The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Zalos

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby Zalos » October 27th, 2021, 11:05 am

tropi_flakes wrote:Aeropost freight gone up ? Last month they charged me $68 for a video doorbell yet still today I got charge $100 for headphones that weigh much less.....

Show us the invoice for the charges and how much its valued at.

Aeropost used to be 'expensive' because other companies used to declare the value to be less than it actually is.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2021, 7:20 am

What's the difference between online purchase tax and import vat...add customs duty to that....seeing some rather disturbing figures on some items I purchased recently...used web source

Postby Dave » October 28th, 2021, 7:28 am

Online tax is the 7%
Import vat is vat charged on imports at 12.5%
Duty/Customs charge is the rate the item being imported is taxed by the government such as motor vehicles parts 30%

Postby hover11 » October 28th, 2021, 7:32 am

Dave wrote:Online tax is the 7%
Duty/Customs charge is the rate the item being imported is taxed by the government such as motor vehicles parts 30%
All these taxes to dissuade the public from buying foreign and support local yet it still cheaper to order online LOL . Online tax only applies to air cargo as items brought through sea are not subject to such

Postby Dave » October 28th, 2021, 8:18 am

Everything imported into the country is subject to these taxes. The only new one is the 7% as rightly stated applies to online shopping through air freight.
hover11 wrote:
All these taxes to dissuade the public from buying foreign and support local yet it still cheaper to order online LOL . Online tax only applies to air cargo as items brought through sea are not subject to such

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » October 28th, 2021, 9:37 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What's the difference between online purchase tax and import vat...add customs duty to that....seeing some rather disturbing figures on some items I purchased recently...used web source
You can go to any local skybox website, they have a "calculator " that would give you a breakdown of the categories of items and their associated taxes.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2021, 10:31 am

Thanks for the feedback....the extra shaft i get was from customs. Checked old invoices from other couriers, very soon its gonna be cheaper to jump on a plane and go shopping. Covid or not!

Postby Dave » October 28th, 2021, 10:59 am

And hopefully not get jammed in the airport!

Postby st7 » October 28th, 2021, 4:07 pm

Dave wrote:Everything imported into the country is subject to these taxes. The only new one is the 7% as rightly stated applies to online shopping through air freight.
hover11 wrote:

no 7% tax on computers/laptops/computer parts via air freight too.. i think cell phones as well? not sure. where's the surgeon?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 28th, 2021, 4:57 pm

So ...RPM site mashup or what???

The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby MaxPower » October 28th, 2021, 5:37 pm

hover11 wrote:
wtf wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:websource taking 8-9 days now
Christmas coming.
Trinis have money

Jason,

You remember Trinis bawling about the online tax?

Look at them now.

Tizic tizic and cannot even control themselves.

Postby hover11 » October 28th, 2021, 5:42 pm

hover11 wrote:
wtf wrote:
Christmas coming.
Trinis have money

Jason,

Look at them now.

Max,

Lemme tell you sum about trinis, they are the happiest ppl you will ever come across, they don't have a clue what real suffering is, they love to complain about every little thing and yet do it anyway, they bump their gums about online and property tax yet will pay it anyway

Postby MaxPower » October 28th, 2021, 5:45 pm

hover11 wrote:
wtf wrote:
Christmas coming.
Trinis have money

Jason,

Look at them now.

Max,

Lemme tell you sum about trinis, they are the happiest ppl you will ever come across, they don't have a clue what real suffering is, they love to complain about every little thing and yet do it anyway, they bump their gums about online and property tax yet will pay it anyway

Jason that is 100% accurate.

Which is why they are never taken seriously and are just a bunch of bobolees.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 28th, 2021, 9:19 pm

Didn't the personal limit raise the other day?
Dave wrote:And hopefully not get jammed in the airport!

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 10th, 2021, 1:36 pm

You would think providers would try to step up their game and adapt, however, Aeropost has a package received on Nov 4 and still hasn't left Miami as at the 10th.

Wonder if they blame customs for that.

Postby Kenjo » November 10th, 2021, 2:02 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:You would think providers would try to step up their game and adapt, however, Aeropost has a package received on Nov 4 and still hasn't left Miami as at the 10th.

Is it a restricted item though ?battery or anything like that ?

Postby gastly369 » November 10th, 2021, 2:42 pm

Can someone walk with "their" drone in suitcase if coming in TT?

Postby st7 » November 10th, 2021, 3:12 pm

gastly369 wrote:Can someone walk with "their" drone in suitcase if coming in TT?

yeah i doh think anything wrong with that. that's how people travel.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 10th, 2021, 3:13 pm

Is it legal to buy drones from Amazon?

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 10th, 2021, 3:16 pm

Kenjo wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:You would think providers would try to step up their game and adapt, however, Aeropost has a package received on Nov 4 and still hasn't left Miami as at the 10th.

Is it a restricted item though ?battery or anything like that ?

Nope, a watch band some T10 LEDs.

No such issues (yet) with newbie RPM. They delivering within 7-10 days consistently.

Postby supercharged turbo » November 10th, 2021, 4:08 pm

Anybody shipped cologne through Websource recently and what was your experience?Do you need a Hazmat permit or it coming through normal?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 10th, 2021, 6:09 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Anybody shipped cologne through Websource recently and what was your experience?Do you need a Hazmat permit or it coming through normal?
They ship perfumes now? I use jetbox with no issue

Postby supercharged turbo » November 10th, 2021, 8:18 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Anybody shipped cologne through Websource recently and what was your experience?Do you need a Hazmat permit or it coming through normal?
They ship perfumes now? I use jetbox with no issue
I shipped cologne with them years ago and it was normal.Now I hear is a whole different story

Postby S_2NR » November 11th, 2021, 7:11 am

I could never understand how men having probs with aero. Now my packages literally clearing 2-4 days after arriving in trinidad. Never had a package sit in Miami more than 24 hrs.

*knock on wood*

Postby Kenjo » November 11th, 2021, 7:13 am

S_2NR wrote:I could never understand how men having probs with aero. Now my packages literally clearing 2-4 days after arriving in trinidad. Never had a package sit in Miami more than 24 hrs.

*knock on wood*

Only within the last month they have been returning to respectable times

Postby gastly369 » November 11th, 2021, 7:18 am

wtf wrote:Is it legal to buy drones from Amazon?
You can via skybox but lots running around with paper work...

I do have the docs for it on pdf
Need to contact aviation authority and tatt

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 12th, 2021, 1:57 am

gastly369 wrote:
wtf wrote:Is it legal to buy drones from Amazon?
You can via skybox but lots running around with paper work...

I do have the docs for it on pdf
Need to contact aviation authority and tatt
Really, I wanted to purchase one, didn't realise you need extra stuff to bring it in

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » November 12th, 2021, 2:39 pm

You may not need anything extra if it's below the weight specified by Civil Aviation where you're required to register it.

I can't remember the exact weight requirement, but I recently purchased a DJI Mavic Mini which is only 249 grams, and it was processed through Customs like normal. No extra paperwork or drama required.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » November 12th, 2021, 3:30 pm

Arcmanov wrote:You may not need anything extra if it's below the weight specified by Civil Aviation where you're required to register it.

I can't remember the exact weight requirement, but I recently purchased a DJI Mavic Mini which is only 249 grams, and it was processed through Customs like normal. No extra paperwork or drama required.

I seeing under 750g you dont need to register
https://uavcoach.com/drone-laws-in-trinidad-and-tobago/

Postby gastly369 » November 12th, 2021, 3:32 pm

Arcmanov wrote:You may not need anything extra if it's below the weight specified by Civil Aviation where you're required to register it.

Yeh the one I want is 530 grams which should be ok.. Our drone law once 750g and above requires registration well but as well all know depends on the officer mood that day and if he get horn or if he wife eh cook for he etc.