Public Service Imrpovements

Bragadang

Public Service Imrpovements

Postby Bragadang » November 1st, 2013, 9:00 am

On Thursday October 2013 I went to the Ministry of Legal Affairs to apply for a Birth Certificate. I got there at 8am and after security checks I filled out the form and received a number. At around 8.30am I went to the assigned counter after my number was called and the form was checks and I was told to go to Cashier 3 or 4 and pay for $25.00.

When I got to the cashier’s cage they were both closed and several people were sitting waiting. I was advised that the cashier would be there in five minutes.

After waiting an additional 15 minutes the people on my instigation started to protest as no one could provide any information. One lady went up to the Minister’s Office also.

Sometime after a chap showed up and opened the cashier’s cage. We were all very vocal at this point and I asked him if he thought it ok to have senior citizens waiting among others. He informed me that he was not going to cash my transaction.

One person stated that he may have been having breakfast and I said it is probably why he is so fat the length of time he took. I made this statement after being told that he would not cash my transaction. The Security on duty can confirm this sequence of events.

When I finally got to the window I was advised again that he would not cash my transaction.
The video attached display what I encountered an you will hear the security appealing with the cashier to perform the task.

It appears that Public Servant can deny citizens access s to public records when they feel.

The Supervisor did attemp to have the transaction completed and was unable to do so. This inability by the Supervisor can only described as pathetic as the Cashier is not bound to carry out directions of his seniors. Apparently.

I was only able to complete my transaction by going to the Permanent Secretaries’ Office and someone there, a young man, took the transaction downstairs and brought back the Certificate.

I left the Ministry at 10.25am.

This is public Service in Trinidad and Tobago.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NREcigTH-5k&feature=youtu.be[/youtube]

Re: Public Service Imrpovements

Postby pioneer » November 1st, 2013, 9:05 am

Ask Watson Duke why

Here's one reason - there are no immediate consequences for them, as it is in the private sector.

Even if disciplinary action is taken, it can go on for donkey years and most of the time charges are dropped.

Postby sliderz1 » November 1st, 2013, 9:06 am

bigman shoulda light yuh up

Postby dougla_boy » November 1st, 2013, 9:07 am

OP, u look for that............how u go disrespect the cashier? man big bonededness cause him to reach late..........and u vex.........udfr eh

Postby pioneer » November 1st, 2013, 9:24 am

LOL@ fatman

typical public servant attitude

Buh ear dem ha rights..."yuh cyar break dem stride"

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2013, 9:33 am

Devil's advocate:

Why did you all insult the man personally about his tardiness? Suppose it was due to an emergency? He may have been reacting that way due to the personal attack on his appearance.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 1st, 2013, 9:39 am

Fat people have rights too!!!!!!!!!

Postby SMc » November 1st, 2013, 9:45 am

Spelling should be looked at

Postby Kenjo » November 1st, 2013, 10:06 am

The other thing is that if there was some sort of customer service representatives they could have at least put up a sign before hand to inform the public that things would have been starting a little late. There could have been other descriptive terms too ehh OP like brown shirt or some other way to describe the man.

Postby DFC » November 1st, 2013, 10:10 am

Customer Service in Trinidad is the worst. To do business in any government office , it will take you whole day.

Also you are at the mercy of the clerks and it pays off to be nice and courteous .

Thank goodness republic bank in gulf does open till 6pm.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 1st, 2013, 10:31 am

Never piss off a clerk. I remember a few years ago I was in Licensing Office PoS to transfer a car. They had me waiting hours and this is after getting all the necessary paperwork done. I asked the girl by the counter dealing with me what would happen if I don't get my stuff back in time to pay the cashier before they close at 3 and she said come back tomorrow.

I made the mistake of telling the girl "I is not no public servant I can't just take a next day off and come back tomorrow". She steups, pick up she cell phone and left the counter saying I not dealing with you.

Postby Spitfir3 » November 1st, 2013, 10:32 am

you probably shouldn't have called him "fatman" etc most of the guys who fall into that category don't mind but some are more sensitive..guess uncle phil is the latter
regardless these public servants have to much leverage in the end of the day he has a duty too perform but hey apparently its a an honor and privilege to be served by them
Last edited by Spitfir3 on November 1st, 2013, 10:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

G-T

Postby G-T » November 1st, 2013, 10:37 am

I'm always polite to people, especially if I have to get something done in any Ministry. I know they can be a bunch of twits, but to be rude to someone is just not cool..

Postby Kenjo » November 1st, 2013, 10:43 am

The other thing is if it was him alone and there are more cashier windows where are the other cashiers, could it be the managers who aren't on the front line getting called Fatman aren't providing enough employees and further frustrating the ones that they have, next time in a situation like this probably if you confront the guys upstairs then they might have a better explanation. If they come down on their employees then the employees might be on time or have more respect for the public. A lot of different aspects to this story

spanish

Postby spanish » November 1st, 2013, 10:55 am

Sometimes there are other things behind the scenes that you may not realise, and being rude doesn't help the situation.

In the department where I work, there's a small office with documents that is locked at the end of the day. Mind you, these aren't top secret documents or anything like that but sometimes persons come to collect them. There are two workers stationed inside that room. If neither of them comes to work, the door is locked. If someone arrives to collect documents, we have no access. We've tried to explain to the manager that there's no real reason for the door to be locked but she couldn't care less. Of course, she's not in the firing line when somebody start quarreling (if she even in office).

Invisible

Postby Invisible » November 1st, 2013, 11:15 am

OP like yuh miss de sign?

"Management reserves the right to refuse service."

Wait correction "Fatman reserves the right to refuse service"

Postby teems1 » November 1st, 2013, 11:49 am

dafuq

totally handled the situation wrong, if he has a problem with a customer, bring it up with his manager.

he'd surely have gotten in serious trouble in a private company.

Postby zoom rader » November 1st, 2013, 11:55 am

DFC wrote:Customer Service in Trinidad is the worst. To do business in any government office , it will take you whole day.

Also you are at the mercy of the clerks and it pays off to be nice and courteous .

Thank goodness republic bank in gulf does open till 6pm.

Thats a lie ! Trinidad have warm and friendy ppl

Postby sliderz1 » November 1st, 2013, 12:02 pm

bigman was being civil yo, where Duke?

Postby maj. tom » November 1st, 2013, 12:09 pm

In the video... Imagine if some people just treated others with the respect that is entitled to every human being. Imagine if you looked at yourself as part of the problem and understood that you offered no solution but more arrogance and ignorance. Couldn't even find the courage to apologise...

Come on tuner and post your bully logic though.

You're a hero OP.

Postby Spitfir3 » November 1st, 2013, 12:14 pm

teems1 wrote:dafuq

totally handled the situation wrong, if he has a problem with a customer, bring it up with his manager.

he'd surely have gotten in serious trouble in a private company.

if that was a private company he would have been fired on the spot
but really op next time have a little respect for fat albert

Postby teems1 » November 1st, 2013, 12:31 pm

that is quite possible.

imagine an executive or a board member of a private company getting word that a video like that is going viral on social media.

Postby pioneer » November 1st, 2013, 12:39 pm

I never have these problems when dealing with these ministry clerk plebs, I jus flash my ID and they will kiss my feet if need be.

Postby cinco » November 1st, 2013, 12:59 pm

Ironic that opie cant even spell improvements correctly

Postby De Dragon » November 1st, 2013, 1:18 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Devil's advocate:

Why did you all insult the man personally about his tardiness? Suppose it was due to an emergency? He may have been reacting that way due to the personal attack on his appearance.

Then before yuh plant yuh big fat muddakant on de seat, at least apologize for being late! That have nuttin to do with prvate/public service, that iz just facking basic manners.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2013, 1:27 pm

Then before yuh plant yuh big fat muddakant on de seat, at least apologize for being late! That have nuttin to do with prvate/public service, that iz just facking basic manners.

agreed, both sides were at fault.

Postby AllTrac » November 1st, 2013, 1:31 pm

still does not give the cashier the right to withhold a service that tax paying citizens pay him for.

Postby MaxPower » November 1st, 2013, 1:55 pm

OP, you eh shame to post this?
first thing, wtf is "Public Service Imrpovements"?, first signs of illiteracy...now go edit it. That teller should have come out from his booth and download your face on that counter for calling him fat.

LOL allyuh start to protest? nice, real nice behaviour. and btw...chap? chap?? you are no where close to class with a brit, so take it easy.

Even more amusing, you seem very satisfied with posting this video. The man damn right to refuse you for your nasty attitude. Man your voice reeks of ignorance, soo frigging annoying. And the cashier is pathetic? hmmm so now he is fat and pathetic ent? at least he did not wait like an ASS for 2 hours getting on like a goon.
you do not even know or dont care why he came late, what emergency he had, and then he must come and tolerate your irritating face up in his cage? if you do not care, why should he? boy rock so eh. it blasted good. you lucky he didnt stoop as low as you did and hit you back with an insult. beats me how you even got passed security. lol well thas a next issue.
should have a sign saying NO THUGS. Fix yourself, then maybe try to fix others.

The standard of PS in this country is poor....we know this. It does not only happen here. Its just losers, low lifers, rodents and pests like yourself that make it worse. Deal with it and stop whining.

Postby DFC » November 1st, 2013, 2:11 pm

Customer service in Private Sector is really bad too.

Some of these CSR's really dunce.

Postby SMc » November 1st, 2013, 2:12 pm

cinco wrote:Ironic that opie cant even spell improvements correctly

Or Chavez...OP