2013, 6:30 am

thanks

Postby pioneer » December 23rd, 2013, 6:47 am

I'd say get him anything he wants, just for being smarter than his parents.

Premera

Postby Premera » December 23rd, 2013, 7:24 am

pioneer wrote:I'd say get him anything he wants, just for being smarter than his parents.

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.........the great pios has arrived............now we all gonna have a great week ahead.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thanks you Pios for blessing my post with your inspirational words...........rofl

On a more serious note, I am not really an Apple product lover.........

My preferences are Samsung, Toshiba, LG etc etc....

Any of these brands carries tablets similar to the ipad in terms of memory, ram, processor speeds etc etc ?

Postby pete » December 23rd, 2013, 7:40 am

Galaxy Tab 3 8".

Not sure where you can get one at a good price two days before Christmas though. Courts had but the price was a bit ridiculous.

Postby RASC » December 23rd, 2013, 7:44 am

Still trying to figure out the title for thread... gifts for "_____" old son?

A little attention to detail would be appreciated op. Thanks.

Re: Gift Ideas for my 15 month old son

Postby pete » December 23rd, 2013, 7:46 am

^^ edited to what I think it was supposed to be.

Premera

Postby Premera » December 23rd, 2013, 8:02 am

RASC wrote:Still trying to figure out the title for thread... gifts for "_____" old son?

A little attention to detail would be appreciated op. Thanks.

Thanks .......

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 23rd, 2013, 8:26 am

Check wizz, supertech, any computer or tech store for galaxy tab, there's a store upstairs Charrans mall in Chaguanas named Roc Boyz that may also have tabs

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 23rd, 2013, 8:27 am

an ipad for a 15mth old......lawd...

Postby foss » December 23rd, 2013, 8:40 am

a 15 month old girl

Postby honda hoe » December 23rd, 2013, 8:41 am

He is 15 months old but is intellectually a bit for advanced than his age.

was his IQ score?

Postby A172 » December 23rd, 2013, 9:01 am

e does coo and ghee baa = genius

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » December 23rd, 2013, 9:04 am

no cricket season pass?

Premera

Postby Premera » December 23rd, 2013, 9:32 am

JoKeR1980 wrote:no cricket season pass?

yup, yuh gyul buy fuh she, me and de baby..........

moti

Postby moti » December 23rd, 2013, 9:40 am

To be honest, those "ride ons" tend to be too cheaply built.

If you want something of quality, then get something from fisher price, you can get locally at Toy Mart.
Or you can import, just not in time for this year's Christmas.

The tablet is cool, but with a 15 month, I think you will need it replaced soon as chances of falling will be on the high side.

Get him something that can keep him active, both physically and mentally.
Kids in this generation are opened to far more advanced technology and they also have tons of other cool games available.

Premera

Postby Premera » December 23rd, 2013, 9:44 am

^^^^^ thanks moti.....opinion really appreciated.....thanks everyone else also

Postby eliteauto » December 23rd, 2013, 9:45 am

a football

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 23rd, 2013, 9:50 am

I'm with moti on this one..
I don't know any toddler that will not have an accident with a tablet. Not a good gift idea.

As he gets older, it is inevitable that he will get interested in technology though, so his time for tablets, smartphones, etc is yet to come. Stave it off for a bit.

For right now, get him games and toys that will encourage him to go outside, balls, tricycles, etc. As parents we tend to opt for the game/toy that will keep them quiet the longest. But what we should be doing is looking for those toys and games that will include us and that way we are also forced to go outside and play.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 23rd, 2013, 10:24 am

Give him something he can use to express himself with. Like something that he can use to develop his creativity.

eg. legos, sandbox, big ass white board, etc

moti

Postby moti » December 23rd, 2013, 10:29 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:big ass white board, etc

Have this, gave it to my son when he was around 20 months.
He is over 3 (not yet 4) and loves to write, color & draw.

However the i pad gets more attention now :lol:
He still writes on the pad, plus books and what not.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 23rd, 2013, 10:30 am

get him a "my baby can read series" its a dvd with the alphabet and numbers ..repeat it till he is older .

My bro in law got it for my nephew and been playing it in the van anywhere they went as well as home and now he is 3 and can speak well as well as do things alot of kids his age cannot do .

As for the tablet get an ipad or nuttin , however not at his age ,maybe at 2 or so there are more than a ton of free apps that he can use to learn stuff . Only reason i said ipad is because they do make a lifeproof case for them that will stand up to some abuse .

Postby Rainman » December 23rd, 2013, 10:34 am

My daughter has been using an ipad since she was 7 months old, i have a lifeproof case on it but she never drops it or damages it in anyway, she is now 15 months old.

Postby crazybalhead » December 23rd, 2013, 10:44 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:I'm with moti on this one..
I don't know any toddler that will not have an accident with a tablet. Not a good gift idea.

As he gets older, it is inevitable that he will get interested in technology though, so his time for tablets, smartphones, etc is yet to come. Stave it off for a bit.

For right now, get him games and toys that will encourage him to go outside, balls, tricycles, etc. As parents we tend to opt for the game/toy that will keep them quiet the longest. But what we should be doing is looking for those toys and games that will include us and that way we are also forced to go outside and play.

My son has been using a full sized ipad a year now (he was not 2 yet when he started). Must be supervised play. it is not a baby sitter. "As parents" "we" do not look for the toy that will keep him the quiet longest, but the ones that will stimulate and encourage intellectual and physical development, with a good fun factor.

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » December 23rd, 2013, 10:49 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:Give him something he can use to express himself with. Like something that he can use to develop his creativity.

eg. legos, sandbox, big ass white board, etc

I agree, lego is a good idea.

A tab or Ipad for a 15mth old child, thats sending a wrong message in my opinion.

14lover

Postby 14lover » December 23rd, 2013, 10:51 am

Bought my 3yr old daughter a kids tablet,its tough and can handle jamming..can use a sd mem card so it full of kids videos and stuff also has cameras and wifi, and i bought my 2yr old son a leap frog tablet with games and learning progs..both tabs are made tough so they can withstand force,an ipad is a no no..to fragile and expensive..