VexXx Dogg wrote:Not an attack. A one man show means that they may be vulnerable if you decide to leave. An audit is simply a third party review of what is in place for charting the way forward.
An analogy is E&Y Audits of company finances, do you think the company accountant feels slighted or that they don't trust him?
Normal part of business. If you're really that uncomfortable, leave.
Thanks my friend. However that guy was not nice to ya'll. I am not like that at all. However the difference with me now is this, i didn't meet systems...i met a guy (the nephew) who is 'tinkerer'...not a real IT professional...no qualifications whatsoever. I created databases from scratch that supports our daily operations as well as a very complicated one to support our top client! This took several months to complete and was very difficult as i had to learn their operations and align it with ours...I know other ppl can do what you do but it is still a bit different. Anyway i think i am leaving. Thank you again!DFC wrote:U on contract?
Sometimes you gotta cut your losses and go bruh.
Start keeping copies of everthing you created and all the policies implemented etc. It will be to your benefit later.
Start looking for another job. Send resumes and dont password protect everything before you leave please.
Our IT guy set passwords for everything and was caught stealing from the company and when we let him go it was ketchass after to access documents and even to get in the server.
The IT market saturated and it real real qualified but unemployed men out there who will grasp at any job.
Cutting costs and saving money is the perogative of management and they found someone to do your job cheaper than you....so in essence you screwed.
Btw i am permanently employed.DFC wrote:U on contract?
Sometimes you gotta cut your losses and go bruh.
Start keeping copies of everthing you created and all the policies implemented etc. It will be to your benefit later.
Start looking for another job. Send resumes and dont password protect everything before you leave please.
Our IT guy set passwords for everything and was caught stealing from the company and when we let him go it was ketchass after to access documents and even to get in the server.
The IT market saturated and it real real qualified but unemployed men out there who will grasp at any job.
Cutting costs and saving money is the perogative of management and they found someone to do your job cheaper than you....so in essence you screwed.
AllTrac wrote:Really sorry you have to go through this bro, thats the downside of working for a family owned company.
Im sure the reason for the audit could be one of the following:
a) Management needs to understand the level of additional work you are doing and getting a 3rd party involved is the only logical step, that way they can then layout a pay package for you based on what their auditors report. They cannot just take your word for it.
b) They need some type of reason to shoot down your offer when negotiating your salary based on your claims.
c) they gonna subcontract out IT and you are fcuked.
Mark! wrote:well dude the reality is that they are the ones paying you and if you find you are being taken advantage or things aint how it was when you started, then i suggest you fill your resume with all that stuff and start looking else where. At the end of the day they see it as you can be easily replaced by some new young punk trying to prove them self.
VexXx Dogg wrote:Yep, next thing you know after the audit they propose an increase in your salary or the addition of staff to help with your duties.
But the fact that you intercepted a mail that was not meant for your viewing does not reflect well on your behalf.
Nah man...sando companyDFC wrote:Also lemme guess here...API or Jokhan?
1UZFE wrote:Hoss u need for the owners to recognise your importance , as they see it u is jus another employee who gettin paid to do a wuk. If it means "not being in work" ie sick or vacation when something "goes down" or during a heavy period they wud see the importance of your work. Also you cud stick to your contract ie re inforce your working hours , do your stipulated hours, give excuses for your adherance to the working hours. Show the company that if they want you to go the extra mile they wud have to pay.
They jus get a donkey to ride , sorry 2 say.
antlind wrote:Kronik don't quit your job because of an audit. It is very difficult to get IT work in Trinidad. I have been in IT for over 25 years and have been audited before. While an audit is painful, I have found that an audit often identifies areas where I can improve. It's a learning experience. If you run from a job because of an upcoming audit you will be forever changing jobs.
As one previous post stated, use the next few days to tidy up the environment and prepare yourself for the audit.
Hopefully you come out looking good and you get that raise you were asking for. It's better than quitting and having to look for another job.....that may not pay as well as the one you have.
My advice is to stick it out, prepare yourself for the audit, go through the audit, learn as much as you can from the audit and hopefully things will work out for you.
From your previous posts you don't come across as the type of guy to quit when the going gets tough, so hang in there.
This is my 'fatherly' advice to you.
Good luck with your decision.
skylinechild wrote:my 0.02 cents....everyone knows the IT field saturated however most of these ppl are "google techs" and cant fix crap. most of these google techs graduate with a degree in computer sciences etc.
lastly audits are a normal thing where i work they audit us every year...each dept is done INDIVIDUALLY. cant run from audits think of it as a learning experience. it could be better- you get your salary and an assistant - or worse -you get screwed by the family...
lastly if you leave where are you going to get a better paying job cause i dont think you will settle for the same pay package - $9000 a month. it have ppl out there who WILL jump for your job( including me)
To put things in perspective i work for $5,500 a month. I work week days weekends nights and public holidays and yes shift....ive been in this job for 3 yrs - next month will make it 4 yrs i'm doing it....and they NOW decide to pay us over time. oh yea did i mention we DONT get shift allowance. and i'm on a month to month contract going on 3 - scratch that- 4 yrs now....welcome to my life...
as pete said above- implement the CYA procedures.
if you decide to leave make a list of issues and try to have them resolved -in a bid NOT to leave.
if they dont want to work with you- then time to go job hunting and remember always leave on good terms....
nareshseep wrote:Become the consultant. Companies lack faith in there own it operations and will rather take the views of a consultant over yours. That's just the way things are in IT. You might have good intentions at heart but the market saturated as someone said and their thinking is that they can always get someone younger and cheaper.