Testicle Eating Fish - Say Hello to the Pacu!

Postby bluefete » August 10th, 2013, 1:49 pm

And we thought we had problems with the scorpion fish.

Beware the testicle-biting fish, Swedish men are told after relative of the piranha appears in Nordic waters

Has flatter teeth, similar to humans, which are perfect for crunching

By Steve Robson

PUBLISHED: 17:12 GMT, 10 August 2013 | UPDATED: 17:16 GMT, 10 August 2013

Swedish men are being warned against any inclination for nude swimming after a new species of fish has been discovered in their waters which enjoys biting testicles.

A 21cm pacu fish, a relative of the piranha, was found by fisherman in the Oresund Sound off the south coast of the country last week.

Known in Papua New Guinea as 'The Ball Cutter', the pacu has reportedly been responsible for the deaths of two fishermen in the Pacific nation, who died from blood loss after the fish had bitten off their testicles.

Nutcracker: The Pacu fish, a relative of the piranha, has been known to attack male genitalia

A freshwater fish, it can grow up to 90cm long and weigh up to 25kg.

Mainly found in the rivers of the Amazonian basin, they have flatter teeth which are very similar to humans and perfect for crunching.

Their diet is mainly nuts, leaves, aquatic vegetation and snails - but on occasion they have been known to enjoy the taste of human flesh.

'Keep your swimwear on if you're bathing in the Sound these days - maybe there are more out there!' the Natural History Museum of Denmark has warned.

'The pacu is not normally dangerous to people but it has quite a serious bite, there have been incidents in other countries, such as Papua New Guinea where some men have had their testicles bitten off,' said Henrik Carl, a fish expert at the Danish museum told Sweden's The Local.

Danger: Swedish men are being warned against enjoying their beautiful waters in the nude in case a Pacu fish attacks

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z2bacWsbjw
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

In 2004, The Scotsman newspaper reported that an 18-month-old toddler required surgery after a pacu bit her finger at Edinburgh Butterfly and Insect World.

Mr Carl admitted he cannot be sure if there are any more pacu in Swedish waters.

'They are almost identical to the piranha, you couldn't even tell from the outside. It's just that they have different teeth. Flatter and stronger, perfect for crushing,' he added.

So far, there have been no reports of any pacu attacks in European waters, but after this first sighting, Mr Carl said bathers should be cautious.

'It could become a problem some time in the future if it's not the only one. This one was the first, but who knows, it's probably not the last.,' he told the newspaper.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z2bacLjOOS
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

GRIM

Re: Testicle Eating Fish - Say Hello to the Pacu!

Postby GRIM » August 10th, 2013, 1:56 pm

Just lookin at the teeth an meh balls start to hurt

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » August 10th, 2013, 2:06 pm

Postby meccalli » August 10th, 2013, 2:06 pm

Go see the ones by chais, you'll shield em with your hands LOL.

2.0VW

Postby 2.0VW » August 10th, 2013, 2:06 pm

We have pacu's in Trinidad

Postby K74T » August 10th, 2013, 2:49 pm

Feels good man

speedist

Postby speedist » August 10th, 2013, 3:19 pm

GRIM wrote:Just lookin at the teeth an meh balls start to hurt

Real talk dey, hoss. Man hadda wear cup to bathe now too.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 10th, 2013, 3:59 pm

People here keep them in a Tank Nomel Nomel .

Postby gastly369 » August 10th, 2013, 5:28 pm

allyuh see de size of the one cracky have O_O

daron

Postby daron » August 10th, 2013, 5:34 pm

$25.00 for a small 1 @ petshops they grow real fast

Postby Ted_v2 » August 10th, 2013, 6:53 pm

Whoa. Good thing I don't bathe in beaches

Postby meccalli » August 10th, 2013, 6:58 pm

Is river fish..and i released 10 into caura

........j/ust kidding...... or am I... huehue

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » August 10th, 2013, 7:23 pm

Their diet is mainly nuts, leaves, aquatic vegetation and snails - but on occasion they have been known to enjoy the taste of human flesh.

No sh!t.

Postby joker » August 10th, 2013, 11:23 pm

meccalli wrote:Is river fish..and i released 10 into caura

........j/ust kidding...... or am I... huehue

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » August 10th, 2013, 11:29 pm

i used to mine these, nice amazing fish, they grow really quickly and to large sizes.

Postby foss » August 10th, 2013, 11:33 pm

I had about 4 of them in a 4ft tank. they grow really fast.

they jumped out the tank as they got bigger.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 10th, 2013, 11:48 pm

de hell

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 11th, 2013, 1:43 am

interesting.........

Postby De Dragon » August 11th, 2013, 5:58 pm

Wouldn't be so bad if'n yuh could teach it to NOT bite and jess chant..............

Postby X2 » August 11th, 2013, 7:31 pm

The picture looks photochopped... I never see a fish with gums before...just sayin...unno

Postby ismithx » August 11th, 2013, 7:33 pm

plenty do...

Postby DVSTT » August 11th, 2013, 8:11 pm

I had one that recently passed. They bite everything so I wouldn't doubt they would bite testicles.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 11th, 2013, 8:13 pm

Yuh start d curry yet man????? Jk jk sorry to hear, but thats one biggggg fish

Postby DVSTT » August 11th, 2013, 8:54 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:Yuh start d curry yet man????? Jk jk sorry to hear, but thats one biggggg fish

LOL.
Yea, was about 6 years old. Real feel it. It was actually supposed to go wild fowl trust but it died :/

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 11th, 2013, 9:31 pm

Wow , that would have been very cool if it made it there , too know you raised it and its being released into a simulated wild!
Awesome fish man ! I have raised fish like oscar and koi from small , and sadly a day I was not home and apparently they sprayed the area the day before they were supposed to , so I lost all my fish friends, was a sad day I know how it is man