Amazon shoppers

GOAT

Amazon shoppers

Postby GOAT » August 5th, 2013, 6:19 pm

Wanna shop on amazon but have no experience so just want a lil info before I move forward.
Lets say I wanna buy clothing are the prices listed on amazon all that I'll have to pay or will I have to pay for other fees in T&T?
Thanks.

Re: Amazon shoppers

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2013, 6:24 pm

you will have to pay vat and import duty when it reaches Trinidad

i think clothes is 20% duty plus 15% vat

Postby pioneer » August 5th, 2013, 6:25 pm

multiply by 6

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2013, 6:29 pm

most skybox websites have a calculator

example: http://www.caribbeanexpress.com/general/calculator.asp

Postby pioneer » August 5th, 2013, 6:53 pm

But people in work by me does say multiply by 6...

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2013, 6:55 pm

i always over calculate for safety..x 6.45

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 5th, 2013, 6:55 pm

curry goat on friday opee?

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » August 5th, 2013, 6:57 pm

On amazons website make sure you pay in US dollars. If you pay in Tt they charge something like 6.6 or so as the exchange.

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2013, 7:05 pm

sk1111 wrote:On amazons website make sure you pay in US dollars. If you pay in Tt they charge something like 6.6 or so as the exchange.

didnt realise...thanks!!

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » August 5th, 2013, 7:08 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
sk1111 wrote:On amazons website make sure you pay in US dollars. If you pay in Tt they charge something like 6.6 or so as the exchange.

didnt realise...thanks!!

Yeah check it out its some ridiculous rate of exchange.

shiva_0001

Postby shiva_0001 » August 5th, 2013, 7:09 pm

i think its more like 6.8, made the mistake once and payed in tt for a tablet.... was like close to $200 more when you use tt.

you can also get amazon prime free for six months if you go uwi or any tertiary education schools and have a valid email (.edu)
all you have to do is-
1. sign in your amazon account
2. click on your account
3. scroll down till you see account settings and click on amazon student membership
4. follow instructions and use your student email
5. for uwi students go on..... http://my.uwi.edu/web/mycampus/home and sign then go in email and click on confirmation link from amazon
6. VERY IMPORTANT - go back on account settings on amazon and click on Manage prime membership and take off auto upgrade (after the 6 months free they will automatically deduct for prime if you don't take this off)

amazon prime allows you free 2 day shipping on many goods

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2013, 7:12 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

didnt realise...thanks!!

neither did i

ezoned emailed like 2 weeks ago and told members about it.

Postby brams112 » August 5th, 2013, 7:38 pm

Get a credit card,skybox and start op,you will get instructions when you get your skybox address,which is what you will use to collect stuff in the us.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 5th, 2013, 7:39 pm

I paid 6.89, then I realized, I was like faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawk, inceased my bill by a lot

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » August 5th, 2013, 7:45 pm

None ah allyuh answer de OP. Lemme answer

Mehheeehhhh mehh mehhh mehhheehh.com. Meehh meh meh mehhh% meeeeehhhh. Mehh mehh.
Meh.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 5th, 2013, 7:48 pm

X-Axis wrote:None ah allyuh answer de OP. Lemme answer

Mehheeehhhh mehh mehhh mehhheehh.com. Meehh meh meh mehhh% meeeeehhhh. Mehh mehh.
Meh.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

good thing I wasn't drinking or else keyboard and monitor would be ruined

Postby javishm » August 5th, 2013, 10:49 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

didnt realise...thanks!!

neither did i

there is a thread about this actually

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 5th, 2013, 11:13 pm

op is a GOAT.....lol.....

GOAT

Postby GOAT » August 6th, 2013, 12:42 am

^
G - Greatest
O - Of
A - All
T - Time
lol.

Thank you guys will look through everything properly tomorrow. Just did a quick check on skybox and like on a $100 purchase I'd have to fork up almost $100 to pay customs and delivery.

Postby SMc » August 6th, 2013, 3:26 am

Just be careful...its a jungle out there

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 6th, 2013, 4:03 am

I's just arsk Raptor and dais it.....

dogg

Postby dogg » August 6th, 2013, 9:03 am

GOAT wrote:Wanna shop on amazon but have no experience so just want a lil info before I move forward.
Lets say I wanna buy clothing are the prices listed on amazon all that I'll have to pay or will I have to pay for other fees in T&T?
Thanks.

for taxable items, mutiply the U.S. cost by TEN for a rough estimation of the tt conversion including taxes.

Find the shipping weight on the amazon product page, multiply that by $25TT add that to the above figure,

this should give you a close estimation of the final cost.

this is assuming a skybox delivery of course

GOAT

Postby GOAT » August 6th, 2013, 11:24 am

The things I'm looking to buy, Amazon will ship them so how much of a difference will that make?
Lets say a $100 purchase.

Postby foss » August 6th, 2013, 11:30 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

didnt realise...thanks!!

neither did i

d funk ! look how yuh learn something everyday.
Good looking out sk1111 8-)

Postby pete » August 6th, 2013, 11:35 am

Allyuh really never knew that?

First time I bought something I had already worked out the price in TTD and when I saw their price I knew it was off so I knew to switch to USD.

This happens any time you go out of the country, they love to let you pay in TTD, never do it. I paid a ton more for car rental because of that..

Postby Sky » August 6th, 2013, 12:37 pm

^^ I realised when paypal try to buss my head on a $250 usd item. Because they show the cost in TT and it look suspect.

Centric

Postby Centric » August 6th, 2013, 7:03 pm

Use ah skybox nah goat. I nuh sure if goats allowed to have visa cards tho..

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 6th, 2013, 7:26 pm

Amazon will now allow you to set a default currency on your cc. So no need to keep remembering to switch currency from ttd to usd upon check out.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » August 6th, 2013, 8:40 pm

nissan_king wrote:Use ah skybox nah goat. I nuh sure if goats allowed to have visa cards tho..

What advantage is there for me to use skybox?
Now as I said I'm knew to all ah this but I thought that you use skybox when Amazon doesn't ship to you country, isn't that the case?

Postby brams112 » August 6th, 2013, 8:51 pm

GOAT wrote:
nissan_king wrote:Use ah skybox nah goat. I nuh sure if goats allowed to have visa cards tho..

What advantage is there for me to use skybox?
Now as I said I'm knew to all ah this but I thought that you use skybox when Amazon doesn't ship to you country, isn't that the case?

ur use skybox to get things delivered to your door here in tnt.