The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby Chimera » August 11th, 2021, 3:21 pm

Swisha wrote:From their website. It's a "privilege" according to them

There's a 3.5 to 5.5 percentage fee that rpm has to pay to whoever is handling the online card transactions. Whether it be a local bank or a foreign bank. It's obvious that the customer would have to cover that.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 11th, 2021, 3:24 pm

So websource is absorbing that cost for it's customers?

Postby S_2NR » August 11th, 2021, 3:37 pm

Arcmanov wrote:LOL... no company will turn down more business, especially right now.

yea but thats not the issue.
as they grow and have more packages to clear, time in customs would increase.
that is exactly what going on with aeropost right now.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » August 11th, 2021, 6:10 pm

How are WebSource and CSF?

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2021, 12:54 am

Yes it looks so.
I just paid for a package online with websource and it converts to exactly 6.82

Swisha wrote:So websource is absorbing that cost for it's customers?

Screenshot_20210812-005342_Web%20Source.jpg

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 12th, 2021, 9:58 am

Packages in Aeropost starting to pickup the pace in clearing

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 12th, 2021, 12:25 pm

Kronik wrote:Packages in Aeropost starting to pickup the pace in clearing

we shall see.

Postby Habit7 » August 12th, 2021, 12:29 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

we shall see.

I am waiting for 2wks now and it is still salt

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » August 12th, 2021, 12:30 pm

Not for me. The only packages I had move were the ones that reached Miami 22 days ago. I am done with Aeropost.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 12th, 2021, 2:17 pm

edit*** RPM: One week later from arrival in Miami, ready for pickup or delivery. :lol:
Aeropost has officially got competition.
rpm.jpg
Last edited by christopherwilliams2 on August 12th, 2021, 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » August 12th, 2021, 2:43 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:One week later from arrival in Miami, ready for pickup or delivery.
Aeropost has officially got competition.
Which provider?

Edit: Nevermind, just saw RPM.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 13th, 2021, 7:30 am

So usps stating my package delivered to aero on the 9th, but only on the 12th they telling me it received at the warehouse to prepare for shipment.
Since when we taking 4 days for something to show up as received on the system.

Side note 3 other packages still waiting to clear going into 3 weeks now
Screenshot_20210813-072320_Aeropost.jpg
Screenshot_20210813-072445_eBay.jpg

Postby sMASH » August 13th, 2021, 9:10 am

csf taking from just under 2 weeks to around 3wks from florida to pick up. it was worse than that a couple months ago. so they getting back to a normal timing

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 13th, 2021, 9:59 am

USPS delivery is not to Aeropost, just to the relevant post office. Aeropost collects USPS packages in bulk.

I seeing RPM saying out for delivery today so we will see.

Back to 25 days and still delayed in customs for Aeropost.

Edit @ 1:15PM RPM delivers.
Last edited by Strugglerzinc on August 13th, 2021, 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » August 13th, 2021, 10:22 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Tropical express playing up in dey MC again....
Whole fkn month to get yuh pkg and everything taxed to fk out.
My lil sis ordered some books: all kinda 120 to clear.....wtf.
Usually books never come up more than 60.

A slipper that cost 30US cost 129 to clear
How?
Thats more than 50% the cost of the item in TT

They (government) really aint want ppl have nothing nice nah.....

That fee might be true...I think shoes are 30%-40% duty so 30% of 204TT (footwear price) is about 60 dollars. the shoes maybe about 1-2lbs...with shipping insurance etc 7TT0 dollars. so 129TT is an expected price.

I ordered a pair of bike shoes from Nike, originally priced at USD$120 plus taxes, but paid $77 sale price. Sent it via Seabox as I thought it would be cheaper (as there is no online tax) and well, because the gyms are closed now so there is no urgency for the item. I ended up paying $325 to customs, whereas my friend who ordered the same shoe, at full price paid $260, Websource, one month prior.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 13th, 2021, 10:37 am

Collected a package with Aeropost 26 days after Amazon delivered it to them.

I'm skeptical of switching because once those other companies customer portfolio grows and their volume increases, it means their service can likely slow down a bit especially if their resources/infrastructure are not scalable.

I was told more than 2 years ago that Aeropost was the largest skybox company in T&T and the Caribbean so perhaps their greatest challenge right now is the volume of shipments they have coming in and to clear.

As more people leave Aeropost who knows, their service will get better? I'll re-evaluate my future with them before the year is out but if continued feedback from this thread shows that Aeropost should be history then I'll switch in time for 2022.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 13th, 2021, 10:51 am

Long term, I'm not switching from Aeropost. Short term, I'll use whoever's faster until they improve.

For my business, I can't wait a month for something I may need.

Postby Habit7 » August 13th, 2021, 11:01 am

justheretoreadthecomments wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Tropical express playing up in dey MC again....
Whole fkn month to get yuh pkg and everything taxed to fk out.
My lil sis ordered some books: all kinda 120 to clear.....wtf.
Usually books never come up more than 60.

A slipper that cost 30US cost 129 to clear
How?
Thats more than 50% the cost of the item in TT

They (government) really aint want ppl have nothing nice nah.....

That fee might be true...I think shoes are 30%-40% duty so 30% of 204TT (footwear price) is about 60 dollars. the shoes maybe about 1-2lbs...with shipping insurance etc 7TT0 dollars. so 129TT is an expected price.

I ordered a pair of bike shoes from Nike, originally priced at USD$120 plus taxes, but paid $77 sale price. Sent it via Seabox as I thought it would be cheaper (as there is no online tax) and well, because the gyms are closed now so there is no urgency for the item. I ended up paying $325 to customs, whereas my friend who ordered the same shoe, at full price paid $260, Websource, one month prior.

My experience is that Seabox is robbery.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » August 13th, 2021, 12:37 pm

Just switched from Aeropost to CSF. Ordered my first package to them. We'll see his this goes.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 13th, 2021, 3:11 pm

wait nah allyuh....the way allyuh saying 'switch' like is a new family you going to.
You can be with 3 skyboxes at the same time easy easy. Just an additional address on Amazon. No biggie to send something to one skybox and another....it not so much a big deal yo.

Postby Chimera » August 13th, 2021, 3:31 pm

lol exactly

i have accounts with

ezone
aeropost
csf
rpm
websource
inviare

i find myself only using RPM and websource now though

websource will allow you to ship things that RPM wont

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 13th, 2021, 3:33 pm

what won't RPM ship ?
let me know so I can know how to move .

Phone Surgeon wrote:lol exactly

i have accounts with

ezone
aeropost
csf
rpm
websource
inviare

i find myself only using RPM and websource now though

websource will allow you to ship things that RPM wont

Postby S_2NR » August 13th, 2021, 6:40 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:wait nah allyuh....the way allyuh saying 'switch' like is a new family you going to.
You can be with 3 skyboxes at the same time easy easy. Just an additional address on Amazon. No biggie to send something to one skybox and another....it not so much a big deal yo.

i just like to keep my life simple. having one skybox is one way of doing that.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 13th, 2021, 9:54 pm

One of my aeropost packages landed here on the 2/8/21 and I see its released 13/08/21 and ready for pick up....de obeah working.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 13th, 2021, 9:58 pm

I have 5 packages since early July who would like to know the address of your obeah man.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 13th, 2021, 10:26 pm

Most of my Aeropost packages that was held up getting cleared, two more get released today, and I collected two yesterday.

Well I have a few more heading to Miami, so I'll see the timeline for those

Postby Kenjo » August 14th, 2021, 1:05 am

Seabox item reached Miami 23/7/2021 and ready for pick up today but I guess aeropost is getting back improved times as customs picks up . Another one reached Miami 26/7/2021 so I’ll see if that comes in next week. These were heavy AF items so either way it was for seabox

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » August 14th, 2021, 9:51 am

Tried out Jetbox

July 23 - Package delivered in Miami
July 30 - Logged / warehouse receipt sent
Aug 5 - Shipped to Trinidad
Aug 9 - Update - still in customs
Aug 14 - Package collected

Flip side is I paid $75TT to clear a phone, desk lamp and two skin care products.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 17th, 2021, 12:24 pm

Aeropost 3 things delivered from 20, 27 and 28 July. Delivery guy assures me things speeding back up.

Postby S_2NR » August 17th, 2021, 1:17 pm

yea Aeropost is moving faster now.
and by faster, i mean they arent taking a month :lol:
it seems to be back to 2 wks to clear now.