...Camden to be turned to a Flightschool?.. No Drag Racing?

Postby Monk BANzai » August 16th, 2013, 10:04 pm

http://ctntworld.com/cnews2/index.php?o ... Itemid=707

World-renowned courier delivery services company, FedEx, has donated a Boeing aircraft to the Trinidad and Tobago Civil Aviation Authority (TTCAA) for further training.

The donation to the TTCAA Training Centre is the company's first to the country.

According to the Minister of Trade, Industry and Investment, Mr. Vasant Bharath, the Civil Aviation Authority has made a significant contribution to the economy.

He said the donation of the Boeing 727 to the Centre will now afford students the opportunity to have hands on training as opposed to learning about the aircraft on a computer.

"The plan for the general Aviation Centre mainly focuses on the light aircraft market and encompasses several activities that are categorised as business civil aviation."

At the moment, the T&T Civil Aviation Authority operates the leading aviation training facility in the Caribbean.

However, Minister Bharath said Government is seeking to develop the Camden airstrip which is currently under-utilised.

He believes this can create direct employment.

"We are turning it (Camden) into an industrial park whereby we will develop the general aviation business, which is predominantly cargo, also leisure aircraft coming in, small aircraft, many of which bypass Trinidad and Tobago today and go to other countries. So we are looking to encourage that kind of traffic."

The Director of the Civil Aviation Authority, Mr. Ramesh Lutchmedial, said the new addition will enhance hands-on training for mechanics, technicians and engineers at the Training Centre.

"We are currently finalising MOUs with Maryville University in the United States and the Singapore Aviation Training Academy and once we finalise these MOUs, we can expand the curriculum of training that we offer."

The T&T Civil Aviation Authority is an Associate Member of the International Civil Aviation organization.

Soo....wah go happen to D 1320 Fyahz men?.....Back to the streets?

Is this like the White boys taking Chaguaramas and developing it into the Regional Yatching Center that it is right now?

(oh please white Boy Gods...go into talks with the Govt and develop something similar for motorsport)....

Re: ...Camden to be turned to a Flightschool?.. No JAGGZ?

Postby eliteauto » August 16th, 2013, 10:08 pm

excellent, looking forward to UTT's helicopter mech courses as well

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 16th, 2013, 10:08 pm

Nah rotten rice mention racing at camden too, multi faceted facility

Postby Monk BANzai » August 16th, 2013, 10:10 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Nah rotten rice mention racing at camden too, multi faceted facility

i eh overstand....issa "North/South Valsayn" setup? with Valpark in de middle?......

Postby Rainman » August 16th, 2013, 11:21 pm

Excellent use of that area, will really help civil aviation with some much needed training.

Postby meccalli » August 16th, 2013, 11:32 pm

You see how them news media people like bacchanal?? I was there covering the event for CAA themselves, i thought it would have a thread like this. Not into racing but always hearing about this camden and racing. In addition to the facilities they're looking to take racing off the streets by providing racing facilities.

Re: ...Camden to be turned to a Flightschool?.. No Drag Raci

Postby SR » August 17th, 2013, 12:38 am

What no response from ttass ah whey link he reel quiet these days

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 17th, 2013, 2:05 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Nah rotten rice mention racing at camden too, multi faceted facility

i eh overstand....issa "North/South Valsayn" setup? with Valpark in de middle?......

me eh know, all I heard was that there will be an airport, training facility and racing track to take racing off the streets and create jobs, the usual jibber jabber that comes when an election is looming, then I turned off the tv in disgust at the ridiculous suit vasant was wearing :|

Postby Ted_v2 » August 17th, 2013, 7:17 am

tek it tuh de streetsss

Postby nemisis » August 17th, 2013, 7:43 am

sound boy 64 wrote:tek it tuh de streetsss
new racing facility currently in construction between sando and debe

Postby Team Loco » August 17th, 2013, 7:52 am

I just want to get myself in that fedex plane and pretend to be tom Hanks in castaway

Postby Ted_v2 » August 17th, 2013, 7:52 am

i actually planning to have a road race but i need people that interested. something like tag but With cars and hazard lights

Postby pete » August 17th, 2013, 8:20 am

This is after the TTCAA got a multi-million dollar building in Piarco for training?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 17th, 2013, 9:01 pm

here we go again.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 17th, 2013, 11:31 pm

^^ saw the advanced plans today....looks interesting....suffice it to says its not TTASA led...soooo...

I think progress will be done this time......some fun times in motorsport before the end of the year....

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 18th, 2013, 10:23 am

buh...

"In addition to this a drag racing track is also expected to be constructed in the area.
This will help with “taking racing off the streets”, Bharath said."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Bha ... 68951.html

Postby zoom rader » August 18th, 2013, 10:37 am

^^^^ rubber talk. Drag racing dead in trini because of greedy ppl that want to control a free sport.

rookie

Air park Camden Couva

Postby rookie » August 20th, 2013, 7:10 am

Re: Air park Camden Couva

Postby javishm » August 20th, 2013, 8:05 am

ennsidee

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » August 20th, 2013, 8:32 am

we gonna burn engines on the strip in protest?

Red_Man

Postby Red_Man » August 20th, 2013, 8:46 am

^^ :rofl:

rookie

Postby rookie » August 20th, 2013, 8:47 am

Anil lies again an no more drag racing

Postby Hook » August 20th, 2013, 9:00 am

:lol: But protest what, exactly? The owners of a property using their land for their purposes?

Postby crazybalhead » August 20th, 2013, 9:00 am

Camden was never intended to be a permanent solution to drag racing.

Postby K74T » August 20th, 2013, 9:02 am

IBsparky

professor

Postby professor » August 20th, 2013, 9:21 am

I don't know how true it is, but I heard that work had started on a site in Freeport, but after some hassle with some state agencies, they were promised land around Camden to relocate, it would include a Drag strip and Circuit Racing etc.
I hope they hurry up, my time is runnning out.

Postby sMASH » August 20th, 2013, 10:03 am

crazybalhead wrote:Camden was never intended to be a permanent solution to drag racing.

WATAH -LOO people !!!!!!!!!!

forget bout wallerfield, forget bout camden, forget bout freeport,

Eef Yuh need to fight for any thing worth while , fight for waterloo

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 20th, 2013, 10:56 am

drags gone bak in wallerfield

Postby pioneer » August 20th, 2013, 11:01 am

No need to worry guys, I'm sure they'd build a big enough carpark.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 20th, 2013, 12:41 pm

I doz drag in my street normal. Quarter mile ftw