GT, Guyana to Rio in Brazil by LAND ! World Cup !

Veritrini

GT, Guyana to Rio in Brazil by LAND ! World Cup !

Postby Veritrini » December 11th, 2013, 4:44 pm

Hey,

Wanted to know if anyone has taken the route from Guyana to Brazil within recent years. I have been told that the roads are fixed and its frequently travelled.

Looking at the option of going to the World Cup Brazil with a group of friends by bus from Guyana, instead of paying 2600USD for airfare alone !

Ive been told a lot of Trinis taking this route. Anyone with information, please post. Thanks

Re: GT, Guyana to Rio in Brazil by LAND ! World Cup !

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2013, 4:53 pm

hadda be careful eh

them buck does run out of the forest and grab random people from the bus, never to be seen again.

silver

Postby silver » December 11th, 2013, 5:19 pm

it have a bridge over the amazon river?
how long is that drive?

please go with several gopro cameras...with immediate uplink..i would watch this horror story on pay per view

Postby maj. tom » December 11th, 2013, 5:32 pm

Postby pete » December 11th, 2013, 5:34 pm

Why not buy a 50"+ tv subscribe to DirecTV HD /however to watch the games and enjoy them in the comfort of your own home?

Postby equipped2ripp » December 11th, 2013, 5:51 pm

This doesn't make sense and it is not safe.

I had friends who drove from Georgetown to Porto Velho and it took them nearly a week. You need a solid 4x4 and you have to walk with lots of diesel. A bus would not be sufficient to go through the jungle, they would only take you to Lethem on the border.

You're going down through the middle of the continent, and then you need to find yourself to the East coast of Brazil which would then take you another few days. This isn't an easy journey as you would need to go with people who know the routes. You mightn't even make it out alive, as there are many gangs/robbers throughout the route robbing people of valuables, equipment diesel etc. If you value $2600US more than your life, then by all means go ahead.
Last edited by equipped2ripp on December 11th, 2013, 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » December 11th, 2013, 5:54 pm

pete wrote:Why not buy a 50"+ tv subscribe to DirecTV HD /however to watch the games and enjoy them in the comfort of your own home?

Ever been to a world cup?
Easily ranks as one of the top experiences in life. TV comes no where close.

Postby AllTrac » December 11th, 2013, 5:57 pm

pete wrote:Why not buy a 50"+ tv subscribe to DirecTV HD /however to watch the games and enjoy them in the comfort of your own home?

pete come on, that could never compare

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » December 11th, 2013, 7:59 pm

I say put together 3 other tuners and lets do it for the once in a lifetime opportunity. I could probably access a late model Land Rover in Guyana and it could be the most fun couple weeks ever.

Postby pete » December 11th, 2013, 8:55 pm

Didn't really mean the tv suggestion. Just the idea of any kind of land journey from guyana to rio sounded so insane.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 11th, 2013, 9:10 pm

I heard it's a helluva trip, but not for puzzies/sheltered/richboy folk.
As long as you have some street sense (yes I know is bush we talking about here), you'll be fine.
Leave the wife at home, make the trip with your brethren.

Postby Country_Bookie » December 11th, 2013, 9:58 pm

Be sure to watch this movie before u go:

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 11th, 2013, 11:11 pm

Madness. You looking to save on the flight. What about match tickets and accommodation?

That trek has, "Locked Up Abroad" written all over it.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 11th, 2013, 11:49 pm

did that run a couple years ago, it was incredible; think Wacky Races on a horrible taska road, and there you go. As much as I liked the run though, I won't advise it if the world cup is your ultimate destination; if something should go wrong and you get delayed, you'll be kicking yourself for just trying to save some dollars.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » December 12th, 2013, 9:07 am

Op, if you have one of these, by all means ....

Postby RASC » December 12th, 2013, 9:50 am

Is it seriously that dangerous?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 12th, 2013, 9:55 am

I would imagine whoever is doing this would be going to the nearest city with World Cup matches (Manaus) to Guyana and not to Rio or Sao Paulo

Manaus matches are:
England vs Italy; Cameroon vs Croatia; USA vs Portugal and Honduras vs Switzerland

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 12th, 2013, 10:09 am

Finding accommodation is done pressure since tickets for the matches started to sell! Pay your money OP and fly.
From Georgetown to Lethem (border) is about 1 1/2 days alone. When I made that run a few years ago, the cross in the big buss shell out, 8 hours delay. You compare that small distance to reaching Rio on google map?! Is real far!

Postby pete » December 12th, 2013, 10:22 am

Google has no road from Guyana to Brazil, the easier option is this, take a pirogue to Guiria in Venezuela and there's road/ferries to get where you want to go.

Postby maj. tom » December 12th, 2013, 10:38 am

Goodbye OP.

Postby RASC » December 12th, 2013, 11:09 am

Have some real.cats on this forum. Y'all are the type only wanna stay in no less than 4 star hotel, rented luxury car... or the complete opposite. Not a mark in your passport cause "why I going dere for" mentality.

Any adventure seekers around still?

Postby desifemlove » December 12th, 2013, 11:26 am

by land? when yuh in de Amazon, smuggle a anaconda for me nah.. lol..

bet plenty of people would want to buy dat as a pet. :o

Veritrini

Postby Veritrini » December 12th, 2013, 11:32 am

pete wrote:Google has no road from Guyana to Brazil, the easier option is this, take a pirogue to Guiria in Venezuela and there's road/ferries to get where you want to go.

There are roads ! There is even a bus that takes you from Guyana to Boa Vista Brazil. Please do some research before you make misinformed statements.

Postby desifemlove » December 12th, 2013, 11:35 am

maj. tom wrote:Image

Goodbye OP.

meh, only danger is if OP swim in a river or lake.

on land, a human could outwalk a grown anaconda, let along outrun it. and only a grown one could constrict/eat a man, dey does reach about 24ft max, so perhaps a 17ft could eat a person. even still, the big ones would only be deep in the Amazon.

Postby pete » December 12th, 2013, 11:55 am

RASC wrote:Have some real.cats on this forum. Y'all are the type only wanna stay in no less than 4 star hotel, rented luxury car... or the complete opposite. Not a mark in your passport cause "why I going dere for" mentality.

Any adventure seekers around still?

You going next year?

Postby rfari » December 12th, 2013, 11:56 am

time flies. remember discussing it with brethrens a couple years ago. 2014 was so far away then boom! anyways, sub'd for info as well.

edit: so that everyone is up to speed with names of cities, venues and distances

for kml file to import into google earth
https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?f=q&sou ... f29b1733ed

to be verified
Rio de Janeiro
Maracanã (71,159 seats)

Matches:
Group F – Argentina vs Bosnia-Herzegovina
Group B – Spain vs Chile
Group H – Belgium vs Russia
Group E – Ecuador vs France
Round of 16 – 1C v 2D
Quarter-final – W53 v W54
Final – W61 v W62

São Paulo
Arena de São Paulo (Arena Corinthians – 59,955 seats)

Matches:
Group A – Brazil v Croatia (opening match)
Group D – Uruguay vs England
Group B – Netherlands vs Chile
Group H – Korea Republic vs Belgium
Round of 16 – 1F v 2E
Semi-final – W59 v W60

Belo Horizonte
Mineirão (56,091 seats)

Matches:
Group C – Colombia vs Greece
Group H – Belgium vs Algeria
Group F – Argentina vs Iran
Group D – Costa Rica vs England
Round of 16 – 1A v 2B
Semi-final – W57 v W58

Brasilia
Estádio Nacional de Brasilia (65,702 seats)

Matches:
Group E – Switzerland vs Ecuador
Group C – Colombia vs Ivory Coast
Group A – Cameroon vs Brazil
Group G – Portugal vs Ghana
Round of 16 – 1E v 2F
Quarter-final – W55 v W56
Third place – L61 v L62

Fortaleza
Arena Castelão (57,747 seats)

Matches:
Group D – Uruguay vs Costa Rica
Group A – Brazil vs Mexico
Group G – Germany vs Ghana
Group C – Greece vs Ivory Coast
Round of 16 – 1B v 2A
Quarter-final – W49 v W50

Salvador
Arena Fonte Nova (49,280 seats)

Matches:
Group B – Spain vs Netherlands
Group G – Germany vs Portugal
Group E – Switzerland vs France
Group F – Bosnia-Herzegovina vs Iran
Round of 16 – 1H v 2G
Quarter-final – W51 v W52

Porto Alegre
Estádio Beira-Rio (42,153 seats)

Matches:
Group E – France vs Honduras
Group B – Australia vs Netherlands
Group H – Korea Republic vs Algeria
Group F – Nigeria vs Argentina
Round of 16 – 1G v 2H

Recife
Arena Pernambuco (40,604 seats)

Matches:
Group C – Ivory Coast vs Japan
Group D – Italy vs Costa Rica
Group A – Croatia vs Mexico
Group G – USA vs Germany
Round of 16 – 1F v 2E

Manaus
Arena da Amazônia (39,573 seats)

Matches:
Group D – England vs Italy
Group A – Cameroon vs Croatia
Group G – USA vs Portugal
Group E – Honduras vs Switzerland

Cuiabá
Arena Pantanal (39,553 seats)

Matches:
Group B – Chile vs Australia
Group H – Russia vs Korea Republic
Group F – Nigeria vs Bosnia-Herzegovina
Group C – Japan vs Colombia

Natal
Arena das Dunas (39,304 seats)

Matches:
Group A – Mexico vs Cameroon
Group G – Ghana vs USA
Group C – Japan vs Greece
Group D – Italy vs Uruguay

Curitiba
Arena da Baixada (37,634 seats)

Matches:
Group F – Iran vs Nigeria
Group E – Honduras vs Ecuador
Group B – Australia vs Spain
Group H – Algeria vs Russia

http://www.stadiumguide.com/tournaments ... -cup-2014/
Last edited by rfari on December 12th, 2013, 12:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby RASC » December 12th, 2013, 11:56 am

Veritrini wrote:
pete wrote:Google has no road from Guyana to Brazil, the easier option is this, take a pirogue to Guiria in Venezuela and there's road/ferries to get where you want to go.

There are roads ! There is even a bus that takes you from Guyana to Boa Vista Brazil. Please do some research before you make misinformed statements.

Pete better than that buddy... hear eat a snickers. Youre not yourself when you're hungry! Better?

Postby rfari » December 12th, 2013, 1:39 pm

-flight (CAL) from trini to georgetown -US$ 309.90

-georgetown to lethem (bus) £36 (reference: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g2 ... uyana.html)

-lethem to boa vista, brazil (bus possibly?, 130km)
https://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=Leth ... mra=ls&z=9

-Flight (TAM) from boa vista to rio -US$ 251.02
http://bit.ly/1fnwNGm

Postby Gem_in_i » December 12th, 2013, 1:46 pm

You got tickets? I see Cartan have some packages but expensive as expected.

Postby DFC » December 12th, 2013, 1:54 pm

RIP op.

i've done many crazy things in life. but i will not do this.

Kidnappings, rape, diseases, botfly, robberies, anacondas, drugs, beheadings.

But if you do it meng 1000+ respect for you.

Goodluck,