Snake Kills Dog - Not for the Squeamish or Dog Lovers

Postby bluefete » September 14th, 2013, 9:21 pm

I could not decide whether to post this in the WTF thread or the Snake thread. Mods move as you deem necessary.

The shocking moment a python crushed a 60-pound pet Siberian Husky to death
A Florida family could only watch in horror as a gigantic snake slithered through their back yard and crushed their pet Siberian Husky to death.

Comments (66)
By Lee Moran / NEW YORK DAILY NEWS
Friday, September 13, 2013, 2:53 PM

The 10-foot long wild African rock python quickly coiled itself around the 60-pound dog's neck as it was exercising outside the Miami-Dade County home.

A Florida family watched in horror as a gigantic snake slithered through their back yard and crushed their pet Siberian Husky to death.

The 10-foot long wild African rock python quickly coiled itself around the 60-pound dog's neck as it was exercising outside the Miami-Dade County home.

With the life being squeezed out of the beloved pooch - named Duke - his owner frantically dialed 911 for help.

Her son even slashed at the serpent's body with garden shears - after desperately trying to wrestle the beast away from the canine.

But it was to no avail.

Rescue crews arrived on the scene, in the Bird Drive recharge area, but declared that the dog had died within five minutes of being attacked.

The rock python was killed and sent to University of Florida for a necropsy. Experts think Duke could possibly have bitten the snake first.

They then killed the snake, which is now being sent to the University of Florida for a necropsy.

Duke's devastated owner, who did not want to be identified, told CBS Miami she'd "never seen anything like it" in 20 years of living near the Everglades.

"'Be careful, especially with young kids, because something that big can kill a kid,' she warned.

Florida Fish & Wildlife Commission is now searching for other wild pythons that could be patrolling the area.

"We do know there is a colony of these types of pythons concentrated in a six-square mile area in southwest Miami-Dade County," said spokesman Jorge Pino.

The incident happened on Aug. 30. but the gruesome images have only come to light this week.

Captain Jeff Fobb, of Miami-Dade Fire Rescue's Venom One unit, said two bite wounds were found on the snake's neck - which raised questions as to who had struck first.

"It's difficult to tell if the snake attacked the dog," he said. "A snake would've had trouble eating a dog that size, so it might've been a defensive move."

In another twist to the tale, it's also been reported that the attack happened at the family home of accused murderer Jose R Rojas.

Rojas was charged with the grisly torture and murder of his boss and a co-worker last year.

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/nationa ... z2ev6tEUHD

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/nationa ... z2ev66tiyh

TriP

Re: Snake Kills Dog - Not for the Squeamish or Dog Lovers

Postby TriP » September 14th, 2013, 9:31 pm

"two bite wounds were found on the snake's neck - which raised questions as to who had struck first."

R.I.P Duke
Last edited by TriP on September 14th, 2013, 9:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trapstar

Postby trapstar » September 14th, 2013, 9:32 pm

firetruck Samuel l Jackson I hate snakes

trapstar

Postby trapstar » September 14th, 2013, 9:32 pm

trapstar wrote:firetruck Samuel l Jackson I hate snakes

An I said fcuk

speedist

Postby speedist » September 14th, 2013, 9:42 pm

Son used garden shears to attack the snake? What they don't have one of these?
images.jpg
images.jpg (5.82 KiB) Viewed 4262 times

Postby DVSTT » September 14th, 2013, 9:46 pm

Nah, that snake was getting chop up, not losing my puppies so at all

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » September 14th, 2013, 11:16 pm

nah bro that snake wont live long enough to kill no pet in trini, that dead so fast

Postby rfari » September 14th, 2013, 11:52 pm

African again
Zr. My brother. Please show us the link between this incident and the pnm :smile:

Postby rollingstock » September 15th, 2013, 12:18 am

Poor doggy :'(

Postby De Dragon » September 15th, 2013, 10:57 am

rfari wrote:African again
Zr. My brother. Please show us the link between this incident and the pnm :smile:

De snake African (black) so iz obviously ah PNM abroad...........

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » September 15th, 2013, 9:13 pm

RIP Duke :(

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » September 15th, 2013, 9:36 pm

RIP Snake

speedist

Postby speedist » September 15th, 2013, 9:56 pm

:drinking:
metal_gear_solid_snake_by_devils666.jpg
metal_gear_solid_snake_by_devils666.jpg (103.03 KiB) Viewed 3641 times

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 15th, 2013, 10:05 pm

poor doggy and poor snake.....i blame the ppl moving closer to the everglades and occupying the snakes natural habitat. I know i wasnt not living anywhere close to that.

Postby wagonrunner » September 15th, 2013, 10:09 pm

compared to where yuh living now? :|

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 15th, 2013, 10:13 pm

heyyyyy i have never seen a snake bigger than around 3 feet outside the zoo

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » September 15th, 2013, 10:57 pm

them people dont know how to deal with them snakes
3 line in the head

Postby wagonrunner » September 15th, 2013, 10:59 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:heyyyyy i have never seen a snake bigger than around 3 feet outside the zoo

too...................... easy.......................... :lol:

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 15th, 2013, 11:11 pm

wey yodinz dey? maybe he would have an investigative input!

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 16th, 2013, 6:32 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:heyyyyy i have never seen a snake bigger than around 3 feet outside the zoo

too...................... easy.......................... :lol:

:| :| :| :|

Postby rollingstock » September 16th, 2013, 12:10 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:poor doggy and poor snake.....i blame the ppl moving closer to the everglades and occupying the snakes natural habitat. I know i wasnt not living anywhere close to that.

Eh chica not to make yuh look chupid or anything buh the python is an invasive species to the everglades.

Maybe AFRICAN rock python should have been a giveaway :?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 16th, 2013, 1:03 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:poor doggy and poor snake.....i blame the ppl moving closer to the everglades and occupying the snakes natural habitat. I know i wasnt not living anywhere close to that.

Eh chica not to make yuh look chupid or anything buh the python is an invasive species to the everglades.

Maybe AFRICAN rock python should have been a giveaway :?

heyyyyy i watch Swamp Wars eh and it doesn't matter if it came from africa, india or suriname

#icant

Postby rollingstock » September 16th, 2013, 1:10 pm

Doh study it, once you're sexy it doesn't matter if you're intelligent...........wait.........

WOW it must really suck being you :roll:

i keed i keed

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 16th, 2013, 1:11 pm

#slitswrist

Postby rollingstock » September 16th, 2013, 1:13 pm

#slurpsblood

Postby gt4tified » September 16th, 2013, 2:04 pm

I killing dat snake, currying it and then feeding it to my dog....wham to dem yanks boy?

3ne_kratos

Postby 3ne_kratos » September 16th, 2013, 2:15 pm

as we on the topic of snakes :

Largest dead snake ever seen :

https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?vi ... 2743704738

not sure how to embed here :cry:
Last edited by 3ne_kratos on September 16th, 2013, 2:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » September 16th, 2013, 2:20 pm

you now got back internet access nah?
form the first frame, its recognized.

Postby rollingstock » September 16th, 2013, 2:58 pm

3ne_kratos wrote:as we on the topic of snakes :

Largest dead snake ever seen :

https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?vi ... 2743704738

not sure how to embed here :cry:

Yuh feel dis is like long time or wha?

Postby ismithx » September 17th, 2013, 8:27 am

speedist wrote:Son used garden shears to attack the snake? What they don't have one of these?

my point exactly... once i living near to bush i muss have one of them