A Math problem....help

nos_specialist

A Math problem....help

Postby nos_specialist » October 29th, 2013, 6:24 pm

Tuners, goodnite..so hear me out

a grocery up my side have a sale goin on for Car parts and accessories..

The sale is 40% off the list price of items,

I purchased an item, the list price is $349.99 and they calculated it to be after 40% discount $250.00

However when I worked out the cost....$349.99 x 0.6 = $210.00

Their explanation for the maths is dividing the list price by 1.4 to get 40% off...

Anyone can explain this?

jattsrobby

Re: A Math problem....help

Postby jattsrobby » October 29th, 2013, 6:32 pm

sure, you get rob,, that's all.....

Postby pete » October 29th, 2013, 6:39 pm

Haha

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2013, 6:43 pm

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 29th, 2013, 6:46 pm

boy i jus didnt want to make a scene...but talk bout robbery, d price for d item at the end of it all still good eh but....
GEEEZZZZ

Postby maj. tom » October 29th, 2013, 7:20 pm

lol i like how he worked out "5 into 25 is 14."
Std 1 days! :lol:

Postby black start » October 29th, 2013, 7:26 pm

lol opie got took....

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 29th, 2013, 7:34 pm

Yuh get rob dey dan.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » October 29th, 2013, 7:48 pm

BS explanation that doesnt even make sense...discount supposed to be calculated (1-d)*P....ppl just too disgusting these days yes

SweeP

Postby SweeP » October 29th, 2013, 7:56 pm

hmmm, more like ah robbery problem......

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 29th, 2013, 8:30 pm

grocery selling car parts and accessories?

turbo_monkey

Postby turbo_monkey » October 29th, 2013, 8:50 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:grocery selling car parts and accessories?

Nissan oarr lol...jk jk

Postby Redman » October 29th, 2013, 9:12 pm

I guess they figured that if yuh buying car parts in a grocery,math would not be your strong point.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 30th, 2013, 12:03 am

nos_specialist wrote:Tuners, goodnite..so hear me out

I purchased an item, the list price is $349.99 and they calculated it to be after 40% discount $250.00

Their explanation for the maths is dividing the list price by 1.4 to get 40% off...

Anyone can explain this?

add vat after the discount and it's $241.50. still doesnt work out. i think the video posted explains the math they used.

Postby redmanjp » October 30th, 2013, 12:12 am

nos_specialist wrote:Tuners, goodnite..so hear me out

Anyone can explain this?

call consumer affairs- bet yuh get back yuh $40 :|

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » October 30th, 2013, 12:29 am

i like math :D

Postby javishm » October 30th, 2013, 12:46 am

my favourite subject