The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby Chimera » June 21st, 2021, 5:50 pm

Rpm like a day slower to clear than websource

Right now I using csf, ezone, rpm, websource, fedex, dhl weekly.

Not aeropost at all tho. Them cud hull dey mc

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 21st, 2021, 6:10 pm

I'll stick with aeropost, not ordering anything urgent, catering about 3 weeks from order to collect

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » June 22nd, 2021, 11:22 am

B&H Tropicals - packages delivered last week in May and still saying in transit or enroute to here.
Informed it left the Miami warehouse but not the airport.

I'm rarely ever in a rush to get packages, if I am I'll go through ZipX but this is approaching a month now. For something that takes about 8-10 days.

I am trying to figure out what exactly causing this delay because it still saying enroute...this is not even an issue with getting an appointment from customs. So i guess its not just aeropost.

Edit: Just as I posted, email received saying it is in Trinidad..Appointment delays.

Postby Chimera » June 22nd, 2021, 4:30 pm

Flights have cut down alot

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 23rd, 2021, 1:38 pm

So from now on we have to order things 1 month in advance. the way things going.

Postby Dave » June 23rd, 2021, 1:49 pm

Just explore another company.

Postby paid_influencer » June 23rd, 2021, 2:11 pm

i think we on the verge of a transition. back in 2010-2015 was the bright spot, easy, fast, cheap online ordering. ppl forget how good things was back in that time. Now it different. they introduce OPT but OPT was not all. these flight delays, forex issues (defacto restricting of carriers), and week-long customs delays... that is by design to frustrate ppl ordering online.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » June 23rd, 2021, 3:29 pm

yea i think those with those long delay times should seriously look at nex company, i get things in seabox faster than some of these skyboxes work, i.e. Seabox takes like 2 weeks after delivery to Miami.
Saturday gone i ordered a coal chimney along with some other lock down household essentials ah cya get no where rite now and i done get invoice so i expecting delivery dong in d bush here tomorrow or friday from trinebox.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » June 23rd, 2021, 5:52 pm

Yep. Cater for a month now when purchasing.
And things not looking up...

https://twitter.com/TheLeadCNN/status/1 ... 00453?s=19

...so is best you start ordering your Christmas gifts from all now so.

Postby Kenjo » June 23rd, 2021, 8:03 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i think we on the verge of a transition. back in 2010-2015 was the bright spot, easy, fast, cheap online ordering. ppl forget how good things was back in that time. Now it different. they introduce OPT but OPT was not all. these flight delays, forex issues (defacto restricting of carriers), and week-long customs delays... that is by design to frustrate ppl ordering online.

After OPT you noticed delayed times in skybox delivery or you mean corona made deliveries get long? Two different issues I’d say

Postby paid_influencer » June 23rd, 2021, 8:17 pm

corona is a scapegoat. the delays in customs started long before that as direct efforts to increase revenue collection in customs from skybox cargo. it's a continuation of the same policy directives that created OPT

Postby pugboy » June 23rd, 2021, 8:40 pm

yeah seabox is consistent
however they aren’t shipping every week anymore but every two weeks

daxt0r wrote:yea i think those with those long delay times should seriously look at nex company, i get things in seabox faster than some of these skyboxes work, i.e. Seabox takes like 2 weeks after delivery to Miami.
Saturday gone i ordered a coal chimney along with some other lock down household essentials ah cya get no where rite now and i done get invoice so i expecting delivery dong in d bush here tomorrow or friday from trinebox.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » June 23rd, 2021, 9:17 pm

Guys,

Anyone had an issue with Credit card payment declining for online purchases.

My card limit apparently is now on a monthly allowance for US$ purchase renewed each month.

I was informed this is the system imposed by the bank that your card limit is the limit for US$ purchases per month.

Postby paid_influencer » June 23rd, 2021, 9:26 pm

INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:Guys,

My card limit apparently is now on a monthly allowance for US$ purchase renewed each month.

I was informed this is the system imposed by the bank that your card limit is the limit for US$ purchases per month.

yes there is a monthly US$ limit on all local cards. It has been there for a couple years now.

If your card limit is $500 US, for example, you can only spend that much per month, even if you pay it off in TTD in full before the month over.

normally you can call the bank to find out their monthly cycle date and plan around that.

Postby Chimera » June 23rd, 2021, 11:26 pm

for a while now all the banks have been strictly imposing their USD limits for the month

scotia bank has cut alot of their customers down to 3000 usd and in some cases 500 usd per month no matter what the card is

so you could have a scotia credit card with 100k limit and you can only use 3000 USD per month on it, you can use the full 100k in TT though

FCB monthly limit use to be 20k per card, they swing last year and cut it fro 11k,9k,8k depending on the card

Postby st7 » June 24th, 2021, 3:44 pm

man what i realised with amazon is that they list the full price of the item, and add the discounts below. so no way skybox/customs gonna know it cost less with the price you actually paid for it.

any way to deal with this?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 24th, 2021, 6:14 pm

This hit me cold from RBC at the end of last month (May).
I bought some items and I see Amazon sending me mail to say that my card was rejected. :shock:

I know I had funds on my card. I checked it and it was there, contacted Amazon and they tried again ....same thing. CSR said check your bank.

I call up RBC and they lo and behold explain to me that there is a new monthly limit that renews on the 1st of every month.
So yeah yuh hasis to plan yuh things now.

Btw....this thing leave Miami since July 4th...20 days later ????
people ...order yuh thing a month in advance.

tuner .jpg
Last edited by christopherwilliams2 on June 25th, 2021, 4:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 24th, 2021, 9:38 pm

29 Days. Great is Aeropost. Looks like our stuff in the same batch.

Screenshot 2021-06-24 213554.JPG

Postby Chimera » June 25th, 2021, 2:57 am

this kinda flabbergastery is why small businesses have to close down

i order 2 sword sets from a seller on facebook who normally deals with those things

he guarantee me 3 weeks, i ask him if he sure considering how long customs taking to clear, he say yeah 3 weeks for sure

its been about 6 weeks and i eh hear from him lol

i eh really bugging him because i myself know customs flabbergastery these days

Postby pugboy » June 25th, 2021, 6:58 am

I just received stuff from seabox yesterday, 3 weeks lol

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » June 25th, 2021, 9:11 am

trinigamer wrote:Aeropost received a package for me on the 28th May. Still in Miami.

Still 'Delayed in Customs'.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » June 25th, 2021, 9:22 am

1. Package received by Websource on 15/06. Still awaiting customs clearance to date 25/06.

2. Package received by Jetbox on 14/06. Collected on 21/06.

But after Prime day, Jetbox might very well be delayed too.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 25th, 2021, 9:52 am

st7 wrote:man what i realised with amazon is that they list the full price of the item, and add the discounts below. so no way skybox/customs gonna know it cost less with the price you actually paid for it.

The amazon invoice dont show price paid?

Postby Gem_in_i » June 25th, 2021, 9:53 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:This hit me cold from RBC at the end of last month (May).
I bought some items and I see Amazon sending me mail to say that my card was rejected. :shock:

I know I had funds on my card. I checked it and it was there, contacted Amazon and they tried again ....same thing. CSR said check your bank.

I call up RBC and they lo and behold explain to me that there is a new monthly limit that renews on the 1st of every month.
So yeah yuh hasis to plan yuh things now.

Btw....this thing leave Miami since July 4th...20 days later ????
people ...order yuh thing a month in advance.

Same thing with me and RBC. When I called the CC line they said I used up my US$ limit for the month

Postby paid_influencer » June 25th, 2021, 10:37 am

did RBC change the limit? or is it a new limit structure or something?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 25th, 2021, 10:59 am

paid_influencer wrote:did RBC change the limit? or is it a new limit structure or something?

RBC is only allowing you the equivalent USD based on your credit limit.
Example : If your credit limit is $12,000TT it means you have a little over $1,700USD to spend for the month.

Postby st7 » June 25th, 2021, 11:36 am

Gem_in_i wrote:
st7 wrote:man what i realised with amazon is that they list the full price of the item, and add the discounts below. so no way skybox/customs gonna know it cost less with the price you actually paid for it.

The amazon invoice dont show price paid?

it shows the full retail price, not the Deals price.

So if you bought a $1000 phone for $600 as it was on sale, it will display $1000, then you'll see the 400 subtracted from the total as a 'lightning deal'. of course, if you purchased the item separately, it easy to see, but when you buying a bunch of things at the same time you can't tell anything.

Postby wagonrunner » June 29th, 2021, 4:57 pm

Any issues importing Li-ion Camera Replacement Canon LP-E8 Batteries?
If yhere were no issues, how recently? with which skybox service? any extra steps had to be done?

Postby Dave » June 29th, 2021, 5:52 pm

Last battery I bought was classified as Hazmat and the usual charges associated with it. However other batteries came with no Hazmat attention.
This was with Trincargo.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 29th, 2021, 6:06 pm

Hmm I hope the same thing don't happen with me. I ordered a phone battery over a week now through eZone.