Jamaica starts informal trade war with T&T

Postby Habit7 » November 25th, 2013, 7:53 pm

And The Ban Is On! Teacher Launches Campaign To Boycott T&T Products
Published: Monday | November 25, 2013 255 Comments
Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer

AS THE implications of a move seemingly aimed at blocking Jamaicans from entering Trinidad and Tobago soak in, a consumer-oriented Facebook campaign urging Jamaicans to boycott products imported from that country has grabbed the support of scores of consumers on local shores.

But not only are the local consumers ready and raring to go, influential segments of the commercial sector, as well as the Parliamentary Opposition, appear eager to come on board.

While the campaign has targeted Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados has not escaped attention.

The campaign, initiated by rural primary school teacher, Kesreen Green Dillon, was launched last week amid mounting allegations that the CARICOM neighbours are flouting the free-movement provisions of the Treaty of Chaguaramas by blocking Jamaicans from entering their shores.

With support growing, there are suggestions that Jamaicans should also boycott the famed Carnival in Trinidad even as a list is being compiled of all Trinidadian products sold in Jamaica.

Armed with her slogan, 'Boycott All Products Made In Trinidad and Tobago: Jamaicans Let Us Unite For A Cause', an obviously seething Green Dillon asserted that enough is enough.

"I am tired of seeing Trinidad and Barbados treat other member states, especially Jamaica, like second-rate citizens," she told The Gleaner. "The patty war is fresh in my mind and the number of Jamaicans turned back from their shores annually."

Even more unacceptable for Dillon is the "far from neighbourly comment" of Trinidad's prime minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar, that countries affected by hurricanes had to show how Trinidad can benefit from those countries before they lift a finger to help.

Declaring that the conduct of Trinidad and Tobago has been anything but neighbourly, Green Dillon argued that it is time that Jamaica sends a strong message that 'enough is enough'. "How could I forget how they treated the Jamaican staff after the sale of Air Jamaica?" she added.

Karl Samuda, opposition spokesman on industry and commerce, yesterday voiced his support. "This action makes a mockery of the spirit of the Treaty of Chaguaramas and the Trinidadians must be roundly chastised for the attitude that they have adopted with respect to Jamaica and Jamaicans in particular."

Samuda predicted that Jamaica would not see any positive result in its bid to forge improved working relationships with Trinidad until that country begins to feel it where it hurts most - in its pockets.

"We should not have a situation where a country's producers are benefiting tremendously from our markets and, at the same time, breaching the provisions of the Treaty of Chaguaramas with respect to the free movement of Jamaicans throughout the region," he said.

President of the Jamaica Manufacturers' Association, Brian Pengelley, could not be reached for comment yesterday, but last week, a member of that organisation, managing director of the Wisynco Group, William Mahfood, stressed that something had to give.

Green Dillon said: "Based on the treaty, our Government cannot block imports from member states or sanction a boycott of their goods. However, if we do not buy them, they will have no choice but to either start treating Jamaicans better or find another country that will buy their goods."

Samuda, a former industry and commerce minister, also had strong words for Barbados. He was also critical of the stance taken by Foreign Affairs Minister A.J. Nicholson that Jamaicans should not ban imports from Trinidad and Tobago as a retaliatory strike.

gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2013 ... lead1.html

Re: Jamaica starts informal trade war with T&T

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2013, 7:58 pm

From my casual observations, it appears that jamaicans have surpassed nigerians as security guards around the country.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 25th, 2013, 8:04 pm

Immigration should have a task force to start raiding and apprehending all illegal Jamaicans and locking them in IDC and deport from a side

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » November 25th, 2013, 8:04 pm

Sry for Trini people on CAL flights going JFK who have to stop Jamaica , TAKE THE NON STOP

Postby Habit7 » November 25th, 2013, 8:07 pm

Yes, but Jamaicans also consist of a significant number of public hospital nurses and doctors, they just bought Intercommercial Bank and they basic own T&T cable and internet with Flow. They are not just security guards.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » November 25th, 2013, 8:14 pm

Which jamaicans we block from entering?
And why???

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 25th, 2013, 8:19 pm

Firewall wrote:Which jamaicans we block from entering?
And why???

About 13 of them last week, reasons given were no proper addresses for where they would be staying, poor responses to questions and one of them who claimed to be bringing a child to see her father, turns out the father has been here illegally for 3 months.......read that on fb

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2013, 8:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yes, but Jamaicans also consist of a significant number of public hospital nurses and doctors, they just bought Intercommercial Bank and they basic own T&T cable and internet with Flow. They are not just security guards.

Professional jamaican nurses ,doctors and businesses are welcome in to trini but not illegal jamaicans that break trini immigration law. There needs to be a line drawn between tax paying immgrants and caricom freeloaders.

Postby Habit7 » November 25th, 2013, 8:25 pm

^^^I totally agree, but my Jamaican friends are a very rabid nation and are not seeing it as we turned back a bunch of freeloaders.

Postby rfari » November 25th, 2013, 8:27 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yes, but Jamaicans also consist of a significant number of public hospital nurses and doctors, they just bought Intercommercial Bank and they basic own T&T cable and internet with Flow. They are not just security guards.

Professional jamaican nurses ,doctors and businesses are welcome in to trini but not illegal jamaicans that break trini immigration law. There needs to be a line drawn between tax paying immgrants and caricom freeloaders.

i tort u wha we scrap caricom?

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2013, 8:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:^^^I totally agree, but my Jamaican friends are a very rabid nation and are not seeing it as we turned back a bunch of freeloaders.

from my understanding of caricom free moment it has to fall in the categories that are outlined for work in certain job/trades. Low class jobs has not be outline or listed as yet. Its a simple case of breaking the law. If jamaicans can't understand that then they have an education problem

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2013, 8:33 pm

Most of them security guards live in central, robotcop area in
Tight apt complexes.

The reality is they work much harder and honestly than the local equivalent.

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2013, 8:36 pm

rfari wrote:

Yes I never did buy in to caricom , I said this about 15 yrs ago that trini will see an influx of illegal immgrants. So said so done the only thing next is more crime from an ignorant and arrogant bunch of ppl

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2013, 8:37 pm

pugboy wrote:Most of them security guards live in central, robotcop area in
Tight apt complexes.

The reality is they work much harder and honestly than the local equivalent.

Wait till they start to breed as with laventille and Beetham ppl.

Postby Morpheus » November 25th, 2013, 8:39 pm

Why is that so hard to understand? My goodness!!!

Postby rfari » November 25th, 2013, 8:40 pm

rfari wrote:

Yes I never did buy in to caricom , I said this about 15 yrs ago that trini will see an influx of illegal immgrants. So said so done the only thing next is more crime from an ignorant and arrogant bunch of ppl

U keep mixing up immigration and caricom. Why? :-?

Postby Habit7 » November 25th, 2013, 8:41 pm

T&T doesnt have much to fear with this boycott, the Jamaican economy is struggling to keep its head above water. When you enter a Jamaican grocery, you feel almost like you entered back into Trinidad. SM Jaleel, Holiday Snacks, Assorted Brands even Kiss cakes that were in Chaguanas a few day ago all line the aisles. Trinidadian products are cheaper than Jamaican even if the factory is next door and it is better quality and packaging. US products are very expensive as the $JA continues to slide against the $US.

Not to mention we own their cement, airline, insurance, cigarettes, etc. If they truly boycott us they will starve.

Postby RASC » November 25th, 2013, 8:44 pm

Habit7 wrote:T&T doesnt have much to fear with this boycott, the Jamaican economy is struggling to keep its head above water. When you enter a Jamaican grocery, you feel almost like you entered back into Trinidad. SM Jaleel, Holiday Snacks, Assorted Brands even Kiss cakes that were in Chaguanas a few day ago all line the aisles. Trinidadian products are cheaper than Jamaican even if the factory is next door and it is better quality and packaging. US products are very expensive as the $JA continues to slide against the $US.

Not to mention we own their cement, airline, insurance, cigarettes, etc. If they truly boycott us they will starve.

Hmmm

Postby toyolink » November 25th, 2013, 8:46 pm

This stupidness has been going for as long as I can remember.
Distrust,envy,bitterness and general lack of unity of purpose are so embedded in us that effective unification of economic and cultural values is no where on the horizon.

Postby Habit7 » November 25th, 2013, 8:49 pm

We need controlled immigration of low skilled workers too. They are several vacancies in the service sector that cannot be fulfilled only by nationals. Developed nations know this and have opened the doors for us Trinis.

However there are closed minded xenophobes here in Trinidad who love when their relative living in a basement send down a barrel, but hate to hear someone serving them with a Caribbean accent.

http://m.guardian.co.tt/business-guardi ... foreigners

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2013, 8:58 pm

caricom is and has been a failure, it is just an ole talk shop for prime ministers to get a good lunch

we are lucky it never really materialized into something serious like the euro
otherwise all fall down long time and we propping them up

Jamaica govt have no money and no cepep, urp to keep people fed
so it is pure hard times
in Barbados I think a coca cola is $5bajan or something like that

when oil and gas run out that is where we heading
but by that time we supposed to be fully diversified by that time though
at least that is what every govt manifesto and budget proclaims

Postby pioneer » November 25th, 2013, 9:07 pm

Jamaican things we can ban:

-their backward and violent music
-radio announcers trying to speak like jamaicans
-bomboclats, bloodclats and rasclats

Stay on your side of the caribbean sea jamaicans

Postby pioneer » November 25th, 2013, 9:09 pm

What's the USD exchange rate for jamaica now?

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2013, 9:10 pm

pioneer wrote:Jamaican things we can ban:

pios doh worry horse, they will soon be working in your department Jah forbib if pnm come back ah yard again

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » November 25th, 2013, 9:13 pm

Jamaica was never center of attention ,as this immigration problem started ,they all railed up
They lacking attention .

Postby pioneer » November 25th, 2013, 9:14 pm

Nah if is one ting the Public Service by law limited to bonafide citizens of T&T...extensive background checks are done by special branch and immigration.

They could get tru wid daily paid but that have no pips...dem does be sufferin more

Livin life 14 days at ah time oui

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2013, 9:15 pm

tell bunji reissue his repertoire with a trini accent

pioneer wrote:Jamaican things we can ban:

Postby pioneer » November 25th, 2013, 9:19 pm

I glad Immigration finally putting their foot down on this nonsense

Like somebody want ah nice pension

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » November 25th, 2013, 9:20 pm

UDFR eh jamaica, so when dey boycott we product, wah dey plan to eat? akee & saltfish.everyday?

Postby Habit7 » November 25th, 2013, 9:23 pm

As much as I might miss Jamaica from CARICOM, Dominican Republic is a much larger market to sell to. Plus like Jamaica, their electric cost too high to pose a manufacturing threat to us.