Bad Boy Ancel Roget

Postby mrtrini45 » August 22nd, 2013, 8:00 am

From Trinidad Express 22/8/2013

I THOUGHT IT WAS A COUP
DCP Richardson explains why he arrested unionist Ancel Roget during protest:
By Jensen LaVende jensen.lavende@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Aug 21, 2013 at 10:26 PM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 21, 2013 at 10:43 PM ECT

DEPUTY Commissioner of Police Mervyn Richardson said he intervened in the protest led by trade union leader Ancel Roget yesterday because he thought the protest was another coup attempt such as took place in 1990.
Roget, who is the president of the Joint Trade Union Movement (JTUM), was detained for a few minutes by Richardson as he and members of JTUM protested on the seco­nd anniversary of the declaration of the limited State of Emergency.
Before taking him to the Central Police Station, Richardson informed Roget and his supporters that they were breaking the law. Asked by the media what law the protesters, who gathered outside the Hall of Justice on St Vincent Street, Port of Spain, were breaking, Richardson responded by saying “the Public Festival Act”.
This prohibits people from blocking their faces outside of Carnival.
During the weekly press briefing at the Police Administration Building at Sackville Street, Port of Spain, yesterday, Richardson said the entire situation was “unfortunate”.
“The Commissioner and I were at a meeting at the Ministry of National Security when I got word that there were people outside the Hall of Justice. People were fearful that another 1990 insurrection was about to take place because those persons there had their faces covered, dressed in black and had black pieces of sticks in their hands with flags,” Richardson said.
He added: “I left the National Security building, and went to the Hall of Justice and asked who are these people. One voice replied, ‘Check for Cabrera, check for Cabrera.’ I went along the line looking and while going through the line I recognised Ancel Roget. I asked him to please accompany me. At that time I thought it was a coup myself.”
Richardson said there were police there “standing by in readiness”.
“I asked Mr Roget to cease and desist from that because clearly he was breaking the law. No one knew who it was, their faces were all covered, they looked in a particular way, and I formed an opinion and in that aspect I asked him to remove himself and to accompany me to the police headquarters, where we had a discussion,” the DCP said.
Richardson said Roget was told what the law was, but Roget felt otherwise and only left after two attorneys came. He added that Roget said he would be going back, but he (Richardson) warned him that he should not return and continue with his protest since he had not made any application.
Also commenting on the matter at the press briefing was acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams, who said the law required that Roget seek permission to hold a public march.
Williams said the law does not allow people of their own volition to engage in public meetings and public marches, and Section 1:10 and Section 1:12 of the Summary Offences Act govern such activities.
“Once you engage in a public meeting or march without permission, it is illegal. Every union leader in Trinidad and Tobago is supposed to know the law, and not every time we face a situation where somebody is in breach of the law the first course of action is to arrest and charge, we need to balance things in the country,” Williams said.
Williams asked what was the difficulty in applying to march when all that is required is that the request be made no less than 48 hours and no more than 14 days prior.
“We have not been refusing anyone permission once we could effectively police the event. We have to be a lawful society. Those who complain of lawlessness are the very said people who are engaging in lawlessness,” Williams added.

What the Act says:

Section 5:2 of the Public Festival Act says: The President may make Regulations for the conduct and management of public festivals or any particular public festival and for the proper behaviour of persons and the preservation of the peace at such festivals; and, without prejudice to the generality of this provision, Regulations made under this subsection may permit persons to celebrate such festivals in the streets and other public places with parades, processions, music and fireworks, and may permit them to throw specified substances at other persons, to appear masked or otherwise disguised and generally to celebrate the festivals in any manner that may be prescribed.

5:5 of the Act states: Any person who appears in public masked or otherwise disguised except during a public festival at which he is authorised to do so by Regulations under subsection(2) is liable to a fine of $1,000 or to imprisonment for six months.

mrtrini45

Re: Bad Boy Ancel Roget

Postby mrtrini45 » August 22nd, 2013, 8:03 am

Guardian

‘I thought it was another coup’

“I thought it was another coup.” This was the explanation DCP Mervyn Richardson gave yesterday to justify his intervention in a demonstration staged by the Joint Trade Union Movement (JTUM) outside the Hall of Justice, Port-of-Spain. Richardson detained Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU) president general Ancel Roget during the intervention.

While commenting on the incident at yesterday’s police press briefing, Richardson said: “The Police Commissioner and I were in a meeting at National Security Ministry when I got word that there were people outside the Hall of Justice and they appeared to be in a state where people were fearful that another 1990 insurrection was about to take place.” Richardson noted that the demonstrators were wearing black clothing, had their faces covered in handkerchiefs and were carrying “big black sticks with flags.”

“You didn’t know who it was, I thought it was a coup myself. I had police standing by in readiness,” he said. The demonstration, which began around 9 am, was organised by labour leaders and social activists to mark the second anniversary of the state of emergency declared by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar between August 21 and December 5, 2011.

Roget, along with a little over three dozen demonstrators, were all dressed in black and wore T-shirts with the writing: “We will not forget August 21, 2011.” The demonstrators marched silently around the Hall of Justice.

However, the activity took an unexpected twist when Richardson intervened to stop it, deeming the action illegal. Richardson said the demonstrators were breaking the law by concealing their faces and blocking the free flow of pedestrians on the sidewalk. He later said they also did not have police permission to stage the event.

In the process, Richardson bypassed his juniors and took matters into his own hands by detaining Roget for almost 20 minutes, after he allegedly refused to comply with his (Richardson) initial request.

Roget was personally escorted by Richardson to the Central Police Station at St Vincent Street, where he spent a short time being questioned by Richardson before his two attorneys arrived. He was eventually allowed to leave and returned to his fellow demonstrators. However, as a result of the intervention, the demonstration was discontinued. Richardson said he asked Roget if he had sought permission from the Police Commissioner for the demonstration.

“When I questioned him on whether he made an application to march or gather he answered in the negative,” Richardson said. “I asked him a number of other questions which he could not supply answers for, so I did advise him to take his protest to other places in a more peaceful manner and to desist from blocking the way.” In an interview outside the police station, Roget’s attorney, Vasheist Maharaj, said his client’s version of the events were different to Richardson’s.

“My client’s instructions are he was taken forcefully against his will and taken into police custody. When I got into the station, this was confirmed by ACP Wayne Dick,” Maharaj said. “However, when we reached to speak to DCP Richardson he denied that and he said that Mr Roget came voluntarily and forced himself into the police station.” Maharaj said his client would be considering legal action.

In addressing the issue, acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams advised the public on the laws relating to protests and public gatherings. “What I want to share with the nation is the law does not allow people of their own volition to engage in public meetings and public marches...Once you engage in public meeting or public march without permission it is illegal,” Williams said.

He said citizens who wished to hold such meetings and demonstrations should apply to do so between 14 days and 48 hours before the event. He said he would only refuse to grant permission if the police could not adequately oversee an event. “You see we need to balance things in the country, because we are dealing with a democratic republic and people want to express their concerns about things happening in the country and in any real democracy people can so express,” Williams said.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 22nd, 2013, 8:19 am

Richardson have to be one of the most arrogant assholee officers around, can't stand him or Williams, both always braying some sheit, better they do like d minister and stay silent

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 22nd, 2013, 8:24 am

He thought it was another coup?
OMGWTFLOLBBQ

Postby javishm » August 22nd, 2013, 8:33 am

hahahhha

what a clown
Last edited by javishm on August 22nd, 2013, 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Team Loco » August 22nd, 2013, 8:33 am

roget is a jackace. talk done. such an idiot

Postby rfari » August 22nd, 2013, 8:35 am

DCP lying. If he really tort it was a coup he woulda buss.out and go home and hide. Just like 1990

jaggie

Postby jaggie » August 22nd, 2013, 9:03 am

rfari wrote:DCP lying. If he really tort it was a coup he woulda buss.out and go home and hide. Just like 1990

:D :D :D :D :D :D .....best i've heard all day!!!

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2013, 9:05 am

so women wearing niqab not breaking the law too?

but now u can add a charge to any bandit that wears a mask

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2013, 9:10 am

breaking the law is still breaking the law and a chargeable offence

we live in a lawless society

small infractions lead to bigger infractions, that is why we have the current problem with crime

lack of enforcement

apparently he is an "untouchable"

cause he can break the law wrt holding a protest without permission and covering faces without a reason like a celebration or festival

he broke the law and should be charged!!

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2013, 9:19 am

^^agreed eh UML, but the DCP sound like a buttocks dey eh

jaggie

Postby jaggie » August 22nd, 2013, 9:21 am

He lucky he eh get to use the phone book to call the lawyer.....

DionYorker

Postby DionYorker » August 22nd, 2013, 9:28 am

jaggie wrote:He lucky he eh get to use the phone book to call the lawyer.....

dey shoudda pelt level licks on his protestin arse.... :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :mrgreen:

Postby sliderz1 » August 22nd, 2013, 9:35 am

Protestors are allowed too many privileges

it good

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 22nd, 2013, 10:01 am

Team Loco wrote:roget is a jackace. talk done. such an idiot

X12345678910

Postby Country_Bookie » August 22nd, 2013, 10:38 am

Roget is an attention whoring idiot who using his union to further his political ambitions, but DCP Richardson is probably as much of an arse as him. Who really gonna stage a coup using black sticks with flags on them?

Postby De Dragon » August 22nd, 2013, 12:12 pm

Matters not how idiotic DCP sounded, law breach is law breach..................

Postby gt4tified » August 22nd, 2013, 1:27 pm

Everybody missing what I seeing...personalities aside...a man is held, accused of breaking the law (on two separate grounds), detained and made aware of that, yet refuses to comply with a lawful instruction, and something not wrong with that?

And if the DCP did nothing I sure it would have some muffler bearing who would have had an issue with that...ah lie?

Trinidad sweet yes!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 22nd, 2013, 1:39 pm

Don't think anybody against what was done, but a coup??? Really??

Postby toyolink » August 22nd, 2013, 2:20 pm

This is one place where foolishness is mass produced.
In a funny way the pronouncement of the ACP shows how dangerous an act of stupidity on the part of a group of individuals could be.
God forbid the police and army decended and started to manhandle people and shoot-up the place because someone feared was a 'setta' bandits or coup.
Labour leaders with political aspirations are dangerous creatures and there main resource is the worker class.

DionYorker

Postby DionYorker » August 22nd, 2013, 2:43 pm

toyolink wrote:This is one place where foolishness is mass produced.
In a funny way the pronouncement of the ACP shows how dangerous an act of stupidity on the part of a group of individuals could be.
God forbid the police and army decended and started to manhandle people and shoot-up the place because someone feared was a 'setta' bandits or coup.
Labour leaders with political aspirations are dangerous creatures and there main resource is the worker class.

Janjatta..i tryin out a new term....

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 22nd, 2013, 3:03 pm

Roget is making himself a pest an annoyin arrogantmone

Postby Sky » August 22nd, 2013, 3:12 pm

eliteauto wrote:^^agreed eh UML, but the DCP sound like a buttocks dey eh

X2.
They did break the law. Why say he thought it was another coup?
Just say they break the law and dun.
Now everyone laughin at him.

Postby sharkman121 » August 22nd, 2013, 3:18 pm

sliderz1 wrote:Protestors are allowed too many privileges

it good

when you living in a time when you never really had to fight for your rights...thats easy to say.

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » August 22nd, 2013, 3:46 pm

Wha business Ancel have in this? Is this a trade union issue? Puccy

Postby De Dragon » August 22nd, 2013, 3:53 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:Protestors are allowed too many privileges

it good

when you living in a time when you never really had to fight for your rights...thats easy to say.

Yeah but sharky you feel that was protest worthy though? The problem is that that mindset of militancy and ting had its time and place. There are some times when a subtler approach is needed but Roget and Co. seem not to know when.

Postby 16 cycles » August 22nd, 2013, 3:58 pm

not a good precedent to allow people with covered faces to march around an area that was once the ground zero of a coup in any country.....

union's democratic right to protest and also their duty to abide by the law..applications etc...

Postby sMASH » August 22nd, 2013, 5:01 pm

i disagree with making a stand and not maintaining your stance. the dcp fella should have continued with what he was doing.

Postby brams112 » August 22nd, 2013, 10:53 pm

Team Loco wrote:roget is a jackace. talk done. such an idiot

Should have charged his tail for being stupid.

boxy

Postby boxy » August 22nd, 2013, 11:41 pm

Roget is a strong union leader but he drop the ball on this he should have known better.

To the jackace who comparing this to a Muslim woman covering her face you sir are a dummy.
Protesting without the bandana over his face would have not drawn as much attention

And for those who talking Ish about Richardson. WHY WOULDNT SOMETHING LIKE THIS BRING BACK MEMORIES OF THE COUP FROM SOMEONE WHO EXPEREINCED IT FIRST HAND?
I could understand you dont like the man but dont patronize him for what he thought was happening. You do realize they now finish raid beetham and the prime minister was on her way to East Port Of Spain to meet with the Residents right? Wouldnt you think something off seeing men in black covering their faces in front hall of justice?
fullfront14thurs front.png
fullfront14thurs front.png (297.94 KiB) Viewed 4022 times