ST. JOSEPH RIVER BRIDGE RECONSTRUCTION PROJECT

ADONI

ST. JOSEPH RIVER BRIDGE RECONSTRUCTION PROJECT

Postby ADONI » December 3rd, 2013, 10:09 am

This is a 16 month project, starting in December 2013, with the bridge scheduled to be closed from January 2014, will obviously cause serious disruption of traffic.
More info in the link:
http://www.mowt.gov.tt/general/project. ... ojectID=12

Re: ST. JOSEPH RIVER BRIDGE RECONSTRUCTION PROJECT

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 3rd, 2013, 10:15 am

most of this new bridge would be prefab and assembled on site. majority of the on site work would be the foundation for the new bridge...
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on December 3rd, 2013, 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » December 3rd, 2013, 10:29 am

^^ not that u can't check, u can't read. the project begins in december 2013, the bridge will be closed from jan 2014. 16 months is the length of time the upgrade is supposed to take place.

Once they allowing PBR access its all good

Postby pete » December 3rd, 2013, 11:15 am

Have to pass there every day.. Where will the majority of cars pass while the project is going on? from Curepe junction to Mt Hope or just by the bottom of abercromby street?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 3rd, 2013, 11:28 am

DevilZ wrote:Once they allowing PBR access its all good

4 real!

Postby wagonrunner » December 3rd, 2013, 11:39 am

pete wrote:Have to pass there every day.. Where will the majority of cars pass while the project is going on? from Curepe junction to Mt Hope or just by the bottom of abercromby street?

Eastbound use McLean St.

westbound use Farm Road

Postby pete » December 3rd, 2013, 11:45 am

That road can't take any more loading. Traffic light by the bus route really kills that even nearly being a viable solution. It's too narrow with pavement on either side and speed bumps. If that's where all the main road traffic has to go then I'm not bothering with curepe at all to get to St. Joseph. :lol:

*edit* and the other road out of st.joseph is also very narrow and you need to pass st. joseph's convent to get past there unless they change up the traffic plan for the area a lot but maybe that could kinda work.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 3rd, 2013, 12:19 pm

I am more worried about the contractor who has been awarded this project. Hopefully 16 months would not turn into 36 months like what happened when they reconstructed the westbound lane bridge in the early 1980s.

Postby wagonrunner » December 3rd, 2013, 12:26 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:I am more worried about the contractor who has been awarded this project. Hopefully 16 months would not turn into 36 months like what happened when they reconstructed the westbound lane bridge in the early 1980s.

how long has the bridge from calcutta #2 freeport to couva main road been closed?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 3rd, 2013, 12:42 pm

wagonrunner wrote:how long has the bridge from calcutta #2 freeport to couva main road been closed?

I have no idea. But up to February 2013, I saw cars traversing the bridge (even though there are "Bridge Closed" signs). They are re-constructing it now and the newspapers say that the construction of the new bridge is supposed to be finished by May 2014.

Postby SMc » December 3rd, 2013, 2:29 pm

Think it would be more profitable to sell bottle water and nuts on Farm rd. or McLean St?

Postby pete » December 3rd, 2013, 2:39 pm

On the highway by KFC would be better.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 3rd, 2013, 2:55 pm

Expressed concern about the contractor chosen . To me 16 months is a bit too long if a precast single span replacement is to be inserted with the abutments , similar to what exists now on the western lane. I hope they get the connection to the existing road way correct . We don't have a history of doing this well.

Chaos with traffic expected , how they manage this is key .

Postby SMc » December 3rd, 2013, 3:03 pm

pete wrote:On the highway by KFC would be better.

Nah..to much competition there...an I doh have a Bobo Ras so I already at a disadvantage.

So Pete seeing that you will be stuck in traffic for an extended period of time over the next 2 years what snack/service/beverage would you most like to be made avilable to you? I have some ideas and would appeciate your input.

1.) portable doubles man doing car to car sales (imagine pan round the neck but with channa and bara instead of tenor and bass)

or

2.) Roaming car wash..convert them stupid flavorite icecream carts so they can carry water, soap etc so your car can be cleaned as you drive along at less than walking pace. I doubt the result can be worse than what the POS pipers do.

finally..

3.) Handjobs on the go? A few Spanish on the side of the road offering services..charged as a flat base rate then a per minute charge thereafter like a taxi.

Thoughts, improvements and funding are all welcomed

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 3rd, 2013, 4:55 pm

cornfused wrote:Expressed concern about the contractor chosen . To me 16 months is a bit too long if a precast single span replacement is to be inserted with the abutments , similar to what exists now on the western lane. I hope they get the connection to the existing road way correct . We don't have a history of doing this well.

16 months in inclusive of the river channel lining works, which are substantial from what I gathered at the public consultation.

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2013, 4:58 pm

Who is the contractor ?

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » December 3rd, 2013, 5:07 pm

The traffic lights at both of those options (PBR/WASA & KFC/PTSC) would cause epic backups as there is already congestion in both routes without the full traffic load.

Even with traffic police intervention the average commute will increase by a minimum of 1/2 hr. Opening the PBR may help but with the maxi congestion and errant pedestrians traipsing across the road there would still be a serious wait.

The normal morning jam would get worse..... :|

pete wrote:Have to pass there every day.. Where will the majority of cars pass while the project is going on? from Curepe junction to Mt Hope or just by the bottom of abercromby street?

Eastbound use McLean St.

westbound use Farm Road

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 3rd, 2013, 5:22 pm

pugboy wrote:Who is the contractor ?

KJS Enterprises

Postby pete » December 3rd, 2013, 9:41 pm

Lol I'm not going to be in that traffic at all. More than likely instead of passing through Curepe I would pass by the interchange to Mount hope to reach st joseph.

Postby pioneer » December 3rd, 2013, 10:11 pm

wow I remember throwin people school bags into that river

Postby pioneer » December 3rd, 2013, 10:13 pm

Look how clear, concise and informative that site is.

Never even saw those things in pnm days, we're in the dawn of a new era.

link

Postby link » December 4th, 2013, 5:41 am

pioneer wrote:Look how clear, concise and informative that site is.

Never even saw those things in pnm days, we're in the dawn of a new era.

so said Scar........ :lol: :P

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 4th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
cornfused wrote:Expressed concern about the contractor chosen . To me 16 months is a bit too long if a precast single span replacement is to be inserted with the abutments , similar to what exists now on the western lane. I hope they get the connection to the existing road way correct . We don't have a history of doing this well.

16 months in inclusive of the river channel lining works, which are substantial from what I gathered at the public consultation.

Ah noted

Postby noshownogo » December 4th, 2013, 12:43 pm

pioneer wrote:wow I remember throwin people school bags into that river

:lol: you de devil from young then

Polydor

Postby Polydor » December 4th, 2013, 12:58 pm

KJS Enterprises ......Small Trace, Siparia, Trinidad :?

mind you companies registry can't seem to find it :lol:

It's apparently K.J.S not KJS anyone heard of them :?:

Postby ismithx » December 4th, 2013, 2:50 pm

looks like this gonna be fun, the last time anyone did work in St Joseph (which was wasa earlier this year), it went horrible.

my sympathies to anyone who has to pass there.... get ready for a few months of torture

Postby pioneer » December 4th, 2013, 3:25 pm

wha bout all de chiren who hadda go to TML? (prestige primary school btw)

Postby Kenjo » December 4th, 2013, 5:58 pm

The other alternative for people living st joseph and maracas is riverside road heading west but there is so narrow and prone to landslides, this has to be one if the biggest projects to be done on the main road though and that will be real pressure, the only advantage is the drive in the morning will have much less traffic from st joseph to mt hope

Postby ismithx » December 4th, 2013, 6:17 pm

and knowing trinidad sadly nothing will go quite as planned/scheduled

Postby pioneer » December 4th, 2013, 6:23 pm

well when pnm was rebuilding the caroni bridge ent it collapse and ah man dead while on de wukk?