need info on how to transfer car if owner died

streetpunk

need info on how to transfer car if owner died

Postby streetpunk » October 9th, 2013, 6:00 pm

posting for someone...
he bought a car,couldn't transfer one time as he bought it with a damaged engine and tranny and other little issues and he had to fix it up......
however the guy he bought it from(the owner) has now passed away.....

any info on how he can go about to getting it transfer to his name

he has the guy copies of his id and dp and he has the certify copy receipt where he bought the vehicle and also the death certificate ....

speedist

Re: need info on how to transfer car if owner died

Postby speedist » October 9th, 2013, 6:06 pm

Should be all he needs, once he have a receipt/proof of purchase from the deceased.............

Postby Team Loco » October 9th, 2013, 6:07 pm

Typical mistake. You can transfer a damaged car at licence office. He didnt have to wait

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 9th, 2013, 6:17 pm

yea hes a bit screwed up seeing that he let the time expired since the receipt was made..

the person that the title is going to would have to transfer it to him.. could be a bad situation

Postby pioneer » October 9th, 2013, 6:22 pm

Go hadda wait ah lil longer now seein liesensing on strike

marvin23

Postby marvin23 » October 10th, 2013, 7:54 am

pioneer wrote:Go hadda wait ah lil longer now seein liesensing on strike

will this affect the clearance of vehicles from the port? been waiting for mine a while now

Postby turbosingh » October 10th, 2013, 9:22 am

^^Do the maths, no workers in liscensing office what yuh think will happen!

Postby 88sins » October 10th, 2013, 9:28 am

not to mention all d ole talk he go get for not tranferin in a timely manner, & d subsequent fines that go wit d ole talk

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 10th, 2013, 9:54 am

marvin23 wrote:

will this affect the clearance of vehicles from the port? been waiting for mine a while now

duhhhhhhhhhhh

professor

Postby professor » October 10th, 2013, 10:49 am

I have a similar problem, will has to be probated or if no will, someone in family has to get letter of Administration, then that perosn could transfer. This is what i was told, over three years now.

Postby ronsin1 » October 10th, 2013, 1:24 pm

^^^ that is correct if he does not have a will someone in the family will need to get a letter of administration

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » October 10th, 2013, 3:16 pm

I am in the same predicament right now. And this is what I am doing and getting thru thus far.

The registered owner past away. I was advised that the who ever gains the Letter of Administration for the deceased belongings will be responsible for transfer. I would need the following to have it done legally:

-Original and copy of Death Cert of registered owner
-Original and copy of Deceased ID/DP
-Original and copy of Letter of Administration
-Original and copy of the ID/DP of whom so ever holds the Letter of Administration
-Both myself and the holder of the letter of admin must be present at license office where by all other transfer procedures and policies will take place.

If the family of the deceased doesn't know, the Letter of Admin can be obtained via the Red House and this can take up to 6 months to get.

Hope this helps.

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 10th, 2013, 3:50 pm

marvin23 wrote:

nope, customs deals wid clearance

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 10th, 2013, 4:28 pm

some people just lackadaisical when it comes to vehicle transfer, no wonder they end up in this sort of sheit.

i have a friend whose family buy cars, they use it for a few years and during usage the put it up for sale, then when someone is ready to buy it they introduce them to the previous owners to get it transferred. and ive seen them place ads right here on tuner that all paperwork in ordah!!

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 11th, 2013, 1:22 am

lawyer up.......

link

Postby link » October 15th, 2013, 6:35 pm

Lic Off POS has a notice posted for the public on 'transferring from a deceased'.....
very specific details on how to go about this
rgds

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 16th, 2013, 11:25 pm

OP its best your friend start scrapping the vehicle and selling it off as parts before the owner's son claims it and he lose the entire thing.

konartis

Postby konartis » October 17th, 2013, 11:40 am

professor wrote:I have a similar problem, will has to be probated or if no will, someone in family has to get letter of Administration, then that perosn could transfer. This is what i was told, over three years now.

this is exactly right....and the only way it can be done legally....but with the corrupt elements in the licence office, a small bribe would suffice

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » October 17th, 2013, 1:17 pm

Requirements to Transfer Motor Vehicle where Owner is Deceased

Applicants must submit the following documents to the Licensing office Port of Spain, or San Fernando or Tobago:
i.Original Probate of Will plus a photocopy. (If deceased left a will).
ii.Original Letters of Administration plus a photocopy.
iii.Certified Copy of Ownership (not older than three (3) years (optional)
iv.Insurance or Cover Note in Buyer's/new owner's Name
v.Applicant to produce two (2) form of ID each eg.(Drivers Permit/Electronic ID Card/Passport)

The vehicle must be brought to the office to be checked as part of the transfer process.

DeHonerMan

Postby DeHonerMan » November 24th, 2013, 10:56 pm

That is still cool, my situation is i own two vehicles together with my dad, he passed on sometime ago, both of our names are on the certified copies, i went to sell one of the vehicles recently, you know the bleeping people tell me i need to do a double transfer, from me and my da to me and then from me to the new owner...and is a vehicle less that 2 yrs old !!