Accounting vs. Law

LovinDiva

Accounting vs. Law

Postby LovinDiva » October 16th, 2013, 12:46 pm

Hi All, I have a question to ask (duh, hence new post, lol)

I have recently completed my BSc. in Business Management and I was wondering in what academic direction to go next. I was thinking between doing ACCA or going to Law School. I am looking for sound advice on what direction would be better in terms of $$. I was gearing towards Law but I also like accounts and it would go well with my Business Management degree that I already have.

Also what Accounts schools do they have in TT & What is the best law schools in TT?

src1983

Re: Accounting vs. Law

Postby src1983 » October 16th, 2013, 1:35 pm

Law but do what you like, doing a profession based on how much money you think you can make, will leave you frustrated

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » October 16th, 2013, 1:39 pm

Too many lawyers in Trinidad do accounting :\

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 16th, 2013, 1:44 pm

But my thing with doing the Law degree is that I would still have to build my reputation & my ranks in the profession (as with any other profession).

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 16th, 2013, 1:47 pm

Why are you asking? You seem to already be aware of which you'd pursue.

If anything they both can be pursued.

Don't do it just for the money.

Postby S_2NR » October 16th, 2013, 1:50 pm

Everybody and their dog is a lawyer, do accounting.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 16th, 2013, 3:11 pm

Conrad wrote:Why are you asking? You seem to already be aware of which you'd pursue.

Not just for the money but for the money but where I would be better off financially. So what? You want me to work for the love it it....Meh

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 16th, 2013, 3:13 pm

S_2NR wrote:Everybody and their dog is a lawyer, do accounting.

That's why I was geared towards accounting. Being a lawyer has become so practical nowadays.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 16th, 2013, 3:14 pm

Sell doubles.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 16th, 2013, 3:14 pm

Heard people saying Gillian Lucky's school is good for law,SBCS for ACCA or Omardeen or summin so.Actually in Trinidad you don't study what you like any more,you study where the $$ is.
Almost everyone wants to be a lawyer,did you not see the papers a few weeks ago and the amount of lawyers it have? Just imagine you would need to compete will all of them and make a name for yourself.Same applies to accounting.
Seeing that you did business admin,why not work for a while,get experience and try the IMBA and so on.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 16th, 2013, 3:15 pm

src1983 wrote:Law but do what you like, doing a profession based on how much money you think you can make, will leave you frustrated

I don't generally like doing anything, If it was up to that I would be home scratching my ass & colleting a very hefty salary for doing so....

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 16th, 2013, 3:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Heard people saying Gillian Lucky's school is good for law,SBCS for ACCA or Omardeen or summin so.Actually in Trinidad you don't study what you like any more,you study where the $$ is.
Almost everyone wants to be a lawyer,did you not see the papers a few weeks ago and the amount of lawyers it have? Just imagine you would need to compete will all of them and make a name for yourself.Same applies to accounting.
Seeing that you did business admin,why not work for a while,get experience and try the IMBA and so on.

In any field I go in, I would be competing. I don't want to do anything Business related again. Want out of that field.

Postby DFC » October 16th, 2013, 3:18 pm

i have 3 friends, all girls, who are lawyers and alcoholics, because they cant get proper work and to become established is a long, arduous journey.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 16th, 2013, 3:20 pm

you'd lol at this: get a 5acres and about 50k and start planting gyarden...srs.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 16th, 2013, 3:21 pm

LovinDiva wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Heard people saying Gillian Lucky's school is good for law,SBCS for ACCA or Omardeen or summin so.Actually in Trinidad you don't study what you like any more,you study where the $$ is.

In any field I go in, I would be competing. I don't want to do anything Business related again. Want out of that field.

But has ACCA as a choice. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Good night sweet princess.

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2013, 3:23 pm

in third world countries lawyers are very important

Postby 88sins » October 16th, 2013, 3:23 pm

Both of those fields are really saturated these days. I'd recommend fiscal/financial management( or macroeconomics, if you think you'd like a challenge for a main course & some gray hair on the side)

Postby S_2NR » October 16th, 2013, 3:34 pm

LovinDiva wrote:

That's why I was geared towards accounting. Being a lawyer has become so practical nowadays.

actually everything saturated since gate started.
uwi should have never become free. a degree not worth anything anymore.
i rather pay for uwi than allow this saturation to occur.
if u cant afford it, win a schol or salt.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 16th, 2013, 3:39 pm

DFC wrote:i have 3 friends, all girls, who are lawyers and alcoholics, because they cant get proper work and to become established is a long, arduous journey.

Pics??

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 16th, 2013, 3:55 pm

S_2NR wrote:
LovinDiva wrote:

actually everything saturated since gate started.
uwi should have never become free. a degree not worth anything anymore.
i rather pay for uwi than allow this saturation to occur.
if u cant afford it, win a schol or salt.

fixed..

when u do one degree,trying doing summin else one time and be different...it's your only hope.That's the reality of UWI now

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 16th, 2013, 3:56 pm

lol @ ppl saying dont do it for the money

btw, i wud do law, this place full of bandits, they all need representation

Postby cinco » October 16th, 2013, 4:40 pm

Eet fat?

R!CH!E

Postby R!CH!E » October 16th, 2013, 5:01 pm

Omardeen's, SAC n PASS are the bess schools for ACCA, but hope you ready for long hours, no overtime and very small salaries, with zero experience.

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » October 17th, 2013, 12:07 am

Conrad wrote:Why are you asking? You seem to already be aware of which you'd pursue.

Why not for the money ?

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » October 17th, 2013, 12:07 am

Why not for the money ?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 17th, 2013, 5:06 am

Rock Thor wrote:

Why not for the money ?

Not for the money ONLY.

Because before you can make any REAL money you're gonna go through some serious hardships. Besides the actual task of qualifying there are gonna be long nights with little pay especially in peak season or financial year end etc.

I think an individual needs a sense of reward, besides financial, or self gratification to continue pursuing a career and not burn out on the job.

OP should really get a grasp of what each career involves because Accounting is a VERY wide scope and Im sure the same can be applied to law.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 17th, 2013, 5:08 am

Damn android
Last edited by Conrad on October 17th, 2013, 8:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 17th, 2013, 5:09 am

Thrice?!?! :shock:
Last edited by Conrad on October 17th, 2013, 8:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 17th, 2013, 7:35 am

LovinDiva wrote:Hi All, I have a question to ask (duh, hence new post, lol)

I saw that and immediately realized that OP cannot be taken seriously, further backed up by statements made in thread.

There are plenty people in both fields catching hell to get good paying jobs and they have experience

G-T

Postby G-T » October 17th, 2013, 8:18 am

You can do both, BUT don't do it just to get a big salary, you have to love accounting / law... I wish I could have done Ancient History,learning about Greek , ancient Egyptian history, learn about ancient arts etc, that is what I would love to study, maybe become a curator for a small museum. :fadein: