How do you get a Parrot to Talk ?

Rock Thor

How do you get a Parrot to Talk ?

Postby Rock Thor » October 17th, 2013, 12:12 am

Simple question. Just got a Parrot and trying to train it to talk. Suggestions ?

Re: How do you get a Parrot to Talk ?

Postby DVSTT » October 17th, 2013, 12:28 am

Did it come with a license?

Postby Trini Hookah » October 17th, 2013, 1:08 am

Step 1: Make a post on tuner.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 17th, 2013, 1:13 am

step 2: boil a dictionary ,cool water and mix with honey and feed said parrot

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2013, 1:14 am

step 3 push your d1ck in it
if it dont say to stop
you may have a gay parrot on your d1ck
Last edited by cinco on October 17th, 2013, 1:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » October 17th, 2013, 1:26 am

First of can the mother or father of the parrot talk? Because only special breeds of parrots can Talk!

Below is a ccut out from a trainers website

Can Every Parrot Be Taught To Talk ?

Not every parrot will learn to talk. There are a variety of reasons for that. Smaller species of parrots are not known for outstanding talking abilities nor for the clarity of their words. Birds that have learned to scream or whistle may be less inclined to learn words (try not to teach your parrot to whistle - if ever -before it knows quite a few distinct words. Most people who teach their parrot to whistle dearly regret it quite soon. ). Parrots that are held in groups and those that had little or no human contact during their formative period are also less inclined to talk. (They are just as vocal, but it will be squawks and native calls that they produce.)

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 17th, 2013, 1:40 am

Hopefully its a young parrot or else the only way he will talk is if you shove your hands in his ass and use him like a muppet...

Step 1: you need to keep your parrot feel safe and secure...
Step 2: Spend time with your parrot talking to it or have him around your family alot in and around the house (I've noticed that parrots tends to talk quicker when around kids)
Step 3: Teach him very few words at a time and give him chance to learn... Remember your parrot is a fackin bird hence he has a bird brain...
Step 4: Stop posting sheit post like this one in the future , it might affect your parrots speech since he is going to think you're a dumb fack and won't want to be taught by you :) jk... hope the tips were helpful

good luck with your parrot.

clone101

Postby clone101 » October 17th, 2013, 4:43 am

Keep a radio near the cage.........

Postby shogun » October 17th, 2013, 5:57 am

I heard this still works...

sbocus

Postby sbocus » October 17th, 2013, 6:14 am

whatever yuh do, don't give it anything with salt.......

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » October 17th, 2013, 6:53 am

put et by tv. put tv on dora. dora mek parrt talk. parrt talk engish n spnish. y u no do dis?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 17th, 2013, 7:14 am

pluggie wrote:Hopefully its a young parrot or else the only way he will talk is if you shove your hands in his ass and use him like a muppet...

Step 2: Spend time with your parrot talking to it or have him around your family alot in and around the house (I've noticed that parrots tends to talk quicker when around kids)
Step 3: Teach him very few words at a time and give him chance to learn... Remember your parrot is a fackin bird hence he has a bird brain...
Step 4: Stop posting sheit post like this one in the future , it might affect your parrots speech since he is going to think you're a dumb fack and won't want to be taught by you :) jk... hope the tips were helpful

good advice here,

parrots respond better to mimicking noises (since they cant actually talk) if they are close to people,

Examples:
my aunt get all her parrots to "talk" because she does spoil them, she spends a lot of time teaching them certain sounds and actions by being patient with them making the time to do repetitive sounds so they will learn it.

my dad's parrot as well, doesnt talk much but my dad taught it to whistle an indian song and they both whistle the song together by taking turns whistling each consecutive line.
same parrot does laugh like a rel jamette when my sister comes to visit because she taught him that.
he does "wolf whistle" me, because my dad taught him that but i continued to do it so he does it with me...

i'm sure other people could give some good examples,

but the basis is: spend some quality time with the parrot and teach it stuff...
tv is a waste of time because they wont repeat thing enough for the parrot to pick it up easily...

Postby dougla_boy » October 17th, 2013, 7:27 am

my parrot does say the phrase "rat sheit" whole day

he sometimes goes like a dove, cat, baby, keskidee, telephone, occassional herro and car alarm.......

he even screams sometimes for no reason...........especially when my neighbours kids come around......

and he also calls my brother "Ray" for a whole 10 - 15 mins for no reason.........

ModMania

Postby ModMania » October 17th, 2013, 7:30 am

Feed it fig or cake

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » October 17th, 2013, 7:35 am

Well if you named it "patrick" then that dumb a$$ will never talk

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 17th, 2013, 7:39 am

Do you have a wife or kids? Why the hell would you want another creature to talk non stop?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 17th, 2013, 7:57 am

keep it in a rumshop

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 17th, 2013, 8:00 am

feed it parrot bottom

Postby noshownogo » October 17th, 2013, 8:02 am

Just ask it.

Or

Beat it into submission.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 17th, 2013, 8:11 am

repetition

just keep saying phrases or words over and over to it

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » October 17th, 2013, 8:33 am

CURSE AT THEM REGULARLY

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » October 17th, 2013, 8:34 am

GIVE THEM PEPPER, HOT PEPPER TO EAT

Postby AllTrac » October 17th, 2013, 8:38 am

bluestarz9 wrote:GIVE THEM PEPPER, HOT PEPPER TO EAT

inbe4pios

jusme

Postby jusme » October 17th, 2013, 9:11 am

shogun wrote:I heard this still works...

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » October 17th, 2013, 9:20 am

Never keep it in an area where it could hear ur car alarm..... my fackin parrot keep mocking my car

Dragist

Postby Dragist » October 17th, 2013, 9:56 am

DVSTT wrote:Did it come with a license?

Well did it ?

Postby r3iXmann » October 17th, 2013, 10:12 am

Ask it to describe what Marsellus Wallace looks like

Postby dougla_boy » October 17th, 2013, 10:39 am

r3iXmann wrote:Ask it to describe what Marsellus Wallace looks like

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » October 17th, 2013, 10:47 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
pluggie wrote:Hopefully its a young parrot or else the only way he will talk is if you shove your hands in his ass and use him like a muppet...

good advice here,

parrots respond better to mimicking noises (since they cant actually talk) if they are close to people,

Examples:
my aunt get all her parrots to "talk" because she does spoil them, she spends a lot of time teaching them certain sounds and actions by being patient with them making the time to do repetitive sounds so they will learn it.

my dad's parrot as well, doesnt talk much but my dad taught it to whistle an indian song and they both whistle the song together by taking turns whistling each consecutive line.
same parrot does laugh like a rel jamette when my sister comes to visit because she taught him that.
he does "wolf whistle" me, because my dad taught him that but i continued to do it so he does it with me...

i'm sure other people could give some good examples,

but the basis is: spend some quality time with the parrot and teach it stuff...
tv is a waste of time because they wont repeat thing enough for the parrot to pick it up easily...

The Parrot watches TV and listens to 95.1 FM. Can say "OMG ! " and " We got to go " but only when he/she feels like it. Looking for a systematic method. It is Yellow-crowned Amazon
(Amazona ochrocephala).

Postby *KRONIK* » October 17th, 2013, 11:25 am

Well those supposed to talk quickly

But ur best option if u dont have time..
Buy a recorder record what u want it to hear/repeat...
Leave it on "loop"

It bound to learn

But also...
The reason for being present physically is to look at the parrot and see what sounds/words they respond to...
If their eyes/pupils dialate upon a certain sound or word...most likely they will pick up that...
So a lot of it depends on at least SOME quality time with the parrot...to see if they are interested in hearing/learning/repeating what u want them to learn....

Now these are not any rules if the parrot world...because some of them pick up the least likely things you would expect, like cursing and car alarms...
Some may resoond differently to different approaches...