Men's clothes: how to wear it

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2013, 2:12 am

Learn to tie the Windsor knot at least.

Re: Men's clothes: how to wear it

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2013, 2:13 am

The proper Polo fit, courtesy of Bond. James Bond.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 9th, 2013, 2:15 am

Maybe I should learn how to tie a tie...
Nah

Postby Country_Bookie » August 9th, 2013, 2:24 am

Nice. Now tell we how to get that look where the jeans tight but it still falling down and revealing the top half of my boxers to the world.

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2013, 2:46 am

The look we should be aiming for minus the Walther PPK.

Now don't forget the shoes and the lacing style. Real Leather. Old nubuck shoes can get new life and look with a tin of quality polish. Kiwi. Don't use those wipe on bottles with the sponge top. Get the flat tins with the wax that has that particular smell you will never forget.

The UK term for this is bulling your shoes (because you are trying to penetrate the leather with the polish which will waterproof and protect it for years from drying out). US term is spit n' shine. Clean the shoes properly first with a shoe brush.

Two hours with a tin of Kiwi polish, 2 cloths and some elbow grease. Use small dabs of polish in firm, circular, nickel sized motions. Occasionally sprinkle some water (or spit) very,very lightly on the area you are working on. Your index finger will be stained for a day or two after that. Buff each layer with a soft cotton cloth when it dries and progressively add another layer on top that. Polish your shoes once a week/fortnight after that with a quick bull and buff.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 9th, 2013, 7:16 am

Anything for boxers?

Postby ismithx » August 9th, 2013, 8:19 am

Good one... Personally I use the eldrege knot cuz its verrry easy for me

Postby DFC » August 9th, 2013, 8:28 am

Damn Daniel Craig is Soo hot.

I always admired his suave style.

I wore a suit recently and followed most of the advice posted here and wow did it look good. I got tons of compliments from everybody.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 9th, 2013, 9:03 am

props

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 9th, 2013, 9:15 am

Great! Some fella's REALLY NEED THIS, desperately.
But i dont blame them, they draw inspiration from the people
they're around....like women. Most women learn to dress better from their friends
giving them advice, looking at what they wear and just trying to keep up to there pace really.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » August 9th, 2013, 9:16 am

excellent thread about threads...

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 9th, 2013, 9:18 am

Btw......i have more chino's than jeans in my closet, something's wrong with me :D

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 9th, 2013, 9:20 am

Hard to get good fitting shirts when you're really slim and have a short torso and long arms

badandy

Postby badandy » August 9th, 2013, 9:24 am

good info, should be in the stickies...imho

one observation: in the e.g. with the dress shirt the tie is shown above the "belt line" and in the ties it's at the base of the belt.
still, a really good guide .

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 9th, 2013, 9:24 am

^ the best and cheapest bet for you Hustler is the VAN HEUSSEN "player" line of shirts.

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2013, 9:46 am

I personally like the fits of Van Heusen shirts and dress pants. Some Calvin Klein shirts fit really well and the material feels so comfortable. You can get really good fitting chino pants at Detour from Infinity for everyday wear. Bradford mall in POS has good shirts and ties. Always store your ties by hanging them on a tie rack or rolling them. Ties should NEVER be folded.

I never shopped for shoes in Trinidad, but I'm sure you can get some quality leather stuff for here for less than $1000 TTD. Please guys, don't always go for the hivemind Desert Trek seam Clarks. Will post a guide on shoes sometime.

TriP

Postby TriP » August 9th, 2013, 9:50 am

good thread ..next question u should as how many bachelor tuners does iron dey clothes..or dey does give dey gyal it or carry it by de chinee laundry to get it steam press..lol

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 9th, 2013, 9:55 am

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 9th, 2013, 9:58 am

Bought some Van Heusen from Stephensons which were supposed to be slim fit, failure

wrt shoes, haven't bought a pair locally in ages, bought a sexy pair of kenneth coles recently, great fit, have a pair of Clarks Escalades going strong for donkey years, even though there seems to be a hole at the underneath which takes in water, put them in the sun to dry, no stinky smell like you get with other shoes or when carpet gets wet and a pair of Clarks Originals moccasins and a desert boot for occasions

Postby j.o.e » August 9th, 2013, 10:00 am

Van Heusen slim fit line has a nice fit, but terrible quality..2 wash and its all over.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 9th, 2013, 10:04 am

Been trying the self tie bow-tie recently. Makes a whole lot of a difference to a suit.

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2013, 10:05 am

Every man should know how to iron properly along the crease, single or married. Learn about using the steam button and the heat setting should match the shirt material. You don't have to use starch, but it does help for the crisp look.

Every man should know how to do some simple hand stitching and they should always have some thread, a needle and scissors at home.

Every man should own a Victorinox/Wenger or Leatherman multi-tool. Dental floss is strong nylon and will yield very reliable stitching if required in an emergency. Like stitching your ripped suitcase in the airport before checking in a flight from YYZ.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 9th, 2013, 10:06 am

j.o.e wrote:Van Heusen slim fit line has a nice fit, but terrible quality..2 wash and its all over.

Those locally assembled Van Heusen are horrible over time. I stop buying them unless is last resort. I just have one or two that I don't beat.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 9th, 2013, 10:20 am

nice info there OP

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2013, 10:34 am

good thread /good info!!!!!

Skanky

Postby Skanky » August 9th, 2013, 11:03 am

No amount of clothes could help,if you badly out of shape.

Eat right.
Lots of rest.
Exercise
Clothes...in that order.

Postby DFC » August 9th, 2013, 12:09 pm

I go crazy for nice ties . I have a tie collection.

Any one else like ties?

Postby j.o.e » August 9th, 2013, 12:16 pm

^^^ yup, more ties than i can wear. Looking for storage solution that'll keep em neat but still in sight so none will be forgotten and unused.

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2013, 12:23 pm

^ get a big, flat, clear lid plastic storage container, about 6 inches high. You can compartmentalize it with some cardboard, no need for glue because you can store the container flat on its base in your closet. You don't have to section it; I don't. Roll your ties and store them neatly like this:

Postby j.o.e » August 9th, 2013, 1:10 pm

not workable for the volume of ties....may need to have something with a similiar set up as above but built into 3 or 4 drawers.